We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding”
Review of The Old Craft Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Craft Barn
Ranked #1 of 3 Dent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

From the moment we rang the bell, our welcome, the breakfast with as much choice as possible,the room we stayed in the comfy bed . We couldn't have asked for anymore we are looking forward to returning shortly

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipster1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
combescar, Owner at The Old Craft Barn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that your stay in our home was a good experience and that you enjoyed your short break. We are delighted to hear that you are going to return and look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. We stayed for the Tour de France and had to leave very early on the day of the race - too early for breakfast, but a packed breakfast was provided. The rooms were very comfortable and certainly warranted their 5 star rating. Carrol and Joe were full of helpful hints and we left definitely wanting to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
combescar, Owner at The Old Craft Barn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We were thrilled that despite being hampered with crutches that day, your early start gained you a prime area for viewing Le Tour de France. We would love to see you all again at some future date, minus the crutches of course!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We arrived wet and and tired and left dry and refreshed! This is one of the best places we have stayed at and would highly recommend a stay here!. Joe and Carroll are fantastic hosts and cannot do enough for you.The room we stayed in was large warm and the shower superb. The haddock, poached eggs, spinach and mushrooms was the best and the homemade bread with the lemon curd on was fantastic. Thanks again Wayne & Pam xx

Room Tip: Try the homemade shortbread and scones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwm2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
combescar, Owner at The Old Craft Barn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
You certainly had a challenging walk in all that rain and we were more than happy to see you refreshed and well rested before setting off again the next morning. Thank you for your kind words of appreciation, they help us to recognise that we are doing things right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, half way through our Dales Way walk. It was easily the best place we stayed, really, really good from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.

Our room was spacious, clean and well equipped (down to a sewing kit and fresh milk). There is also a sitting room with sofas, leaflets and a bird book.

Breakfast was just brilliant, porridge totally top, friut salad, fruit compote, dried fruit, nuts and yoghurt and home-made bread. And loose leaf tea. Absolutely excellent.

We could hear owls hooting outside when it got dusk and cookoos in the moring.

Room Tip: The hay loft is the biggest room, load and loads of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teaeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
combescar, Owner at The Old Craft Barn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We are delighted that you had a comfortable overnight stay and to hear that it contributed positively to your Dalesway experience.
We try to offer a diverse selection of dishes for breakfast which we prepare freshly from high quality, locally sourced foods and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the results.

During the evening the owls are regularly hooting melodiously and the cuckoo has been particularly active during May - a lovely call which reverberates along the dale. You chose a particularly good month for enjoying the birds activities, the wild flowers and the countryside at its best. Thank you for taking the time to make such kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just spent two nights in Buzzard Cottage, every need catered for. What a lovely welcome when we arrived, scones, cream and lemon curd, delicious. Carrol & Joe met us and showed us how everything worked. Cottage very clean and comfortable a lovely weekend I am sure we will be returning .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becklea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
combescar, Owner at The Old Craft Barn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We were pleased that you also experienced some beautiful weather over the week-end.
How very much we appreciate your lovely remarks and were delighted that you found Buzzards Cottage so clean and comfortable - we hope to see you return one day. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If only all overnight accommodation could be like this. A super welcome with afternoon tea - scones and cream included - a really delightful room (hayloft), and hosts that just couldnt do enough for you. And that included a lift to and from Dent as we had arrived on foot whilst walking the Dales Highway. This is an outstanding place to stay, of the highest quality, in a truly lovely area.

Room Tip: Hayloft was lovely, but they probably all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertiembingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
combescar, Owner at The Old Craft Barn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Your review means such a lot to us and we thank you for your kind comments. Having done such a high mileage on foot, running you to and from the village for a meal was indeed the least we could do for you. We hope you successfully completed the Dalesway and enjoyed the remainder of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile


Every now and then life throws up surprises, some good and some not so. To our delight The Old Craft Barn was an extremely pleasant surprise.
By chance we called in and were delighted with the excellent accommodation, excellent views, excellent breakfast and Joe and Carol's excellent hospitality. It also has the best shower in Britain!

Our stay was a wonderful experience. We must come back.
PS thanks Joe for the tip on the Dent Railway, great views.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LenG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
combescar, Owner at The Old Craft Barn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are also very fortunate in having such nice people as guests as the experience is a two way one. We really appreciate that writing a review takes time and thank you for your kind words. We hope that you enjoy the remainder of your trip and wish you a safe journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dent
10.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
10.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
7.3 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Dalesman Country Inn
The Dalesman Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Glen Guest House
The Glen Guest House
#5 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Summerhill B&B
Summerhill B&B
#5 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Craft Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Craft Barn

Property: The Old Craft Barn
Address: Helmside, Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Dent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dent
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Craft Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Craft Barn offers luxury bed and breakfast to the more discerning traveller. Charming accommodation in a beautiful location with the assurance of a warm welcome. An award winning breakfast sets you up for a day in the Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Craft Barn Dent, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing