We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Lorne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lorne House
Ranked #1 of 7 Box B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Fantastic little gem of a B&B in Box!!! Beautifully furnished room, felt really at home! 'Huge' and I mean Huge, spider in bath made me a little uneasy for a while but everything was spotlessly clean and so thats not the owners fault, it was a sunny weekend in May 2010... absolutley excellent breakfast and lovely friendly welcome and service from the gentleman owner. Fabulous little find, would definately recommend and would return!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessDonDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    33
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
52
76
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rustington
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We were all very impressed with our room and the enormous and gorgeous bathroom - infact our two children asked if they could move here!! Beautiful rooms with very comfy beds and lots of little extras to keep us all happy! We had the family room where we were all able to have a proper sized very comfy bed! Breakfast offers you a superb choice and items are cooked to your own requirements.
This is truely a delightful hotel with very warm and friendly owners in an ideal location! What more could you want!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed in room 3 at the front of the house, which was pleasantly decorated, a really good sized room, modern wet room style bathroom. The noise from the main A road outside, we found quite distracting, and did cause a broken sleep,even though it was double glazed with secondary glazing, it quietened down around 1am on Sunday morning,probably worth getting a room at the back of the house if you are staying for more than one night!

Breakfast was good, plenty to choose from with helpful and polite staff. They were fully booked on the night we stayed and the breakfast room was very busy the following morning,although they had tried to stagger the breakfast sittings, it left a couple waiting for a table.

The room was clean, the bathroom lacked attention, (eg floor area not very clean on arrival)

Have stayed in lots of B&B's and this was at the top end of the price range and left us a little disappointed, as far as value for money was concerned.

The Bear Pub in the village is excellent, warm and friendly staff and a fantastic meal. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose one at the back of the house as better glazed and away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistyhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Spent two nights at Lorne House in November and would recommend both the B&B and the village of Box. I probably erred in requesting the double room at the back of the house, overlooking the countryside, as it was too small for us and our luggage - barely room to walk around the bed. Saw a couple of the other rooms later and realized they had much more space. But the bed was comfortable, and we liked the en-suite 'wet room.' Breakfast included everything you could ask for; and the house is conveniently located in Box, a short walk from the pubs and the bus stop. The only disappointment was that there wasn't any kind of sitting room in the house.

Room Tip: The room at the back may be the quietest, but it is also tight quarters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RagtopRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Had a wonderful stay before Christmas for 3 nights. Excellent breakfasts, lovely room and bathroom, very clean and very, very comfortable bed (and I have terrible back problems). Peaceful and quiet. Very accommodating host who spared us time for a chat every morning. We would recommend Lorne House to anyone and hope to visit again. Fantastic location for visiting Bath and surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveDevon1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I don't think we could have found better. Comfortable and clean surroundings with a first rate breakfast thrown in. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay and would recommend this to anyone who's looking for a really nice B&B within an easy drive from Bath.

Room Tip: Try The Bear next door for first rate food and beer, or The Hare and Hounds in Corsham, a few miles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting friends.

Friendly and welcoming owners and staff.

Large room with very comfortable beds and a fantastic wetroom type bathroom - great shower (ground floor room at the back of the house).

Excellent breakfasts on both mornings.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retep68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Box
2.7 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
601 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,029 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
713 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
3.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne House

Property: Lorne House
Address: Lorne House London Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham > Box
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Box
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since November 2016, Lorne House offers guests smart and sophisticated accommodation with ensuite modern wetrooms or bathrooms. Furnished to a very high standard, Lorne House is a stylish home from home offering our guests an elegant charm and very friendly welcome. Breakfasts are hearty and traditionally English. Close to Bath, Lacock, Castle Combe, Corsham, Bradford on Avon and Avebury Lorne House is perfectly situated for guests wishing to explore the beauty and history of this lovely corner of Wiltshire. Lorne House was the childhood home of the Rev. W J Awdry, author of Thomas the Tank Engine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Lorne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne House Hotel Box
Lorne House Box, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing