We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for a special stayover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponteland
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great choice for a special stayover”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped on our way back down from the far far north of Scotland to break up the journey and wanted to do something special.... We weren't disappointed! From the check in nothing was too much trouble, room huge, dinner excellent and a peaceful nights sleep!! Breakfast was great the next morning, extremely filling and no herb sausages anymore (guess they do listen) great start to the day.... We shall return! Well done to the team a at Horton Grange!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CloseShave12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    66
    27
    18
    21
See reviews for
98
151
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked for an anniversary surprise for wife on 1st impression very nice but male receptionist although polite was very unprofessional shirt untucked showing the top of his underpants when showing us to our room and later when asking for some more coffee wad found slouched in the bar tie off and shirt completely untucked annex room tidy and clean but on suite a little cramped bed a small double and very hard but the main complaint was the thinness of the walls could hear the conversation s and tv of the occupants of rooms either side which kept us awake till 1-30
Only 1 member of staff in morning who was extremely helpful rushing round serving breakfast which was at best ok herb n leek sausages not ideal 1st thing in morning portions small aswell
Wouldnt stay again at these prices

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisntrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My partner whisked me away to Horton Grange for an overnight stay last week, and I was blown away by the place! Fabulous food, the Afternoon Tea is a must, and traditional bedrooms made for a great short break. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Chillingham, our room, had lovely views of the rolling lawns and wedding gazebo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 913Charlotte_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a short break after recommendations from a few friends of ours last year and we just recently went back again for another weekend away. Once again we were greeted by a friendly, professional, and welcoming service. Nothing was too much trouble for them and made us feel special. The quality of the food in the restaurant we were given was lovely and again could not be faulted. The room we stayed in was spacious clean and well designed. All in all it was a lovely break to recharge the batteries once again. Its nice to get the chance of a break and so nice to find somewhere to back to time and time again. Thanks see you next year, maybe sooner

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

In my opinion there are 3 main problems with this hotel. 1. It is not very clean, 2. The prices are just shocking!, and 3. The staff (clueless!)
Not a very good experience at all!
Room wasn't up to scratch at all. Staff just seemed uninterested and walked around as if like zombies sometimes. Bar left unstaffed and I had to go and find a staff member for every service.
And then we come to the prices. You certainly do need deep pockets- very expensive, and you don't even get to stop in a five star place for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have stayed here on a number of occasions in the past and over the years things have not improved. The rooms are clean, but on this occasion the sink in my bedroom was cracked and the bulb in the light over the sink needed replacing. Breakfast was limited but OK , however, I was not asked if I required any toast other than that delivered with the scrambled egg. The bar was unable to provide me with any crisps or nuts to accompany a night cap. The dining area is looking a little tired. A little extra thought in some things would make this hotel better

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GastronomeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I cannot praise Horton Grange enough. I stayed here with family prior to my son's wedding reception. We were not easy guests, (my mum is disabled and needed patience; I couldn't find my handbag at one point but my panic was professionally handled) and Natalie especially made it a very positive experience overall. Breakfasts, afternoon teas and the wedding breakfast itself were faultless as was the kindness of the wedding planner who managed my son and his wife's every request. My only concern was not being able to get into the hotel on my return at midnight the night before the wedding as my key didn't work and no-one answered the door or the phone.. However, I noticed that an emergency contact number was placed in my room following this incident so no other guest will be left outside in the dark and rain! Apologies were profuse and again I was made to feel special and valued despite the trauma. All is forgiven. Well done Horton Grange.

Room Tip: Garden rooms suit those who are disabled. No lift in main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponteland
13.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
24.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
10.7 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.2 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horton Grange Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horton Grange Country House Hotel

Property: Horton Grange Country House Hotel
Address: Berwick Hill Road, Ponteland NE13 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ponteland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ponteland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Horton Grange Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors are immediately captivated by the distinctive mix of traditional and contemporary decor on offer at Horton Grange. Real fires, fresh flowers and antique furnishings blend with the conservatory dining room to create a relaxed atmosphere. Sympathetic furnishings compliment the traditional character of both the cosy bar and the light airy restaurant, overlooking the Japanese Garden. The Hotel is located just 15 minutes from the centre of bustling Newcastle and is one of the closest hotels for Newcastle Airport (4 miles).Enjoy the relaxing ambience of the bar with an extensive range of wines. The bar always has a warm, friendly atmosphere which is emphasised by the large open fire place. You will certainly appreciate the modern feel to the room, especially the large 42" plasma screen which hangs above the fireplace often displaying a virtual open log fire - filling the room with a warm and satisfying glow. The large bay windows look over the gardens which are fantastic to view by day or night.The lounge is one of the largest rooms in the hotel and is filled with a plentiful supply of elegant sofas and chairs making it the perfect place to stop and enjoy the quiet of the countryside over a cup of tea or fresh coffee. This room boasts two open fire places, one at either end and soaks up the sunlight from the many surrounding windows and is a particular favourite with the guests who have just finished dining and want somewhere peaceful to chat and relax before bed.The restaurant is a light and airy modern room overlooking the garden. The restaurant is well known for its fine cuisine and excellent menu. Only a visit will allow anyone to truly appreciate the food and drink on offer. Chef, using the very best fresh local produce, presides over an imaginative "modern classic" menu with a range of exciting dishes to suit all tastes.Five of the bedrooms are located in the main house with the other four having been tastefully created in the stables opposite the main entrance to the hotel. All bedrooms are beautifully decorated rooms with classical antique furnishings throughout. Rooms include a colour T.V. and large en-suite bathroom and many overlook the gardens. The Alnwick bedroom is a spacious room with classical antique furnishings throughout, situated at the rear of the hotel overlooking the Japanese garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horton Grange Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horton Grange Hotel Ponteland
Horton Grange Country House Hotel Ponteland, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing