We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special venue, comfortable bedroom and lounge area, delicious food and service above and beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponteland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here as member of our close family married and had reception here. We had lots of contact with many staff and experienced several different rooms, meals and room set ups.

Grounds and surroundings – Easy to find, plenty of parking in gravelled (tricky with large cases?) area around hotel and immediately gardens seem well cared for and inviting. We didn’t have much time to expore gardens and immediate area as we were very involved in Wedding but they looked lovely despite cold and dull weather. Fantastic photo backdrop!

Bedrooms - There were two lots of rooms that were equally lovely, clean, warm and inviting but they were different in style. We slept in the ‘Edlingham’s room within the house. The room felt large, grand and very comfortable. We slept in a large (King sized?) bed with plenty of bedding supplied and our 5 year old had a basic but adequate camp bed. Plenty of room for luggage (even big bridesmaid dresses!) to be stored in wardrobe, drawers and generous bedside tables. Excellent lighting and thick blackout curtains. Bathroom was down a few stairs and had bath, shower, toilet, sink with lovely toiletries, sewing kit etc left out. Also a fantastic range of teas, coffees, hot chocolate with plenty of milk and sugar. When we asked for more coffee (to keep awake we were having such a nice time!) and more bedding this was no trouble.
The garden rooms (where we dressed for the Wedding and where family had stayed the night before) opened into a small lounge and dressing area where large windows allowed in plenty of light but good blinds and its situation allowed for privacy. The bedroom felt more modern and also had good storage, these led to a smaller bathroom but good use of space for toilet, sink and shower (no bath). These rooms were used for our older wedding guests as they were all on one level and on ground floor.
We slept very well, very quiet, easy to control lighting and temperature.

Food – we found all food to be delicious, well cooked and very ‘homemade by chef’. This included canapés (if only it were polite to eat more than a few!), a full 4 course meal in the dining area, evening buffet and breakfast. Everything felt special and children, veggies etc well catered for too. Lots of choice and generous portions. Breakfast was in slightly smaller portions but this felt appropriate as there was a great choice of cereals, home made granola, coolis, yogurts, fruits to have as well as cooked breakfast made to order. Good quality bacon and sausages and eggs cooked perfectly.

Other rooms - Dining room is very pleasant as large windows look out to the Japanese garden, spot on for formal meal, speeches [good acoustics and plenty of power sockets for P.A system etc] but transformed into evening venue with tables, buffet table and dance floor. It did feel like a perfect reception venue. Dining room transformed again for light and airy breakfast, well cleaned from the night before.
Lounge area – this opens out onto gardens (where are happy couple exited for photos) and is well furnished with comfy sofas, attractive sideboards and had a fairly grand but also cosy feel. Very nice to have somewhere cool and comfy to chill out in during the evening’s entertainment
Hallway and ground floor toilets – very clean, well supplied and nicely furnished. We felt very much at home
Staff – Every single person we had contact with was knowledgeable, warm, accommodating and always smiling. As a small family staying we felt able to ask for things we needed (extra bedding for example), and felt thoroughly spoilt and looked after. In terms of the Wedding I know the Bride found everyone to be fantastically helpful and did everything they could to create their magical day. We had lots of contact with Alistair (or it could have been Alexander – sorry, we were nervous for Wedding when we met you!) who was an excellent ‘master of ceremony’ – he seemed to get everything done and organised yet held back to allow the Bride, Groom and speech makers to have their moments. We also were very grateful to Jenny who was the first to greet us and treated daughter as if she was most important Bridesmaid in the world. She also served us at dinner with a smile, was there in the evening till later then was serving us at breakfast still cheerful and happy to cater to our every need and want. She also helped us when we needed to some things out for Bride and Groom (left over cake, car and left over decorations etc) . There was another lady I wanted to thank who was there when we first dropped cake off but I didn’t get her name. Cannot imagine any of the less than perfect service mentioned in other reviews.

Should I have my Wedding here – Gosh Yes. We loved it, as did friends, family and most importantly the Bride and Groom. Great food, grand yet intimate and comfortable accommodation, excellent facilities and staff who are very good at their job of looking after all guests professionally and with a ‘nothing is too much attitude’.
Thanks for our fantastic stay

Room Tip: Rooms inside the house were grand, large ceilings and wardrobes that CS Lewis would be proud of. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mossycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

We booked Horton Grange (at quite short notice) for my mother's wake. The setting was just stunning,the house is lovely -think Jane Austen meets wuthering Heights-right out in the country side. There was ample parking and loos on the groung floor which made catering for the elderly much easier. The room itself was lovely and the staff had lit both real fires which made it cosy and toasty warm on what was one of the coldest days of the year. The staff were very good, polite and attentive without being intrusive and basically got it 'just right' for what is a difficult occasion. We had also overcatered on the numbers and the manager didn't bat an eyelid when asked for boxes to send everyone home with a food parcel ,many hotels of this kind would be snooty about this but the manager couldn't have been nicer- I think we cleaned him out of ice cream tubs ! The buffet was really nice and although expensive was worth it.I would definitely consider this place for a function of any kind.

Room Tip: If you are having a function in winter ask for the fires to be lit , it adds a bit of magic.The hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redforpluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We recently had a family meal at the Horton Grange and the best we could say about the meal was it was of normal pub standard. We did have the special menu which was a little restrictive but at £30.00 per head we expected the food to be of a better quality. When we went to the restaurant it was freezing cold so we asked for the heating to be put on which they did but the room did not heat up until we were about to leave. The staff were ok but we felt we were a bit of a inconveniance to them. All in all not the great experience I had expected and not a place we could recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186478John_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We used Horton Grange for our wedding reception and evening venue in June last year. We had originally called in on spec without an actual appointment and were impressed from the outset by the beautiful and timeless elegance of the building and surroundings as well as the friendliness of the welcome. Once we had booked in our agreed date evey detail of the day and our requirements was taken care of. I was especially pleased to note that smaller weddings like our intimate little group were regarded as just as important as larger ones which is far from the case at some other venues we had initially shortlisted. On the day everything went according to plan with the master of ceremonies assisiting in the seamless change from the more formal wedding breakfast and speeches to the relaxed atmosphere of an evening celebration. The grounds were beautiful, the hotel warm and inviting and the the staff very friendly and accomodating, they really couldn't do enough for us nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent and was commented on as outstanding by several of the guests especially those that also stayed overnight and sampled the gorgeous breakfast also, all sourced from local ingredients. My husband and I had the most perfect day and would definitely highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Recently stayed for one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Very large room with a large bathroom (could be made fabulous but pleasant enough). The room and indeed the hotel was very very clean (and I did check) so don't understand previous negative reviews. We dined in the restaurant and had beautiful food which was very well presented and served by efficient, pleasant staff. All in all no negative points at all. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiem28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here for one night in February as it was a present from our daughter. The welcome was very gracious and although we arrived earlier than the recommended time, our room was ready and we were allowed access. The room itself was very spacious with a large bathroom, clean and tidy. We decided not to dine at the hotel so cannot comment on the quality of the food. The hotel was quiet with very few guests so it lacked a little atmosphere. That said, the staff were very polite and helpful. After a pleasant night's sleep, we were escorted to our breakfast table which was served without much of a wait. The quality of the breakfast was adequate and what you would expect from a three star accommodation. Overall, we would stay there again on a short term basis as there is not a great deal to do within waking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I STRONGLY ADVISE ANY COUPLES TO LOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE TO GET MARRIED!!
I recently attended a wedding fair here and instantly fell in love. The pricing of the venue was never an issue as my partner and i have saved for a couple of year now. On the day of the wedding fair the staff didnt once speak to us but at the time did not come accross rude as they seemed busy.

I make an appointment to sit down, arrange an overall price and to book. Everything seemed normal, oh how we were wrong!!

When turning up for our arranged meeting, the gentleman who was suppose to help looked us up and down and give us such an awful look (IF LOOKS COULD KILL!!) instantly made us both feel belittled. He took one look at us (young in our 20s with a baby) and chose not to help us. We expected to SIT DOWN and discuss prices. Instead he had us STAND in the hallway. When asking prices he had one word answers. LETS NOT FORGET HIS COMMENT ON US NOT BEING ABLE TO AFFORD IT!!!! We expected to pay that day (every penny up front). He had other opinions and told us to 'have another look through our wedding brochure' while shockingly opening the door for us to leave.

You may be thinking we may look a little rough or look poor. Were not. We were so appauled!!!! Such a rude pompus arrangant fool he was. Ive never been spoken to with such little respect!!! He might has well have spit in my face.
God help those who are getting married there. The staff are terrible! I wasnt suprised after reading all those bad reviews on here.

Weve now booked elsewhere and looking forward to getting married March 2014.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zowieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponteland
6.2 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,148 reviews
13.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
10.7 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,547 reviews
24.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horton Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horton Grange Country House Hotel

Address: Berwick Hill Road, Ponteland NE13 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ponteland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponteland
Price Range: £71 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horton Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors are immediately captivated by the distinctive mix of traditional and contemporary decor on offer at Horton Grange. Real fires, fresh flowers and antique furnishings blend with the conservatory dining room to create a relaxed atmosphere. Sympathetic furnishings compliment the traditional character of both the cosy bar and the light airy restaurant, overlooking the Japanese Garden. The Hotel is located just 15 minutes from the centre of bustling Newcastle and is one of the closest hotels for Newcastle Airport (4 miles).Enjoy the relaxing ambience of the bar with an extensive range of wines. The bar always has a warm, friendly atmosphere which is emphasised by the large open fire place. You will certainly appreciate the modern feel to the room, especially the large 42" plasma screen which hangs above the fireplace often displaying a virtual open log fire - filling the room with a warm and satisfying glow. The large bay windows look over the gardens which are fantastic to view by day or night.The lounge is one of the largest rooms in the hotel and is filled with a plentiful supply of elegant sofas and chairs making it the perfect place to stop and enjoy the quiet of the countryside over a cup of tea or fresh coffee. This room boasts two open fire places, one at either end and soaks up the sunlight from the many surrounding windows and is a particular favourite with the guests who have just finished dining and want somewhere peaceful to chat and relax before bed.The restaurant is a light and airy modern room overlooking the garden. The restaurant is well known for its fine cuisine and excellent menu. Only a visit will allow anyone to truly appreciate the food and drink on offer. Chef, using the very best fresh local produce, presides over an imaginative "modern classic" menu with a range of exciting dishes to suit all tastes.Five of the bedrooms are located in the main house with the other four having been tastefully created in the stables opposite the main entrance to the hotel. All bedrooms are beautifully decorated rooms with classical antique furnishings throughout. Rooms include a colour T.V. and large en-suite bathroom and many overlook the gardens. The Alnwick bedroom is a spacious room with classical antique furnishings throughout, situated at the rear of the hotel overlooking the Japanese garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Horton Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horton Grange Hotel Ponteland
Horton Grange Country House Hotel Ponteland, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing