We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekkend trip”
Review of The Diamond Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponteland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Diamond Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ponteland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“weekkend trip”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

stayed there after an engagment rooms were big well laid out and even included a iron and board think the rooms have just had a makeover breakfast next morning was standard my brother was a non resedent so had to pay but completly diffint breakfast more of everthing and a full plate the only downer was having to ask for toast amd jam at the end but was accomates when asked for pub was busy on the sat but we were in room upstairs but has a balcony great place to stay and would do again

Room Tip: ask for a upstairs room because if sleeping downstairs no security for windows downstairs so access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iankaye01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear iankaye01,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we have passed your lovely comments onto our staff. We have also noted your security concerns with our team but we would like to reassure you we have never had any issues with this previously.

We hope you will come visit us again soon!

Thanks,

The Diamond Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    27
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
42
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I were invited to a birthday party at the Diamond Inn and decided to stay there as they do B&B. It was a great surprise to be taken to a building right next door and given a large room with a brand new bathroom ensuite. There was a flat wall mounted T.V., hair dryer an iron and tea and coffee making facilities. We had a room at the back and there was no noise of traffic. The breakfast, served in the pub was first class and plentiful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Surroundings are beautiful, a river with lots of trees and greenery. It's really amazing for the very reasonable price. The lunch is also exellent and has a good menu. All in all I would recommend the Diamomd Inn for a great place to stay. The party was also terrific!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 531Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear 531Diana,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We have passed your comments on to our team and we hope very much that you will come and visit us again soon.

Thanks,

The Diamond Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My father, sister and I went in to book a room for a visiting friend. We hadn't been before and after booking the rooms, decided to have lunch.

Well, we weren't disappointed. Dad and I had the Fisherman's platter and my sister had the New York burger. The fish was beautifully cooked (as were the chips), with delicious mushy peas - just a lot of it. Good value too.

We then rang again to book another room and were dealt with politely and efficiently, and when our friends have stayed and I ask them to let me know their thoughts.

Room Tip: We didn't stay - just ate - but there isn't a review section for the bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyHGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond-AM, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear LadyHGG,

Thank you for your lovely review! We have passed your comments on to our team and are please you have enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon!

The Diamond Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I recently held my birthday party here using the function room upstairs, i had an amazing time, the function room is great, the staff really lovely, friendly, polite. I also stayed the night at the hotel. Excellent value, excellent rooms and gorgeous breakfast. 100% recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinkydinkyoohlala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear kinkydinkyoohlala,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and your compliments will be passed on to our team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

The Diamond Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Booked a double and were given a twin even though I had spoken on the phone to confirm it was a double prior to our arrival. When asked for a double room we were told "there are 2 beds that is a double", well not in my book its not!!! It was too late to find other accommodation for the night so we stayed. The room was right next to the rear entrance to the pub and just by the smoking area. Couldn't have the window open for both the noise AND the smoke drifting in to the room. Room was well decorated and modern BUT the beds were from some old bedsit somewhere as they were old, saggy and very uncomfortable. All the info states wifi available in the room - its not. You have to sit in the pub to get that. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly however this does not detract from a poor experience that we won't repeat. We spoke to another couple who, like us, had booked for more that one night who had checked out early. Went to local Premier In for the rest of the stay which was far better and for the same price.

Room Tip: nice pub - poor beds and very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear ian d,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry and disappointed to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. I have read your review thoroughly and would like to assure you that we take our customers feedback very seriously and have highlighted the issues you have raised with the management team and relevant staff and all issues will be addressed.

Although we do have several double bedrooms within the hotel, the room you booked is in fact a twin room so when used as a double it should have been explained that the beds would be put together for your convenience, we are sorry if that has not been the case.

We have two different accommodation buildings and the one you have stayed in is near the main entrance so unavoidably at weekends it is a little busier. Should you choose to return to us in the future you can request to stay in the main hotel building which has private access and is adjacent to the bar which you may find more comfortable.

In respect to the couple who also checked out earlier I would like to highlight that this was due to a personal issue and not one related to The Diamond Inn.

The WIFI is available and working in all of our rooms but a password is required which again should have been explained and given to you upon your check in and we are sorry if this has not been the case.

Overall we would like to extend our most sincere apologies to you and should you wish to stay with us again we would welcome the opportunity to show you the level of service and hospitality that we expect all of our guests to receive. The Diamond Inn has the highest of expectations when it comes to guest satisfaction so please contact us directly asking to speak to either the manager or assistant manager so we can arrange a discounted stay for you and your partner to enjoy.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you will return to us in the future.

Kind regards,

The Diamond Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were greeted by the usual northern humour and friendliness and shown to our room next door on the first floor close to the pub i. It was a cold day but the room was very warm and clean. The bathroom was modern with a good shower. The bed linen was very crisp and clean and the soft towels were replaced daily. Breakfast was simple with limited choice but good. The staff are attentive and helpful and go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay. We will go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond-AM, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Claire R,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

The Diamond Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The food and service at the damond is ecxellent good man portions and plenty of choice.
The bar staff are friendly and atentive.
Our waitress kim deserves a special mention as nothing seems to faze her as she buzzes round the diners always smiling and chatting and has time for every one even when the reteraunt is busy (most nights}

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hOwie359798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond-AM, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear hOwie359798,

Thank you for your kind review! We have passed your positive comments to our team and hope to welcome you back soon!

The Diamond Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponteland
2.6 mi away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,061 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
5.0 mi away
Close House Hotel
Close House Hotel
#44 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diamond Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diamond Inn

Property: The Diamond Inn
Address: Main Street, Ponteland NE20 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ponteland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ponteland
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Est. In the early 1700's as an old coaching Inn. The Diamond Inn is located in the heart of Ponteland with a country Pub feel, that offers a wide range of Real Ales, real food, real fire and a real atmosphere! We are popular with locals and tourists alike for our friendly smile and warm welcome! We have a large selection of beers, wine and spirits that can be enjoyed in our spacious & comfortable bar or in the purpose built outdoor patio area. Our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared by our family run kitchen... Who love to cook! We offer excellent en-suite accomodation with beautifully furnished non-smoking rooms and ample, safe parking. Ideally located just 5 minutes from Newcastle International Airport and only 15 minutes from the vibrant, bustling City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Diamond Hotel Ponteland
The Diamond Inn Ponteland, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing