We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An enjoyable stay in a very well equipped and...”
other travellers have booked this property
 Broadfield Farm Cottage in its sunny position on the hillside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Broadfield Farm Cottage in its sunny position on the hillside
Autumn colour in Dentdale - view from the cottage The dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Broadfield Farm Cottage in its sunny position on the hillside
Autumn colour in Dentdale - view from the cottage
The dining room
Sitting Room
Sitting Room- with its cosy multi-fuel stove and views of the dale
Main bedroom on the front of the cottage with king, single and sofa beds
Main bedroom with king and single beds and chaise longue sofa bed
The en-suite shower room (re-furbished May 2018).
Front bedroom with double bed
Beautiful view of the dale from the comfortable bed
Back bedroom with two single beds
Back bedroom with two single beds
Family bathroom
Elizabethan staircase
Plenty of books to choose from if staying indoors (plus a chest of games and jigsaws)!
Kitchen from breakfast area
The well-equipped and spacious kitchen
Breakfast area at one end of the kitchen
The window in the breakfast area
Broadfield from the other side of the dale. the cottage is the half on the right.
The south facing front patio is a lovely spot from which to take in the views.
The view as you step out of the front door.
View down Dentdale from the front patio
Stream behind the cottage
Drifts of wild primroses line the banks of the stream behind the cottage in late spring.
The private garth in front of the cottage leading down to the stream.
Spring snowdrops by the stream in the garth.
Broadfield is on a south facing hillside with Whernside opposite and Coombe Scar down the dale.
Dentdale
Dentdale
Dentdale
Dentdale
Beautiful wild flower meadows abound in the dale in spring and early summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Culture56...
2 reviews
“An enjoyable stay in a very well equipped and comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Broadfield Farm Cottage is set in the beautiful, peaceful surroundings of Dentdale and was a very comfortable, characterful and well equipped place for our family of four to stay. There was plenty of opportunity to enjoy walks from the cottage and the owners provided lots of information about things to do in and around Dentdale. The cottage itself was spacious and we particularly enjoyed the coal fire each evening. The only slight issue was getting enough hot water for four people to wash after we'd all been out for a muddy run or bike ride - this may prove a bit trickier with six!
The details provided about directions for the Tesco delivery were very useful - the driver found us!
The small village of Dent is a few miles away and we enjoyed walking to it and eating lunch there one day. The local shop in Dent is very handy and the Spar in Sedbergh well supplied.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review and feedback. We're pleased you found the cottage comfortable but sorry about the hot water issue: with domestic systems using hot water tanks there's always going to be a finite amount until it heats up again. We're looking into showers for 2018, which might help, but this will involve a complete redesign of the plumbing system, and when the boiler need replacing we can investigate combi boilers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northernl...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, spacious and well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage is very welcoming, with thoughtful provision for all ages if staying indoors. Dentdale is remote, but within reach of Hawes to the east, where the Creamery is well worth a visit, and Kendal and the Lake District to the west. More locally, the Dent Heritage Centre gives a fascinating glimpse into life in the dale in earlier days. Holme Open Farm offers an enjoyable day out, especially down by the river if the weather is fine. There is plenty of tourist information in the cottage, alongside a very comprehensive file about one's stay there. The owners have provided a real home-from-home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review. We're really happy you found the cottage so comfortable and glad that you also managed to explore the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingfishe...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable quiet cottage in beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our second visit. The cottage was exactly as described - it is large, comfortable, warm and very well eqipped. The kitchen, in particular, has all the utensils you need to cook a proper meal. Everything was spotlessly clean. The cottage is beautifully situated with views across the dale to the wild moors beyond. Not only is it a convenient base for walkers, it is also great for birdwatchers and we were treated to a blackcap singing in the garden and two cuckoos calling in the valley. The cottage is in a very quiet spot with no passing traffic and is ideal for those who like to get out and about in the day to enjoy the countryside and then come home in the evening for a good meal and to sit by the fire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharn h
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to relax”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage is lovely, it s well equipped and spacious. I particularly liked the large kitchen which has everything you could need. The children enjoyed playing with the games in the toy chest.We arrived feeling frazzled from the City, and left feeling relaxed, as the remote location is a breath of fresh air.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, so good we've booked it again for next year.”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The location was perfect, it was great to be able to head straight out of the cottage and up onto the hills. The massive boot room on our return was very welcome. The kitchen was better equipped than mine and the bedrooms were spacious with plenty of storage. There is lots to do within a short distance of the cottage including the Three Peaks, Wensleydale cheese factory, Aysgarth Falls and the stunning White Scar caves. Dent village is a pleasant walk away and the Heritage Centre is worth a visit. The George and Dragon pub is family friendly offering locally brewed beer and a carry out service. There is something to keep everyone amused in the evenings or on a wet day, from jigsaws and games to bookcases full of books, an organ to play and a log burning stove for the men! The directions received from the owner were clear and the tips about where to shop and how to arrange a Tesco delivery were very useful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every thing, this is one of the best properties we've ever stayed in.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dspixie62
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly Beautiful Setting And Gorgeous Cottage”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We came here knowing is was remote & to say the words 'the silence is deafening' was an understatement. It was a beautiful cottage and I wish the kitchen was mine as it was so well equipped even down to birthday candles as I baked my sister a cake for her 50th whilst we were there. I felt rather selfish as having a 12 & 15 year old I thought they might find it a bit boring but this wasn't the case at all & they loved it as much as I did. With breath-taking views and lovely little villages nearby we had a fab time. The Lakes were within a reasonable drive away and we never found ourselves without anything to do... Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this gorgeous cottage..

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic, comfortable and spacious cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Broadfield Farm Cottage is charming and pretty. Internally it is very clean and very well equipped and organized, even down to detailed lists of where to find items.The setting is peaceful, away from the road, with beautiful views over Dent Dale. This is a good base for hill and dales walking, and then relaxing by the log-burning stove. The bedroom and bathroom accommodation is ideal for a larger family or two couples. We are already planning a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing