We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Ashbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbourne Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed at the Ashbourne couple of weeks ago and have to say the room i stopped in was fantastic clean moden and best nights sleep i had while staying in a hotel. In the evening i had a meal in the restaurant had the Cod Cheeks as my starter and was nit something i would normally go for but would have it again and recomend it very highly. For my main i had rib eye steak with blue cheese sauce the steak was cooked perfectly and lovely home made onion rings the whole meal was very nice and will be staying here again as is by far the best in the area.!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Good Afternoon, thank you for the reveiw of your recent stay, it's great to read that you enjoyed your meal so much and thats you got a good night's sleep afterwards, I have passed on your comments to the staff, once again many thanks.

Very best regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    72
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
121
109
13
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Our son got married at the Ashboune in November. What a fantastic venue, it couldn't be faulted. The whole day went brilliantly from start to finish. Everyone commented on how good the food was and how well organised the wedding was. Many of the guests stayed overnight and were exceptionally pleased with their rooms. All in all it was a fabulous day.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suse49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for the reveiw of you son and daughter in law's wedding last November, it is naturally very pleasing to read that you and your guests enjoyed their food and their stay at the hotel, I will make sure all involved are aware of your comments,

Thank you

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed here on a business trip recently.
It was a cold day. I arrived early evening. The reception staff was vaguely interested; robotic would be a fair description. Did not ask if it was my first stay and did not volunteer any information.
The room furnishings were okay (Room 105). it was quiet although with old fashioned keys for the doors, you know when your neighbour is coming and going. The overall colour scheme was rather drab. At odds with the room decor was an oversized, inelegant bright red plastic table lamp. No bath only a shower and I turned up the radiator as the loo was freezing. The TV was small, so small in fact that it was a strain to watch it as it was half up the wall. A bit mean for a hotel in that price range.
Downstairs the dining area was not unpleasant but it was a little dark in a murky rather than romantic sort of way. An odd design feature was the cheap and nasty wall art comprising badly painted, scantily clad women. What sort of owner puts them up these days?
The food was typical of your average 4 star chain. The dinner was presented nicely so the chef was making a good effort. There was a limited wine and beer range. Dinner was served by quiet staff who were either very reserved, tired or indifferent; it was hard to tell; they gave so little away. They even looked a bit suspicious of me. Maybe they thought I was a hotel inspector! Friendliness was not a strength. The breakfast staff on the other hand were the friendliest and the cooked breakfast was good.
Overall, I guess the hotel does fairly good business as it is near to major industries which attract businessmen. It seems to lack something that you can't quite put your finger on.
I do business regularly in the general area and this was my first visit to this particular hotel. There are less expensive hotels within a 15 mile radius with friendlier staff and more comfortable rooms, so having tried this, I would return but it would not be first choice in future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileendover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Thank you for your honesty in your review of your recent stay at the Ashbourne Hotel, this clearly not what I wold wish to read in a review, however I will take onboard all that you have said and look to improve in any areas that we can, it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your meal and that you haven't written off the possibility of staying with us on future visits to the area.

Once again very many thanks for your review and I hope to see you again in the future,

Thank You

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I am writing this review whilst in my room for the last of two nights whilst on business in the area
The room is good, very good indeed. The food is also top quality, as is the breakfast, I would love to recommend the hotel to other travellers. But, and a big but, is the staff ? They are so far up there own back ends , and very sultry that's what is putting me off recommending this hotel.
First night I stayed the staff were just rude and not interested, apart, from one waitress who was excellent, the male staff had a real attitude about themselves, I last stayed in this hotel over 7 years ago and always remember the friendly staff, sadly they have long gone. The logo of the group " states hotels with personality" this is somewhat removed from reality. Big big question!!!!!!!
Would I go back, yes only because the hotel is better than the sultry staff, and that's what counts

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikec-edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Many thanks for the review on your recent stay at the Ashbourne Hotel, obviously it is disappointing to read that you felt the staff let the hotel down, I am sure that the staff would not intentially be rude or mean to cause offence, and to be honest reports I get about the staff are normally very positive, however your reveiw will serve a good reminder that we need to be at our best at all times, I hope you do choose to visit again as you suggested and that you will feel the staff live up to expectation on any futures visit.

once again thank you for your review

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Me and my now husband, chose The Ashbourne as soon as we saw the room that you get married in! We loved the wooden beams and the amazing chandelier!

We got married 27th October, 2012 and it was perfect. Everything ran smoothly and all the staff were brilliant and so helpful. We stayed in the four poster room with a jacuzzi bath. The room was spacious enough for myself and 3 bridesmaids to get ready in.

Would recommend this place to anyone wanting a perfect wedding/stay.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Very many thanks for your recent review, it's great ro read that you enjoyed your day so much and that you found your room to be spacious and comfortable.

once again

Thank you

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Had Sunday lunch here on 10 February 2013. Menu has good choices and caters for all tastes including the traditional. Food was first class and there was lots of it. Staff very attentive but not pushy. Highly recommend eating here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Very many thanks for your kind review, it's great that you enjoyed your meal and the service when you visited for Sunday Lunch, I will make sure each of the staff are aware of your comments

Once again, many thanks

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I were married at the Hotel late last year, and we can't speak highly enough of everyone and everything concerned. The venue was first class, and set out perfectly. All the staff were great and couldn't do enough for us. They looked after us from the day we booked our Wedding until the morning after the Ceremony. We agreed with Rob as the Co-Ordinator how and when we wanted everything to go. It was great that the whole day felt really relaxed, and we didn't feel constrained by time. Rob was always to hand but never rushed us, and the day just really flowed!
The ceremony was great, the food was great, and it was really appreciated that the staff set up the room again for us the next morning so that we could all eat breakfast together. We had a fantastic Wedding day, and the Ashbourne contributed to that!

Thank you for everything you did to make our day special

Paul and Kelly Speight

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Thank you very much for the review on your wedding it's great to know that you enjoyed your day, I have passed on your thanks to Rob and the Team.

Thank You

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Killingholme
20.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
13.3 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
11.4 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
8.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 8 in Cleethorpes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Hotel

Property: Ashbourne Hotel
Address: Vicarage Lane, North Killingholme DN40 3JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > North Killingholme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Killingholme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem amidst the major routes. Standing proud in North Killingholme. The Ashbourne Hotel sits peacefully opposite the village green and church, yet offers the busy traveller easy access to major routes such as the A180, M18, M1 and Humberside International Airport. Beginning life as a traditional Lincolnshire farmhouse, the Ashbourne Hotel has now been transformed, through exquisitely executed extensions and refurbishment, into a beautifully presented hotel, featuring an elegant, enclosed courtyard and surrounding lawn. Traditional mix with state-of-the-art services. Discovered down a delightful, winding country lane, the hotel reveals a mix of sympathetically restored traditional features with exciting contemporary innovations. Attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel; from the careful replication of long-established brickwork to ensuring fast Internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne Hotel North Killingholme, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing