We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun fun fun”
Review of Lorne House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lorne House
Ranked #1 of 7 Box B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Lorne house for a friends birthday. This B&B is the nicest place to stay. On a direct route to Bath by bus. Great location. Excellent staff. A special thanks to Jackie for making us all feel so welcome. Great breakfast. Excellent rooms. Will definitely be coming back. HIGHLY recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed at Lorne House with a group of friends and it was fantastic. We had such a lovely time. The rooms are great; Immaculate, great bathroom, comfy beds, great decor, loads of info..so much more than your run of the mill B&B. The breakfast was delicious, very good choices and perfect eggs! The staff could not have been more helpful and oh so friendly. Yep, this place is FAB. Treat yourself!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mrsnicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Arrived early evening to a wonderful welcome - three adults staying for one night using the Awdry room. Fresh, clean and inviting we slept well after an evening out in Bath. A delicious breakfast next morning accompanied by a history lesson on the property from the hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had been let down at the last minute by another hotel. We arrived on the doorstep at 7.15 pm and were made to feel very welcome straightaway. We had a lovely room, with a great shower!
Breakfast the next day was great, freshly cooked!
A little pricey for a regular booking, but would consider staying again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatUna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have stayed here as a family, a couple and for various reasons on several occasions. Our first visit was as a base for exploring Bath, for which Lorne House is perfect. The rooms are consistently immaculate, maintained and spacious. Even with 3 small children there is enough room in the family room. All my children hold Lorne House with great affection and consider Mike, Fran and Jackie as part of our extended family. I cannot recommend Lorne House enough and will continue to use excuses to stay there, even when we live closer to the area. If all you do is stay for their breakfast and try Frans lemon Curd on your toast....it is worth every penny.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank msfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fran and Mike are a lovely couple, they made us very welcome and helped us make a decision on where to eat, they also lent us their discount card, which was very much appreciated. The building has a great history and lots of art work that was done by Mike's mother. We did not get the ladies name that cooked our lovely breakfast, but we would also like to thank her for the welcome and the information on where to go for the day. It was a lovely room and a great stay. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenJoyce_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights for our weekend away to Bath. It is located just on the outskirts of bath and the bus service is easily accessible to get into Bath. The owners are very friendly and gave us a lot of local information. We had a family room of 4, it was slightly cramped but very comfortable. Bathroom was nice and clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order just like home cooked food. Fully recommend this B&B to anyone.Our thanks to all at Lorna House and best wishes from Mr and Mrs Patel and the girls from Brighton. Look forward to meeting up with you when you are next in Brighton.

Room Tip: Make sure you carry some snacks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patel536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Box
2.9 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
373 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.3 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Northey
The Northey
#2 of 7 in Box
277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barn House B&B
Barn House B&B
#4 of 7 in Box
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne House

Address: Lorne House London Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham > Box
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Box
Price Range: £76 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since November 2016, Lorne House offers guests smart and sophisticated accommodation with ensuite modern wetrooms or bathrooms. Furnished to a very high standard, Lorne House is a stylish home from home offering our guests an elegant charm and very friendly welcome. Breakfasts are hearty and traditionally English. Close to Bath, Lacock, Castle Combe, Corsham, Bradford on Avon and Avebury Lorne House is perfectly situated for guests wishing to explore the beauty and history of this lovely corner of Wiltshire. Lorne House was the childhood home of the Rev. W J Awdry, author of Thomas the Tank Engine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lorne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne House Hotel Box
Lorne House Box, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing