We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD SERVICE HIGHTLIGHTED”
Review of YOLO Ponteland

YOLO Ponteland
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Ponteland
Price range: US$7 - US$39
Description: A luxury bar with fantastic food in the heart of Ponteland Welcome to Yolo - a new social experience for Ponteland. Whilst we serve great food we are first and foremost a bar serving amazing cocktails, wines, spirit, champagne and coffees 10am till midnight. With a regularly changing seasonal menu of platters, sliders, salads and steaks. We source all our ingredients locally wherever possible. Our live music events will set the scene for your perfect escape, morning noon or night. Why not come down and give us a try? After all, You Only Live Once. Our Kitchen serves until 9pm Sunday - Thursday, with last orders for food received at 10pm on a Friday & Saturday. We are pleased to operate a walk in and dine policy, so no need to book. We are child friendly when accompanied by an adult until 9pm Monday - Thursday And till 7pm on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
Restaurant details
Description: A luxury bar with fantastic food in the heart of Ponteland Welcome to Yolo - a new social experience for Ponteland. Whilst we serve great food we are first and foremost a bar serving amazing cocktails, wines, spirit, champagne and coffees 10am till midnight. With a regularly changing seasonal menu of platters, sliders, salads and steaks. We source all our ingredients locally wherever possible. Our live music events will set the scene for your perfect escape, morning noon or night. Why not come down and give us a try? After all, You Only Live Once. Our Kitchen serves until 9pm Sunday - Thursday, with last orders for food received at 10pm on a Friday & Saturday. We are pleased to operate a walk in and dine policy, so no need to book. We are child friendly when accompanied by an adult until 9pm Monday - Thursday And till 7pm on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having just returned from a holiday in Turkey where the service is superb,it only went elel ti highlight how bad todays service was
Firstly called in some days ago to book a table asked for a £50 deposit for Monday lunch time ,really! this could not be taken off cars had to be done on line,really
On arrival there were our party of 6 and 6 others inside,a sunny day so also several seated outside
Ordered second round of drinks needed to change barrel served several others before any attempt was made to change barrel and had to return several times to the bar to inform them we were still owed the drinks.
Menus eventually brought to us having had to ask several times ordered six meals after several requests over a length of time meals arrived,pasta was more baked and dry,barbecue chicken pizza turned out to be chicken pizza with a squeeze of barbecue sauce
At no time were we spoken to all requests having to be prompted by our group,no attempt was made to clear the table and when we left having had 3 rounds of drinks 18 glasses were still on the table
Makes you wonder who is the customer and what would it be like if it was busy
YOLO apparently stands for you only live once well we will only be visiting once

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boleynmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda W, Manager at YOLO Ponteland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your review. Sorry to here your visit wasn’t great. If you would like to discuss in further detail, please email deanwarwick@yolo.uk.com
Kind Regards,
Yolanda,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have had three unsatisfactory visits to this establishment, but as we are 'locals' who eat out most days, we thought after many months that we would give it another try. We placed our order, but then discovered that the table and associated seating were too dirty to sit at, so we moved to another table. After our order had arrived, we asked one waitress when the scones had been baked, as they were incredibly stale and had to be carved open, to which she stated that she didn't know. When I took the scones to the counter to inform the staff that the scones were stale, a different waitress entered into a verbal confrontation. 'They are not stale...they are perfectly fresh...they were baked first thing in the morning YESTERDAY! I tried to explain that scones go stale if they are over one day old but she argued the point and became very loud and aggressive. I said that a refund would have been in order and turned away to leave the counter and she shouted NO! I turned around and exclaimed 'Sorry?' and she shouted 'You're not getting any money back!' (Incidentally, the scones were most probably more than yesterday's as it takes quite a while to become so hard as to be inedible.) If you enjoy being treated like a second class citizen and given stale offerings then this is the place for you. Compound that with the overtly aggressive, verging on abusive behaviour of a very ill -informed if not ignorant waitress, and it scores negatively on all fronts! What is going on here...are the staff wanting to destroy this business? If you are unfortunate enough to get this particular specimen, she could destroy it all on her own! Whatever happened to good customer service? One can only wonder what is going on?

2  Thank discernment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanw00, General Manager at YOLO Ponteland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback.

Sorry to hear about your bad experience with us as we pride ourselves on great customer service.

Could you please email me directly to deanwarwick@yolo.uk.com with the dates and times you were in Yolo.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Went at 8:30pm on a lovely summers evening but they had already collected all the menus and was told they were no longer serving food. Really poor.

Thank Col_Chadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda W, Manager at YOLO Ponteland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your review. Sorry to here your visit wasn’t great. If you would like to discuss in further detail, please email deanwarwick@yolo.uk.com
Kind Regards,
Yolanda,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Delicious food, variety of choices - all at a good price. Service was friendly and a lovely venue for a night out, meal or catch up with mates!

Thank JMadsen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda W, Manager at YOLO Ponteland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you again soon,
Kind Regards,
Yolanda,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Visited for drinks on bank holiday Sunday and stayed for food, outside area is beautiful with big comfy chairs and sofas food is great we had a tapas selection and everything was very tasty. A great place to start on a bank holiday!

Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yolanda W, Manager at YOLO Ponteland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you again soon,
Kind Regards,
Yolanda,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YOLO Ponteland also viewed

Ponteland, Northumberland
 
Ponteland, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to YOLO Ponteland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing