We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waggon Inn

The Waggon Inn
Ranked #19 of 22 Restaurants in Ponteland
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional old coaching inn with a restaurant, also serving meals in the bar. Home cooked, locally sourced food cooked fresh to order. Good choice of locally brewed real ales and cider on draft. Good wines, lovely setting, warm welcome. Ideal for small parties, functions. Located within 5 miles of Newcastle Airport. Special offer on real ales every Tuesday 6 - 8pm.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had another wonderful night at the Waggon.Took my son and his wife and daughters and they were thrilled.Food and service once again impeccable. Cannot wait till the A team get to the Beresford Arms in Whalton. They will make a big difference.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bernard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you once again for your positive comments, we 're truly delighted that your evening was exactly what you expected. We very much look forward to welcoming you at the beresford in Whalton - particularly as you have visited there in the past. Many thanks once again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    39
    13
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Another great lunch!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We visited the Waggon for Sunday lunch earlier this month for a family birthday celebration (a party of eleven people, including an 80-something and several 20-somethings and teens. The whole experience was fantastic: the staff couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and efficient and the food was delicious, including the veggie lunch. It was also very good value. Good luck to the staff when they move to the Beresford Arms. We'll look forward to visiting you there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lorudal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you first of all for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion! Your comments are very appreciated and will be conveyed to all staff. We look forward to welcoming you at our new location, the Beresford Arms, Whalton, telephone 01670 775273. thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday lunch - again!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have visited several times now and have never been disappointed. We couldn't grumble about Sunday lunch yesterday at all, it was absolutely delicious and the apple crumble just perfect. Brenda and her staff are lovely nothing is too much trouble. Good luck with your move to The Beresford Arms we will certainly see you there!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 568a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. As the main quality controller and prime taster in the establishment I have to agree that the apple crumble was really delicious last week !! It's great to have reviews from returning customers as it enforces our consistent approach to the business - though we never take anything for granted and work hard to ensure that standards are kept high.
We hope you'll be able to travel the few extra miles to our new business at the Beresford Arms in Whalton, near Morpeth. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Real home cooked food , generous servings.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

After a dreadful meal at the Badger in Ponteland last week this week' s trip to try the Waggon ( on the A696 road from Ponteland to Belsay) was a wonderful and totally satisfying experience which excelled at every level with a party of eight us arriving at 6 pm. On arrival a pre-meal drink in the bar was served quickly and the selection of local real ales was impressive and served well. The meal was taken in the restaurant and we were served by the charming and genuine landlady who made us all feel at home and relaxed. The main courses of Lamb shank, chicken stuffed with haggis , vegetable lasagne, sausage and mash were served well and tasted superb; real food made and cooked on site and generous portions. So generous in fact that my side order of potato skins with dips had to be shared amongst all of us as I couldn't eat it all. The puddings were equally outstanding and good portions. In conclusion an excellent meal with lovely service. Thank you.
It is worth noting that the couple who run this excellent pub are leaving to take over the Beresford Arms at Whalton ( near Morpeth) on 28th April 2014 and they can be sure to have our support there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank raadjjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for all of your positive, objective comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the whole experience of dining with us. We do strive hard to maintain our good track record, so it's very satisfying to read a review like this. As you pointed out, we are unfortunately leaving the Waggon as we're unable to renew our lease here but we would be delighted to serve you again at our new abode, the Beresford Arms in Whalton, from 28 April 2014. Sincere thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Yet again, a happy visit”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

After a busy morning up to elbows in potting compost at our local horticultural college (I am a Friend, not a student) it was necessary to reward myself before a visit to the osteopath.

As usual, a lovely welcome from the landlord and his wife, and after very little time was tempted again by the chicken breast stuffed with stilton and, again, was not disappointed.

Lovely.....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyHGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWaggon, Manager at The Waggon Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for yet again taking the time to write a review, your comments are very much appreciated and we're delighted that you enjoyed your lunch again. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Waggon Inn also viewed

Belsay, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 
Ponteland, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 

Been to The Waggon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing