We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location! Stunning!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bower Bank EcoBarn

The Eco Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Eco Barn
Huge living space with wood burner & underfloor heating Dressed stone features
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
The Eco Barn
Huge living space with wood burner & underfloor heating
Dressed stone features
Stunning evening light view from The Eco Barn
The Ribblehead viaduct is a great one way walk - come back on the train
Dent village view from above The Eco barn
View of Helmside from above The Eco barn
2 large shower rooms plus 2 additional wc's
View from the bedroom window
Dent is on The Settle to Carlisle railway
Woodland garden in spring
The Eco Barn (left of centre) in The Yorkshire Dales National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Location, location, location! Stunning!”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Bower Bank EcoBarn, Gawthrop, near Dent is a stunning location as a base to explore Dentdale.
It is ideal for families with children of any age. The alpacas greeted us and the children loved walking over to say 'Hola' to them! Sedburgh and Kirby Lonsdale and all places between gave ample opportunities to explore and enjoy swimming, walking, pottering beside the river, sitting and absorbing the stunning scenery and relaxing and escaping from it all! A true jewel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful place!! A group of us from the Bradford district care trust booked the accommodation for one night and we were blown away.
We arrived and were welcomed by a herd of beautiful Alapaca's. (I'm from Bradford, what's an Alapaca?)
The views that greeted our arrival were amazing. Picturesque as far as the eye could see. Rolling hills and fields of different hues. Beautiful.
The accommodation was fantastic. From the outside you knew that what the inside held would match the beauty of the vistas and the group weren't disappointed. A huge space welcomed us as we stepped inside, lots of stone and wood. Two huge sofas beckoned us to take the weight off and begin to unwind.
The fire, situated on the front wall, when lit, warmed the room through. The kitchen, though compact, provided enough room for us to heat the food we had cooked previously.
The bedrooms and bedding were clean and the rooms were spacious enough. The four toilets were sufficient for the group. And there were no arguments about someone spending too much time on the loo.
I would definitely spend another stay there and another and another... I will also be recommending the accommodation to my friends and relatives.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you Nigel, great that you enjoyed your time here. Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon T
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Describing the Eco barn as a bunk barn is doing it a huge injustice. This is a fantastic property in a spectacular setting. The barn easily accommodated our party of 4 adults and five children. Great living space, log burning stove and three cosy bedrooms all with stunning views - all immaculate . The terrace, garden and surroundings are perfect for children with the bonus of the resident alpacas. The owners live in the adjacent property and were very welcoming. We will be back for sure! Excellent value for money given the quality of the accommodation. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thank you for the feedback. Great to read that you all enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you again to The Eco Barn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I'm not sure where to start! This is such an amazing barn in a beautiful location. The views are just breathtaking. The barn itself has great living space and it accommodated our party of 6 adults, 3 children and a dog over the course of a week. The letting agent was very helpful, especially when he rescued us as we got lost on route (thank you). The owners live in a beautiful cottage just behind the barn and they are just fabulous people, they were very hospitable throughout our stay and we will definitely return. Dent itself is a small village and the pubs are great! There are plenty of walks in the area to really appreciate this landscape and scenery, you can start from the barn as this forms part of the route for some.
Tip=follow the directions off the Agent and not satnav!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed at the Bower Bank EcoBarn with my wife and 7 other friends at the end of July. As we were packing up to leave we were discussing when we could come back! This place is absolutely fantastic – the rooms aren't huge but the living space is massive. I expected the photos to be misleading but on reflection they actually make the main living area look smaller than reality. The barn was clean and well presented, and was equipped with everything we needed. Thanks for having us for a wonderful weekend!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limmone
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Together with 10 friends we spent three amazing days at The Eco Barn in Dentdale. The barn is beautiful, modern furnished and with all appliance included. 4 bathrooms and 2 shower made the accommodation perfect for big groups. Dishwasher, TV, WiFi, hover, fridge, heating floor, BBQ and more!
The location is absolutely perfect, with an astonishing view of dale. The barn is also closed to the more busy Lake District and other dales.
The owners leave beside the house and are absolutely lovely people.
I would highly recommended the Ecobarn to everybody! Photos you'll find on the internet don't make justice to the beautiful view you'll find having breakfast on the terrace.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing