We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out for the Kids.”

Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Ponteland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a great day out for all the family at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens with over three hundred species of animals including emus, wallabies, marmosets, pygmy goats, donkeys, meerkats, lemurs and many more.Visitors can meet the keepers and learn about the animals and their habitats. With a rolling programme of kids' activities and play areas, forest trails, garden walks, picnic areas and a brand new tea room and gift shop, there really is something for all of the family.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great day out for the Kids.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We took 2 of our grandchildren for an afternoon in the sunshine. This is a nice place to visit being relatively compact but with a good mix of animals to keep people interested, from farm animals to the exotics. The play area and the tractors are there for the non animal lovers to enjoy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wilf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirkleyHallZoo, Manager at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it sounds like you had a brilliant day out it sounds like you had brilliant fun and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Jenny Cairns
Operations & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    132
    42
    24
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We visited at the weekend, it was very quiet for a sunny Sunday. I had a voucher from metro radio offers so a family of 5 entered for £10 which was fantastic value for money! The animals were all lovely, not so much what I would call 'zoo' animals but interesting & well kept. The rabbits were a favourite & also my little boys got to brush a pony. I understand what some reviewers mean about the signage and college buildings but where's their sense of adventure?? My kids really enjoyed the walk down to the walled garden and play park, then the riverside walk was really beautiful. The wooden climbing park was a big hit & their favourite thing of the day was the zip wire which my 3 kids got to have a go on for £10 for all 3, again I think well priced! Took a picnic but still got coffees & slush from the cafe, not huge but clean. To sum up the day I thought it was good fun & educational for the kids, very good value for money. Nice day out, would def visit again!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GEMMA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirkleyHallZoo, Manager at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, you managed to great a brilliant deal from Metro Radio making entry even better value than normal! We have over 130 species of animals and a large percentage of them require a zoo licence which is why we market ourselves as a zoological gardens. I’m delighted to hear about your sense of adventure and that you enjoyed the gardens and play area it sounds like you had a brilliant day.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Jenny Cairns
Operations & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good day out very reasonable but not for someone wanting to see loads if exotics”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great day with 3 children under 7 and a baby

Entry was reasonable compared to other attractions and animals were cute

Don't go expecting lions etc, you'll be disappointed, but the marmosets, wallabies and ring tail limas were great.

The petting Corner is great for little ones. Gardens are gorgeous to walk round and play in too

We all enjoyed ourselves and just a few minutes from central Newcastle.

Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirkleyHallZoo, Manager at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we do our best to keep the prices as low as possible whilst still running a business so it is lovely to hear that people recognise that. As we have only been open 3 years our collection of animals is still growing and who knows what the collection will consist of in a few years time. I am delighted that you enjoyed the gardens and play area they really are beautiful, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Jenny Cairns
Operations & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NCS and Kirkley Hall.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Kirkley Hall and the zoological gardens as part of our NCS course this summer. The zoo I found was great with some farm like animals such as goats and donkeys aswell as the more unusual like snakes,spiders and of course the popular meerkats!!. It is a small yet great little zoo, that you can see is used as part of the college training aswell as a visitor attraction. Give it a go for a few hours (not a full day)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirkleyHallZoo, Manager at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review we hope you had a lovely residential visit with NCS. Unfortunately as you were taking part in workshops most of the day with your organisation you were unable to experience everything we have to offer here at Kirkley Hall. We also have animal encounters throughout the day, a woodland walk, zip wire and gardens which enables you to have a fun filled family day out.
We really hope you will come and visit us again soon and experience the things you missed out on.
Kind regards
Jenny Cairns
Operations & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice morning out”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a lovely morning out today, had a nice wander round the animals with my toddler. Can't see it taking a full day as he rushed round at breakneck speed from one thing to the next, but it was a nice way to fill a couple of hours. We then had a wander round the gardens trying to find the play park, eventually found it and enjoyed a nice half hour playing on the swings and slide.

A good morning out, maybe a full day if we did the trail and spent more time in he garden but it was drizzling a little so we just wanted to find the play area to let monster run off some steam.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lulugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirkleyHallZoo, Manager at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you had such a lovely visit to Kirkley Hall and it sounds like your little boy had lots of fun. We hope you will come back and visit us again soon on a sunny day so you can experience our woodland walk.
Kind regards
Jenny Cairns
Operations & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens also viewed

 
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing