We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Lunch”
Review of Ashbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbourne Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Had Sunday lunch here on 10 February 2013. Menu has good choices and caters for all tastes including the traditional. Food was first class and there was lots of it. Staff very attentive but not pushy. Highly recommend eating here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Very many thanks for your kind review, it's great that you enjoyed your meal and the service when you visited for Sunday Lunch, I will make sure each of the staff are aware of your comments

Once again, many thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I were married at the Hotel late last year, and we can't speak highly enough of everyone and everything concerned. The venue was first class, and set out perfectly. All the staff were great and couldn't do enough for us. They looked after us from the day we booked our Wedding until the morning after the Ceremony. We agreed with Rob as the Co-Ordinator how and when we wanted everything to go. It was great that the whole day felt really relaxed, and we didn't feel constrained by time. Rob was always to hand but never rushed us, and the day just really flowed!
The ceremony was great, the food was great, and it was really appreciated that the staff set up the room again for us the next morning so that we could all eat breakfast together. We had a fantastic Wedding day, and the Ashbourne contributed to that!

Thank you for everything you did to make our day special

Paul and Kelly Speight

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you very much for the review on your wedding it's great to know that you enjoyed your day, I have passed on your thanks to Rob and the Team.

Thank You

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I've stayed at the hotel for a number of years now. My most recent visit was a work event there this week, and the food was as excellent as ever... they just need to change the title of the main I had to 'whale and chips', as 'fish and chips' doesn't do the size of the fish you get justice!

Room Tip: Get a loyalty card, and get a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you for the review on your recent (and previous) stay at the Ashbourne Hotel, it always gives the staff a bit of a lift when we receive good feedback, I have passed on your comments

very meny thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My husband and I met friends here last week and we loved our experience. We called in for an early tea and didn't have starters but had mains. Us ladies shared a bottle of house white wine as the men were driving. I must comment that this hotel had the wines in stock which their sister hotel did not, although the excuse given was a busy Christmas period. We had fish and chips and it was exquisite. Service was quick and flowing, and the ambience was lovely. The manager was welcoming and the hotel layout was nice, not too invasive.

Thank you to the staff and chef for your swift service and fantastic food, will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Very many thanks fro your recent review, it's good to read and you enjoyed your Fish and Chips, and of course your wine! I will pass on your comments to the staff

Thank You

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My girlfriend and I found an offer for £99 for dinner, bed and breakfast from their facebook page and was far from disappointed. The staff were extremely pleasant and professional and their customer service really made this stay enjoyable. This is the first time I've stayed over at the Ashbourne and it definitely won't be my last. The room was spotless and had great facilities too. The meal was from a set menu which was included in our offer... For starter my girlfriend had the soup of the day which she loved and I had the goats cheese panacotta which, in all honesty, is the best starter i've ever had. The elements of the dish all really complimented each other and I cannot recommend this highly enough. For mains we both opted for the Sirloin steak (£5 extra) and this was cooked to perfection and for desert we had brownie with ice cream and sticky toffee pudding and once again they were excellent. The Ashbourne has out done itself and for me, it has to be the best restaurant in Lincolnshire.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheReputation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Many thanks for your review of your recent stay, it is good to see that you have made a return visit to the Ashbourne Hotel and that everything was as you hoped it would be on your latest visit, I will pass on your comments to each of the staff, and we hope that you will visit again soon

very best regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the ashbourne hotel for two nights in January and everything was excellent. The hotel is beautifully decorated in a modern/ gothic theme which works really well. The room I was in was immaculate I couldn't find any faults at all and I love looking for things wrong on hotel rooms. The hotel has a bistro which serves excellent food I could have a steak cooked to my liking and not to how ever the chef wants like at so many other places. Would definitely return and recommend 5 stars

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Many thanks for your ecent stay at the Ashbourne Hotel, I have passed on your comments to all of the staff and we hope you choose the Ashbourne next time you are in the area

Thank You

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

As soon as we went to visit the Ashbourne to look at the new function room (back in 2010), our decision was made that we wanted our wedding there! In the two years of planning our wedding, Rob and Andrew couldn't have been more helpful. I would call and email them and they always replied to my questions, making our decisions about things much easier! They accommodated everything we asked for, including the band we wanted, which we had organised ourselves.
On the day, Rob and Andrew exceeded myself and my husbands expectations! Even down to the tiniest detail of Rob moving the chair for me and sorting my dress out each time I left the table. The food was outstanding and all of our guests commented on how lovely the whole of the hotel and courtyard area was. A lot of them hadn't been there before and they were really impressed! I could go on for hours about our day and the hotel, but I think from my review you can see that they didn't disappoint! Thankyou so much for making our day fantastic and one we'll never forget! We still think about it now and it's been over 4 months - we wish we could do it all over again!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room in the new block on our wedding night , but I cannot fault any of the rooms, I stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Holt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, it's brilliant to know that you enjoyed your day so much and that your guests also commented on how they also enjoyed the day, I will pass on your thanks to Rob and the rest of the team, it always gives them a lift when they rceive such nice comments

Thank you once again

Take care

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Killingholme
20.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
6.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
325 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Stallingborough Grange Hotel
13.4 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
12.2 mi away
Hall Farm Hotel and Restaurant
Hall Farm Hotel and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Ashby cum Fenby
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Hotel

Address: Vicarage Lane, North Killingholme DN40 3JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > North Killingholme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Killingholme
Price Range: £77 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem amidst the major routes. Standing proud in North Killingholme. The Ashbourne Hotel sits peacefully opposite the village green and church, yet offers the busy traveller easy access to major routes such as the A180, M18, M1 and Humberside International Airport. Beginning life as a traditional Lincolnshire farmhouse, the Ashbourne Hotel has now been transformed, through exquisitely executed extensions and refurbishment, into a beautifully presented hotel, featuring an elegant, enclosed courtyard and surrounding lawn. Traditional mix with state-of-the-art services. Discovered down a delightful, winding country lane, the hotel reveals a mix of sympathetically restored traditional features with exciting contemporary innovations. Attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel; from the careful replication of long-established brickwork to ensuring fast Internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne Hotel North Killingholme, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing