We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal”
Review of Ashbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbourne Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My girlfriend and I found an offer for £99 for dinner, bed and breakfast from their facebook page and was far from disappointed. The staff were extremely pleasant and professional and their customer service really made this stay enjoyable. This is the first time I've stayed over at the Ashbourne and it definitely won't be my last. The room was spotless and had great facilities too. The meal was from a set menu which was included in our offer... For starter my girlfriend had the soup of the day which she loved and I had the goats cheese panacotta which, in all honesty, is the best starter i've ever had. The elements of the dish all really complimented each other and I cannot recommend this highly enough. For mains we both opted for the Sirloin steak (£5 extra) and this was cooked to perfection and for desert we had brownie with ice cream and sticky toffee pudding and once again they were excellent. The Ashbourne has out done itself and for me, it has to be the best restaurant in Lincolnshire.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheReputation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Many thanks for your review of your recent stay, it is good to see that you have made a return visit to the Ashbourne Hotel and that everything was as you hoped it would be on your latest visit, I will pass on your comments to each of the staff, and we hope that you will visit again soon

very best regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    77
    29
    10
    4
See reviews for
125
110
13
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the ashbourne hotel for two nights in January and everything was excellent. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a modern/ gothic theme which works really well. The room I was in was immaculate I couldn't find any faults at all and I love looking for things wrong on hotel rooms. The hotel has a bistro which serves excellent food I could have a steak cooked to my liking and not to how ever the chef wants like at so many other places. Would definitely return and recommend 5 stars

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Many thanks for your ecent stay at the Ashbourne Hotel, I have passed on your comments to all of the staff and we hope you choose the Ashbourne next time you are in the area

Thank You

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2013

As soon as we went to visit the Ashbourne to look at the new function room (back in 2010), our decision was made that we wanted our wedding there! In the two years of planning our wedding, Rob and Andrew couldn't have been more helpful. I would call and email them and they always replied to my questions, making our decisions about things much easier! They accommodated everything we asked for, including the band we wanted, which we had organised ourselves.
On the day, Rob and Andrew exceeded myself and my husbands expectations! Even down to the tiniest detail of Rob moving the chair for me and sorting my dress out each time I left the table. The food was outstanding and all of our guests commented on how lovely the whole of the hotel and courtyard area was. A lot of them hadn't been there before and they were really impressed! I could go on for hours about our day and the hotel, but I think from my review you can see that they didn't disappoint! Thankyou so much for making our day fantastic and one we'll never forget! We still think about it now and it's been over 4 months - we wish we could do it all over again!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room in the new block on our wedding night , but I cannot fault any of the rooms, I stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Holt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, it's brilliant to know that you enjoyed your day so much and that your guests also commented on how they also enjoyed the day, I will pass on your thanks to Rob and the rest of the team, it always gives them a lift when they rceive such nice comments

Thank you once again

Take care

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Excellent hotel which is ideal whilst working at Immingham docks. Only 10 minutes away. Pleasant rooms, good food and very pleasant staff. Hotel is quiet and away from main roads which is ideal for good nights sleep. Hotel has a bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnc227062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
I would just like to thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Ashbourne Hotel, as always it's great to read that you enjoyed your stay, and of course got a good night's sleep.

Thank You

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

I stay here at least once a week on business for the last 18 months and have tried all the local (within 10 mile) hotels.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Ashbourne for great high quality rooms and a superb restaurant.
Staff are really friendly whilst maintaining a professional manner making you feel individually important.
Attention to detail in house keeping is evident and maintained consistently.
I would personally highly recommend the hotel.....

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Very many thanks for placing a review of your experience over the past 18 months, it's grat to hear that you think so highly of the hotel and the staff,

Thank You

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I have stayed at the Ashbourne on a weekly basis since April 2012, I have found the amenities to be first class, the food and service to be that expected with many of the larger city centre chains, and my overall impression is the way the staff appreciate many guests are away from home, and they do their utmost to make you feel welcome, and part of the family atmosphere they collectively create in this part of industrial Lincolnshire. Well done to all.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your visits to the Ashbourne Hotel, it's fantastic to read that you enjoy your time with us and think so highly of the staff, I have passed on your comments to the staff

once again many thanks

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2013

At a wedding on New Year Eve. It was amazing time. If any one was considering the Ashbourne go ahead you will not find a better venue in the whole of the area. Food - amazing, hot and tasty, local produce and very well presented. The evening buffet again fantastic. The chocolate machine with it home made goddies again coud not have been better. Room absolutly fine, clean and well kept. Peope who smoked at the wedding kept to the designated smoking area. Outside very clean and tidy. OK it was New Years Eve and a great time was had by all - I expect dinners felt a little bit out of it - but if they had had asked the Groom and Bride if they could have joined in with the NewYear Celebrations that followed the wedding, I am in no doubt they would have been welcomed, but they chose to go to the Hotel to dine, not to party if thats what people wanted you would book a party night elswhere. Obviously there would be a bit of late noise with people taking to their beds and chatting as they went back. The next morning as clean as a whistle, the staff had worked hard to clean it all of party poppers etc. Breakfast excellent - must ask where sausages come from true lincolnshire sausage. On a final note Thank You to Management and all staff from kitchen to cleaning for such a day and evening, nothing was too much trouble. Dont hesitate to book the Ashbourne for dinner or a function Well done to you all and Happy New Year.

Room Tip: They are all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Can I just say thank you for your kind review of the wedding you attended at the Ashbourne Hotel, it's fantastic to read that you enjoyed your day and that you felt you had been looked after so well. I have already passed on your comments to each of the staff, Oh and we get our sausages from an award winning butcher in Grimsby who is quite well known for his sausages,

very best regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Killingholme
20.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
13.3 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
8.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
288 reviews
6.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
285 reviews
8.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Hotel

Property: Ashbourne Hotel
Address: Vicarage Lane, North Killingholme DN40 3JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > North Killingholme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Killingholme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem amidst the major routes. Standing proud in North Killingholme. The Ashbourne Hotel sits peacefully opposite the village green and church, yet offers the busy traveller easy access to major routes such as the A180, M18, M1 and Humberside International Airport. Beginning life as a traditional Lincolnshire farmhouse, the Ashbourne Hotel has now been transformed, through exquisitely executed extensions and refurbishment, into a beautifully presented hotel, featuring an elegant, enclosed courtyard and surrounding lawn. Traditional mix with state-of-the-art services. Discovered down a delightful, winding country lane, the hotel reveals a mix of sympathetically restored traditional features with exciting contemporary innovations. Attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel; from the careful replication of long-established brickwork to ensuring fast Internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne Hotel North Killingholme, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing