We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, style and class with a smile!”
Review of Ashbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashbourne Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

When away on business I often find it hard to locate the 'perect' stopover. A place that gives you everything you need for business in a professional manner yet also makes you feel relaxed and super comfortable whilst staying away from home. The Ashbourne hotel gets the balance just right! Infact, perfect. Rooms are modern, trendy and simplistic giving you a stress free feel yet a very comforting nights sleep. Obviously recently renovated/built as the bathrooms are superb. Then the restaurant has a savvy, classy feel but not even in the slightest bit pretentious for dining alone, with a warm welcoming feel - which is hard to find. Would be lovely to dine there romantically with my wife it I wasn't on business. The food is also excellent, the paella to die for and steaks up there with the best around. The outdoor area is very relaxing and looks fantastic. The staff are smiling permanently, in a genuine way as thought they are happy to be there for you. Just spot on. As a senior contributer to trip advisor and a lover of all things fine, I have have stayed in some outstanding venues and although this may not be the very best - there is something about the Ashbourne hotel that hits a few buttons for me. Lovely place. Highly suggest as say here, even if working/visiting the area of Hull. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Good Evening, thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Ashbourne Hotel, I will pass on your comments to each of the staff, I know that it gives them a lift when they read reviews such as yours

very many thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

An absolutely fantastic time was had by all. The hotel itself is amazing, by far the best. The food is outstanding and the staff are amazing.
I stayed the night before the wedding, which was the first time staying over. The room was great with lots of room to get ready in. The breakfast was brilliant, plenty of choice and it was very quick to arrive on our table.

The wedding itself was fantastic. Rob Walton was our Wedding Co-ordinator. To say he deals with weddings several times a week, we never once felt like we were, just another couple getting married. He made us feel special from beginning to end. We only had to ask and it was done.
Everything was planned exact, there were no problems, that we could see anyway!

It was truly a very special day and we have Andrew, Rob and their team to thank for that.

Thank you so much,

Mr & Mrs Allenby
18th August 2013

Room Tip: If looking for a room to get ready in for your big day, room 305 (family room) was great. It had dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelAllenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Very many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your wedding at the Ashbourne Hotel, it's great to know that you had such a great day, I have passed on your comments to Rob and the rest of the team

Thank You

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

July, our third consecutive annual reunion at the Ashbourne, replacing Ramada Jarvis (Hull) for sleeping and Lawns (University of Hull) for dining. 90 people - multi-choice menu - £39 a head for 3 courses and a half bot. of wine pp. Astounding quality of food (never had better roast beef in my 68 years), service beyond compare. V.G. audio/visual kit for the reunion. Best 'Event' Hotel I've been to so far. If you do have a w/e event in the Hull area you won't find a better venue. If you do spend a few days here - do not miss a lunch time buffet at the Amethyst Hotel, just down the road at East Halton.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winelovernumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Can I just say thank you very much for your recent review of the Ashbourne Hotel, it was fantastic to have you all here back for a third year, sometimes it is difficult to live up to peoples expectations built on previous experience, however it is great to read that this years reunion was as good as the previous 2.

very many thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We got married here and it was definitely the perfect choice! Rob and Andrew were brilliant every step of the way, my mum fired various questions at Rob and he took it all in his stride. After booking, we had various overnight stays and meals and everytime we went, the staff, service, rooms and food were all 5*+. In the run up to our wedding day we were kept fully informed and any questions we had were never too much trouble. A special mention to Amanda and Harriet who were brilliant and the lady who put our cake together (very friendly and did a great job!) The day before our wedding we went for drinks and again, all staff were friendly and accommodating to our large group. On the day of our wedding Rob kept us watered (definitely needed) and everything went as we were told it would - perfectly. Guests were held off from the room so we could check it and see it first and canapes were saved for us as we arrived later than the guests. We had guests staying for 3 nights and guests from Canada, Scotland and Kent and everybody commented on how the hotel had been brilliant and they had felt looked after. Overall we are very grateful to all staff - especially Rob and Andrew who always made sure everything was just right. We will definitely be back over and over again! Thank you. Jess and Ben.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Very many thanks for the review of your recent wedding and previous experience of meals at the Ashbourne Hotel, I have passed on your comments to Rob and the rest of the Staff


very many thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The ashbourne was the wedding venue for my daughters big day. Nothing was too much trouble. The service was faultless for the entire stay. Rob who organised and took care of the arrangements was 1st class. Well done... You should be truly proud of yourselves for the commitment and attention to detail. Very happy customers. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandie1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, I will make sure all of the staff are aware of your comments

many thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend took me here for a romantic evening. The rooms were extremely nice and clean. The service and food however was another story. Lunch was terrible. Service was very slow. We waited nearly 35 minutes for our starter which was a prawn coctail. Then we waited a further 30 minutes for our main course to be brought to us. The lasagne was aweful dry and on the verge of burnt. The beef was nice. We ordered a side seaser salad which had some smelly fish drapped over the top which completely ruined it - ive never heard of fish on a seaser salad. Anyway was very expensive. Nearly £40 for 1 prawn coctail starter, burnt and dry lasagnes, passable beef, side salad and 2 cokes...... aweful! Will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Thank you for your recent review regarding your lunch last Saturday, obviously i am really sorry that you didn't enjoy your meals, the fish you mentioned on your Caesar Salad is Anchovy, we would have been more than happy to serve you a Caesar Salad without the Anchovy.

It does dent our pride a little when we receive negative comments as I normally get positive feedback on meals served. please be assured we do aim to please and would have been more than happy to exchange any part (or all) of your meal had you brought it to the attention of the staff at the time that you felt your meal was below standard.

I understand you don't wish to return however I would be extremely grateful if you would contact me via email asmith@ashbournehotel.co.uk if you would be happy to send me a contact number so I can call you to discuss your experience when you visited.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and I look forward to discussing these issues with you,

very many thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Where do I start!! We booked the wedding at the Ashbourne Hotel 2 years ago and Jess and Ben's big day took place on the 9th August. We fell in love with the venue from the minute we walked through the door and in the build up to their wedding we experienced some wonderful nights out enjoying fabulous food.

The day from start to finish was amazing from the staff, the outstanding 4 course meal, the quality of the rooms, the disco - well - EVERYTHING was so perfect.

Planning the wedding took so much organising but Rob, our wedding coordinator delivered a first class service from start to finish and made us all feel completely at ease ensuring everything ran smoothly.

Will look forward to returning many more times!!

Special thanks to Rob aswell as Andrew and the whole staff team who worked incredibly hard to ensure that the day was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Very many thanks for your kind comments about Jessica and Ben's wedding Day, I have already passed on your comments to the team and Rob in particular,

Once again, Many thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Killingholme
20.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
8.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
317 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Humberside Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Hotel

Address: Vicarage Lane, North Killingholme DN40 3JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > North Killingholme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Killingholme
Price Range: £75 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem amidst the major routes. Standing proud in North Killingholme. The Ashbourne Hotel sits peacefully opposite the village green and church, yet offers the busy traveller easy access to major routes such as the A180, M18, M1 and Humberside International Airport. Beginning life as a traditional Lincolnshire farmhouse, the Ashbourne Hotel has now been transformed, through exquisitely executed extensions and refurbishment, into a beautifully presented hotel, featuring an elegant, enclosed courtyard and surrounding lawn. Traditional mix with state-of-the-art services. Discovered down a delightful, winding country lane, the hotel reveals a mix of sympathetically restored traditional features with exciting contemporary innovations. Attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel; from the careful replication of long-established brickwork to ensuring fast Internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne Hotel North Killingholme, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing