We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Quality”
Review of Ashbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbourne Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Great place to stay! Treated my wife to a night here and really enjoyed the break. The meal we had was top quality (staff were a little humourless, but with catering for a large wedding party as well, I would be) and my wife had one of the tastiest steaks my taste buds have ever touched. Only drawback was the uncontrollable heat of the room. We were in the 400 series rooms that (apparently) were badly designed and were heated by utility hot water pipes. It almost got unbearable at one stage and thought that, even with the windows open, the complimentary water would evaporate. But the general quality and comfort of the room compensated for this and it was one of the most restful night’s sleep I’ve had. We were still full from the meal so we ditched the breakfast but were asked if we wanted a breakfast “to go”, hospitality at its finest. I never expected the grim area of refineryland to have such a gem.

Room Tip: not the 400 series
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmanhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review and and all of your positive comments, The 400 rooms do have hot water provided to the bathrooms 24 hours per day so this may have caused the high temperature in the room, I will look into this and see if we can install some kind of insulation to prevent the heat from the pipes increasing the room temperature.

Once again very many thanks for your review

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Ashbourne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband and I returned to this fantastic hotel. I would give it more than 5 rating if I possibly could. The hotel is stunning, the food is out of this world and the staff are wonderful. Again Rob, you go the extra mile and then some. You are very professional yet are endearing to be around. You always have a smile and a can do attitude. Nothing is too much trouble. I will be returning very soon to this little piece of heaven that my husband and I have come to love. Again thank you to all the staff that made our stay fabulous. (oh but I seem to have gained a few too many pounds but it was worth it) xxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Very many thanks for your kind review of your Anniversary meal, I will make sure that Rob and the team are aware of your comments

Thank You

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We visited for a after wedding lunch. The weather was very hot so we were able to sit on the patio area until it was time for lunch. We had an are of the restaurant which was a bit cramped, but adequate for our needs. The starter was delivered in a bit of a haphazard way, but the food itself was good. Main course was delicious. I was quite happy with my meal.
The drinks at the bar were really expensive which restricted the amount that we purchased.
We sat outside for a further hour or so before leaving.
There was another much bigger wedding party, which meant there wasn't much room to move especially during the photos, but there was a good atmosphere generally.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank IanRedditch_Worc_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Many thanks for your recent review of the Lunch you attended at the Ashbourne Hotel, regrettably it was a little cramped, however the guests who made the booking were made aware how tight it would be when they initially made the booking (this was because we already had a wedding booked, which you refer to in your review) , but they were happy to go ahead, we wouldn't of taken the booking if we couldn't fit you all in as this would not have been fair to your party. However the day before the lunch the numbers in your party increased even further so we had no option but to make the most of the space we had available, we did try and make it as comfortable as we possibly could.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and your overall experience wasn't spoiled by the points mentioned in your review

best regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We had our civil wedding, Meal and night do here what fantastic service. The staff and food are excellent A big special mention to Rob who did an amazing job throughout even though he made my wife cry. Lol

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasondenton77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Very many thanks for the review of your recent wedding at the Ashbourne Hotel, I have passed on your comments to Rob and the rest of the team

Thank you

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

From the lack of a friendly welcome at reception, to staff who don't engage with their customers, it's the people who work here who make the difference. There is a bizarre bistro which has no atmosphere at all and my room 304which had an extremely heavy and sharp edged chandelier directly mounted very low over the bed edge where you walk to the bathroom ( getting up in the dark and hitting your head).

Breakfast was on par for a high 2* or 3* hotel. Having read on TA that they did freshly squeezed orange juice ( it's an option on their menu) the waitress tried to fob me off with the concentrate on the table. Despite there only being 3 of us there, the staff were totally in attentive- only clearing dished when they couldn't put fresh ones down.

Food at dinner was good, but once again, the staff didn't appear to want to be here, didn't have any customer focused skills- apart from the food, it was a blah experience. Only the receptionist when we checked out made any attempt to be friendly.

Sir, customers have a choice and based on this experience, I won't be back.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Flhrcitwotone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Many thanks for your review, It does genuinely surprise me that you found the staff to be unfriendly, a comment that is not common in feedback I receive from other guests, in fact it is often the service and friendly staff that I get good feedback on, I do however take your comments very seriously and will follow up on each of the points you have made. I hope that should you choose to give the Ashbourne Hotel another try that you will have a better experience on your second visit.

Many thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had our civil service and reception here at the end of March. It was a fantastic day and lots of our guests commented on how delicious the food was. We would like to thank Rob and all of the staff involved for working very hard all day and evening. Everything ran smoothly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Can I just say very many thanks for the review of your wedding at the Ashbourne Hotel, it's fantastic to read that you enjoyed your day, I have passed on your comments to all involved.

Very best regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I recently held a charity function for 140 guests at the Ashbourne hotel, and what a night. The food and venue are second to none, but the staff are amazing! Nothing was too much trouble. Especially Rob and Andrew, everyone at this event has commented on how great the service and food were. Thank you for everything :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loubwev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

It's great to know that your event was a success and that everyone enjoyed their evening so much, I will pass on your thanks to Rob and the rest of the

very many thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Killingholme
20.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
13.4 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
11.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
297 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
8.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Hotel

Address: Vicarage Lane, North Killingholme DN40 3JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > North Killingholme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Killingholme
Price Range: £91 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem amidst the major routes. Standing proud in North Killingholme. The Ashbourne Hotel sits peacefully opposite the village green and church, yet offers the busy traveller easy access to major routes such as the A180, M18, M1 and Humberside International Airport. Beginning life as a traditional Lincolnshire farmhouse, the Ashbourne Hotel has now been transformed, through exquisitely executed extensions and refurbishment, into a beautifully presented hotel, featuring an elegant, enclosed courtyard and surrounding lawn. Traditional mix with state-of-the-art services. Discovered down a delightful, winding country lane, the hotel reveals a mix of sympathetically restored traditional features with exciting contemporary innovations. Attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel; from the careful replication of long-established brickwork to ensuring fast Internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Ashbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne Hotel North Killingholme, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing