We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George and Dragon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We love this place”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Well I have eventually got round to writing a review of The George and dragon in Dent. We have stayed here over the last few years about 6 times. It is a very homely feel pup that does great B&B. Nice coal fires, and the food is always excellent and plentiful. The breakfast is always very good and ever since we started to visit here we have yet to have anything that is other than excellent. The beer is all Dent Brewery and the choice is very good, as is the ciders they do. So if you are looking for a great night in a pup with good food and drink here it is. Oh yes and they let dogs stay for a small fee. All very good and we will continue to go for a very long time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    93
    43
    15
    4
See reviews for
34
106
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Just had an overnight stay booked 24 hours in advance via late rooms. Got a pleasant twin ensuite overlooking the cobbled street for £50 B&B through Laterooms. Bedroom was clean and beds were very comfortable. Loads of piping hot water for a bath after a lovely walk along part of the Dales Way by the river. The place has its own car park which is useful in such a tight village.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine with decent quality coffee and the usual choices in hotels available.
Its in a great position and the local brewery real ales are a real highlight with a range of quality beers for all tastes. We did eat in the pub itself but we would need to try it again to give it another chance. We had Fish & Chips for £7 each, mainly because we felt most of the menu was overpriced. Whilst the chips seemed homemade the fish was definitely not. It was exactly like the ones out of a findus or birds eye packet. Shame really because a fresh crispy batter is simple and cheap to make and I know when I am given a freshly battered fish!
However, I would definitely visit again and can't fault anything else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMacs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We visited with friends after reading good reviews in a CAMRA publication
It is a Grade 2 listed building - nice coal fire roaring away and good choice of real ales, ciders and perry
The inside is informative about the local brewery plus the other breweries local to the area.
We found the price of £4.00 a pint a bit on the expensive side , compared to what we pay at home, but enjoyed the visit and as a one off to this quaint visit enjoyed the experience
The surrounding countryside is well worth the visit alone and as the Pub is a Hotel and does B&B would be a good base for exploring the local area ; the cobbled streets and the "village" feel is an experience well worth the trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We enjoyed a somewhat raucous New Year's Eve here, in the company of a crowd of locals and some very friendly out-of-towners. The beers, from the Dent Brewery across the way, were outstanding, and the atmosphere was great. Dent itself is a lovely, secluded village of gently (mostly!) sloping cobbled streets. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clivetwooaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here afew nights over new yrs and was delighted with our choice. The real ale selection from dent brewery was a real find but being a cider drinker, the selection of boxed ciders from local and independent suppliers made my day. Ok the rooms could probably do with an update and tidy up but they were clean which I think is alot more important. The food is good, the landlord and staff are very friendly and accommodating, made to feel at home. The fires are constantly refilled and kept alight all day! Will no doubt return sometime

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on a couple of occasions this year and found the location to be great for a days walking. The pub had excellent food and drink especially over the cider festival weekend in Aug. The landlord really knows his craft and was most welcoming when engaged in conversation, we will most definitely be back next year! superb in every way!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Major70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Friendly pub-good service but the food was expensive and a little disappointing. Very pricey steak which was overcooked. Room was clean and cosy but cold as at the top of the hotel but it did have a lovely view. Overall not a bad stay but echoing lots of reviews on this site, the food is expensive for what it is. I think you would not have as many negative reviews if you lowered the price to pub grub prices because actually that is all it is at best- instead of charging 5 star hotel prices!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ollieprescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dent
11.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
405 reviews
11.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
536 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hipping Hall
Hipping Hall
#1 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
33 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Rose & Crown Hotel
The Rose & Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bainbridge
219 reviews
10.7 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon

Property: The George and Dragon
Address: Main Street, Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Dent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The George and Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George and Dragon, Dent, is a rural pub, with 10 en-suite bedrooms. We offer a range of beers for our local Dent Brewery alongside nitro-keg and bottled lagers, ciders and bitters Situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and just within the border of Cumbria, we are a great base for walking. We offer food daily (noon-2pm and 6pm-8:30pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The George and Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Dent
The George And Dragon Dent, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing