We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub grub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Dent
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Saltaire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Sun Inn is a great little pub in the Dales. I stay here every year with a group of school friends and we wouldn't go anywhere else in Dent! We may stray to the George for the odd pint, but the atmosphere, simple but tasty food (and prices) in the Sun Inn always keep us there for the vast majority of the time. The food is simple pub grub, but very well done - and the portions are enormous! The staff are really friendly and helpful and happy to chat if you want to. I'd highly recommend the homemade quiche and lasagna. Don't be fooled - they might be described as 'light bites' but they will certainly fill you up, even after a long day's walking. We had them with two baskets of chips among 7 - and there was no way we could eat it all - a real bargain for around £7 each. If staying in their rooms (which are simple but give you everything to need for a real bargain price - I would call the furniture antique rather than dated as some have - old solid wood), the breakfast is equally enormous and tasty. I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank MJB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    15
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a meal at The Sun Inn and a few ales.

Positives are:

Great Ales & Lively atmosphere.

Food is superb. Generous portions and genuine home cooked food. Steak & Ale pie was the nicest my wife has ever had. The 16oz Gammon is also delicious. Vegetables fresh and well cooked.

Negatives are:

Can get a little cramped at busy times with it been difficult to get to the bar having people sat and stood at the bar blocking everyone's way.

Toilets in desperate need of a facelift and a thorough and regular clean.

However, overall a lovely traditional Dales pub. The ales are magnificent and the waitressing staff working that evening were very humble and extremely friendly, which put us at ease.

We recommend this pub!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lsharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Joffie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have stayed in Dent many times over the last few years and are never disappointed at the great value and quality of the food on offer in the Sun Inn. Joffie, the chef, makes a special effort to suit everyone's taste and requirements whilst providing good wholesome food at a reasonable price. Carry on.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe902014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Cheap & cheerful B&B, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. For £30 a night single, I had a clean, comfortable double-bed room and a big hearty breakfast. OK, the furnishings were dated (how often do you find a wardrobe with a shelf marked "collars"?) and the bathroom was across the corridor but that is part of the atmosphere of a cheap stay in an old country pub for me. If I want pristine but soulless I'll stay in a Premier Inn (which I do and recommend)

The location is perfect, right in the centre of this fascinating, historic village. Its own car park is a boon and I had my evening meal there each night. The fish & chips was so good, I had it both nights, washed down with excellent local ales, recommend the Tiffin Gold and Monumental.

All staff were cheerful, helpful and efficient.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingdubyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great local pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

At first glance this looks a little run down, but the warm welcome and splendid food should not be passed by. Great place to eat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank alanl58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing