We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favourite”
Review of The Diamond Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponteland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Diamond Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ponteland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Our Favourite”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is probably our favourite pub in the North East. I can't say we've visited every pub up here but we are trying!

The pub has a lovely ambiance, a great range of beers and some very tasty food. It can be a little hard getting a seat sometimes but we do tend to visit at peak times like weekend lunchtimes and not just for the free cheese and crackers they offer which our daughter loves.

The pub is split into two halves with a bar and seating on one side and a restaurant on the other. There's also a function room upstairs which we've not seen so can't comment.
The owners allow dogs in and they always seem well behaved. There are a few large screen tv's showing popular sports like football and rugby. The volume is never overpowering and easily ignored. Free Wi-Fi is on offer if you ask for a voucher at the bar.
Best of all in the cold months is a lovely roaring log fire. There's some outside seating with nice views over the river at the front and rear but they seem to be mostly used by smokers. There's a cash machine (£1.65 charge I think), quiz machine and a fruit machine if that's your thing. There's a car park to the rear and you can use the car park opposite at busy times.

We've eaten here quite a few times and the food has always been very tasty, in my opinion it has gone beyond standard pub food in quality and presentation. We have to say a special word about Kim who really goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and looks after your needs very well. I think booking would be advisable for Sunday lunch as it always seems quite full. The menu and the pub is child friendly and they offer child sized portions on quite a few of the dishes. The evening menus also include specials like fish night or grill night, etc.

All the staff we have met are all friendly especially the landlady Lorna. The regulars also seem nice and friendly and have often chatted to us.

It seems to be an all round pub. Families, groups, couples, young and old all seem to visit. A few very well known faces have been seen here too. Won't name drop!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear SaintsRock,

Thank your for your kind review! I think you have caught the essence of The Diamond Inn perfectly and we have passed your glowing comments on to our team. We are very proud of our excellent customer service and hope you will visit us again soon.

Please check our website for details on upcoming events that may interest you including our entertainment that we have on every weekend.

Kind regards,

The Diamond Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    27
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
41
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We visited the Diamond Inn on Sunday, for lunch in preparation for a stay at the end of March for a night following a wedding at Kirkley Hall. The service was spot on and Kim our waitress was a really lovely lady, very helpful and advisable on our meal choices! There were 7 of us and all got the Sunday Roast and was really impressed with them, they were spot on, no complaints. Oh and I completely recommend the chocolate fudge cake - a-maz-ing!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emlou82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Emlou82,

Thank you for your lovely review! We're very happy you enjoyed your visit and our hospitality and we have passed your postive comments on to our team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon, please check our website for upcoming events that you may enjoy.

Kind regards,

The Diamond Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We were due for a meeting in the local area and stumbled
Across this hotel through a local recommendation , from checking in to checking out we found the experience very pleasurable the staff were very welcoming and helpful, we were
Given free wifi codes which enabled us to work into the evening , we decided to have our evening meal in the diamond as well again we could not fault it very good food

Many thanks to everyone at the diamond we will be back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swbarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear swbarclay,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Diamond Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I had a breakfast meeting here this week. We felt abit hungry so went for the Diamonds large breakfast. Great food, huge portions and well presented. Bar staff are very friendly and helpful, Will definately return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salesmanager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Salesmanager1,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Diamond Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We went with friends for Sunday lunch. The lady who served us was extremely friendly and helpful but we were a bit disappointed with the meal. The roast beef was lovely but the roast potatoes weren't cooked properly and the yorkshire was soggy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Liz M,

Thank you for your review. We're pleased you were happy with the service you received and have passed your comments on to our staff. We're very sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your meal as we endeavour to ensure all of our food is of the highest standard.

We hope you will visit us again so we can ensure you experience the service and food we are so very proud of. Please contact us in advance so we can be sure a member of management welcomes you back.


The Diamond Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I like the atmosphere in the Diamond but the place has seen better days. The furniture is worn and often torn and the place is living off its reputation a bit in my opinion. The bar meals are tasty however and the staff who serve it really friendly, although bar staff are sometimes a bit curt. When the open fire is on during a cold day/night its cozy. If they do it up a bit the Diamond could be just that again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Al M,

We'd like to thank you for your review and your positive comments. We're glad you have enjoyed the atmosphere and service and have passed your comments to our staff.

In respect to the décor, you will be pleased to know we are in the planning stages of subtle refurbishments to the bar and whilst we are looking forward to adding some new and fresh elements to our bar, we will be retaining that warm, traditional feel that The Diamond Inn has become famous for.

We hope that you will visit us again soon!

The Diamond Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely inn to drive in to. Just ahead of newcastle, this small town is the ideal break for the night! The bar that this inn hosts is refreshing. And the lady who runs this place is wonderful. Our rooms were cozy, clean and warm. Overall a pleasant night.

One issue faced though was that the surrounding trees brought in lots of flying insects into the room and u gotta be careful about them while opening and closing doors...

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smitha_jyotsna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponteland
2.6 mi away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#33 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diamond Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diamond Inn

Property: The Diamond Inn
Address: Main Street, Ponteland NE20 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ponteland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ponteland
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Est. In the early 1700's as an old coaching Inn. The Diamond Inn is located in the heart of Ponteland with a country Pub feel, that offers a wide range of Real Ales, real food, real fire and a real atmosphere! We are popular with locals and tourists alike for our friendly smile and warm welcome! We have a large selection of beers, wine and spirits that can be enjoyed in our spacious & comfortable bar or in the purpose built outdoor patio area. Our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared by our family run kitchen... Who love to cook! We offer excellent en-suite accomodation with beautifully furnished non-smoking rooms and ample, safe parking. Ideally located just 5 minutes from Newcastle International Airport and only 15 minutes from the vibrant, bustling City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Diamond Hotel Ponteland
The Diamond Inn Ponteland, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing