We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage will be visiting again!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Amy J
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage will be visiting again!”
Reviewed 24 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

What a beautiful cottage! From start to finish our week break at Clark’s cottage was unforgettable. We arrived to a welcome pack with biscuits, chocolate and other lovely treats which was a nice touch. There was even a carton of long life milk just in case we forgot our own (which we did). The cottage is so cosy and we loved the log fire! There are plenty of bathrooms to go around so no fighting for the shower each morning!

We brought our two children with us aged 5 & 7, both loved exploring the garden and were happy with the DVD player and freeview tv. Although we did take the children on long walks with the dogs as that is what we came for.

There are two pubs in dent, the sun inn and the George and dragon. Typical pub food but still enjoyable. We preferred the sun inn. The cottage is only a 5 minute stroll down to the village with beautiful views on the way!!

All in all our stay was 5*, we are already talking of coming back at Christmas with family. Clark’s cottage has everything we needed for an enjoyable stay in the Lake District and more.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan G
Trowbridge
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic cottage lovely location”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
4
people found this review helpful

The cottage is the perfect setting in the Yorkshire dales with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. it is well equipped however is smaller than the photos would suggest. I would not recommend staying here with children though. There was no stair-gate at the property and a lot of stairs. Also contacted the owner to make sure there was a cot prior to arrival and had to search for this when we got there and eventually found a travel cot which wasn't in either of the locations mentioned in the confirmation. We read the details very carefully as having 4 children with us a tv and dvd player was an essential and we were impressed with the Sky tv being advertised. Even though the details state there are limited channels, be warned that there are absolutely no Sky channels that we could find - only Freeview which is already installed in the TV's anyway so to advertise Sky tv is very misleading. We had real problems getting everything to work and the dvd player wouldn't work at all. When we contacted the owner and told him he told us it hadn't been reported yet and to use one of the bedroom TV's as some of these have integrated dvd players, so we had to switch them around but they were very small. We also read that there was a welcome pack upon arrival so as we arranged to have our shopping delivered 2 hours later and didn't take any tea or coffee. The welcome pack consisted of UHT milk, crisps, crackers, marshmallows and penguin bars. There was some sugar left from previous holidaymakers but no tea or coffee- very disappointing. Sofas and beds very comfortable and plenty of bathrooms to go around. Dent itself was very pretty and well worth a visit. A nice cottage but these tiny details would have made our holiday so much better. On the whole we wouldn't recommend this cottage as currently advertised. We appreciate that anything can go wrong with such a business, however we always judge an organisation on how it deals with issues and in this case the one issue we reported was essentially ignored by the owner/manager.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phils251
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Break”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely large cottage which was ideal for our extended family. The cottage was clean with good facilities. It was warm and cosy in the evening. Dent village was a short walk away and we had an good meal in the George and Dragon. There was sufficient parking in front of the cottage for 4 vehicles. Dent is a beautiful village and an ideal base to go walking or cycling. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25Andypan...
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clarks Cottage Dent”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Brilliant cottage with lovely views very peaceful. Dent is a lovely village with very friendly people can recommend the George and Dragon for meals and beer which is a 2 minute walk from the cottage but take a torch. 10 of us stayed over New Year and really enjoyed it and where sorry to leave. Plenty of walks or a drive to some lovely towns.

Date of stay: December 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMD15
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great house - great weekend”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great stay at Clarks cottage for the Dent beer and music festival. Location was perfect, the house was beautiful and fully equipped and we were grateful for the lovely welcome pack!

Date of stay: June 2015
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.