We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pretty village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Penny Bank

Penny Bank cottage - great village location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penny Bank cottage - great village location
Sofa bed available
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Penny Bank cottage - great village location
Sofa bed available
View from bedroom window no.1
Well equipped living room kitchen
View from bedroom window no.2
Autumn view from bedroom
Penny Bank in the 1960's
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HayleyBel...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pretty village”
Reviewed 15 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Pennygate cottage is very quaint and clean which is a bonus there is WiFi and sky t.v mobile phone reception was a big No no but then maybe that isn't a bad thing. I do agree the tv is situated too high, an edition of a single chair which I feel would be an added bonus would fit within the downstairs space perfectly. I do feel the rental price for this property is very good. The village of dent is lovely with its twists and turns little witch's cottages in a wonderful beautiful landscape surrounding. I would like to point out that Pennybank cottage is situated on an extremely busy road Lorries buses cars and so forth going by which is a let down. The church although filled with history has bells that seem to chime at the most oddest of times especially during the early hours, the neighbours did say they turn the volume low sometimes, so please keep the windows closed to quiten the sound, I'm a very light sleeper being woken by this isn't fun. The nearest top up shop for essentials is in Sedbergh approximately 15 minutes drive away, a rather posh looking Spar. I would really recommend that you place a food order online so it will be here on your arrival day or bring your food supplies with you, otherwise your time will be taken up with travelling miles just to get food for your holiday. There is a little shop here but they don't have much and shut very early..there are two pubs and three cafe for light meals and cakes, which is lovely and an added bonus. The Dales is a truly wonderful beautiful place to visit I would recommend to anyone that wants to take time out from the busy lifestyles of today.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Chris...
1 review
“Perfect cottage for a couple”
Reviewed 3 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A lovely cottage in a wonderful setting.
Penny Bank cottage has everything a couple needs for a stay and in such a beautiful, friendly village.
The cottage is well equipped (I can't think of anything that we needed that wasn't provided) and there are views of the fells, church and village out of every window.
I can thoroughly recommend a visit to Dent in the spring - the wild flowers in the dale are plentiful and stunning and I don't think I have ever seen so many Primroses in my life.
Penny Bank Cottage and Dent are both well worth a visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison S
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely stay ”
Reviewed 22 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed at Pennybank for 4 nights in March. The cottage itself is lovely, clean and well equipped. It's quite small but that's to be expected from a one bed cottage be advised that the bathroom is small and wouldn't suit a larger person as the toilet and sink are very close together with little or no room to move. As we found there is no heating except heaters which are stored in the cupboard in the open plan lounge/kitchen if you go out of season as we did when it is fairly chilly during the evening be expected to use the heaters to keep warm. Parking in the nearby car park was fine never a problem be aware that you cant park outside cottage as its a through road for cars. The village of Dent is fabulous with cobbled streets and fantastic views of the rolling countryside. There are two pubs the George and Dragon was our preferred choice great home cooked food and good selection of beers and cider. The sun inn on two occasions had no food service for reasons we do not know we went for one drink the pub itself is very rustic with a warm open fire. We went for breakfast to the stone close cafe lovely little cafe family run excellent food. Highly recommend a visit they also had homemade cakes. In the village there is a small shop with a few basic items don't expect to find a full range you will need to venture out further for a bigger shop of staying for a week although I believe the big supermarkets deliver. Great walks locally hope to return soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great, would rent again”
Reviewed 25 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Booked late, only £135 for 3 nights. Clean, well equipped, in the centre of village, 30m from a pub! Maps an info available, communications excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve3560...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This bijou little cottage is situated in the heart of the attractive cobbled village of Dent, just in Cumbria but in the Yorkshire Dales National Park. My wife and I had stayed in nearby Bainbridge for a week and moved to Penny Bank for the 2nd week. This cottage is very small but incredibly well laid out and a lot of thought has gone in to ensure that the best possible use is made of the space available. The front door leads into a small hallway with stairs straight in front of you. To your right is a reasonably sized kitchen/diner/lounge with a comfortable 2 seater sofa, a dining table and 2 chairs and a modern kitchen complete with a washing machine. There is a wall mounted television which we found a little too high to watch for too long but with all of the Yorkshire Dales outside your door this should not be a problem. Upstairs there is a double bedroom with a comfortable bed and ample storage space and a small shower room and toilet complete with a heated towel rail. A portly person might find it a tight squeeze to get past the shower to go to the toilet but this is also a minor point. Altogether the cottage was very warm and cosy, more than adequately furnished and rented at a very reasonable price. Our small dog also thoroughly enjoyed himself. I would recommend this cottage to a couple and expect to return myself in the not too distant future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little gem in a gorgeous location”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just spent 4 nights here for a chilled out break and it was perfect.
Well equipped cottage,small but perfectly formed and very modern.
Lovely sleepy village with 2 nice pubs and some great walks and scenery.
Well worth a visit

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing