We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Smithy Fold
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Dent
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thorns Hall(Sedbergh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orange Tree Hotel(Kirkby Lonsdale)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Snooty Fox(Kirkby Lonsdale)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hipping Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cragg Farm(Kendal)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
2
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
5
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A one night stay on the Dales Way.... what a gem, The owners of this beautiful house are very friendly, the house is beautiful and oldy worldy ( if you want modern - it's not!), very peaceful and calm. I would recommend it to anyone it's just fantastic - oh and his car is pretty cool too!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Smithy Fold B and B is well suited to Dales Way walkers for it's location close to Dent, but it is probably not one of the better B and B's on the trail.
The room that I stayed in was OK but probably needs a good clean. The evening meal was OK and nourishing but the breakfast could have allowed for fruit. The lounge with fireplace was a nice touch but unfortunately the heater in my room did not work.
Overall it was OK but compared to other B and B's that I have stayed at on walking trails it does not represent good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Rustic & old fashioned house with interesting artefacts in the garden. The bird feeders were fascinating. Our room was large with good views of the garden. Whilst we did not have shower , the bath was welcomed to revitalise us.
We had a hearty evening meal followed by coffee in front of a roaring fire in a comfortable lounge.
Anthony was an interesting & hospitable host , we certainly will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

My family and I had an overnight stay in this quirky B and B . The owner Anthony is accommodating and helpful , lighting us a fire in the guests lounge and making us a lovely breakfast . The rooms are beautifully old fashioned and there is a swing outside for children . The golden lab who lies in wait in the corridors looking for a tummy rub is beyond magnificent and the views are spectacular . Beware the narrow single track lanes though.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Good:
Massive Car Park
Big bedrooms (a double with 3 seat settee and a family double with a 'spare' double bed and 2 seat settee.)
Evening meals prepared and served - with no corkage for your own wine.
Generous breakfast.
Amazing bird feeders with plenty of local wildlife.
Really really quiet setting towards the head of the valley.
Little ambient light so excellent for star-gazing.
Masses of curios - everywhere.

Not so Good:
approx 30 minutes walk to Dent village - not 20 as advertised.
Creaky floor - if you take the long walk to visit to bathroom at night.
No over-bath shower (or shower) to rinse your hair.
No lighting along the road to the village - so take a torch.

Room Tip: Smaller double has 3 windows looking onto bird feeders and garden: Larger double has superb view across Dentdale.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews