We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Par”
Review of Ashbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbourne Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Below Par”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Not overly happy with our Sat eve meal, food ok, but not value for money, and staff not the cheeriest! No atmosphere in the restaurant and a very rowdy function. Staff could be more accommodating in making sure function guests do not disturb restaurant guests. We felt that the MD did not deal very well with our concerns with the meal, or give us much of a feeling of wanting to return. Shame as its a nice place and the food could be great if the dishes are a little more thought out, and the best ingredients used (not the scrag end of the sirloin!) Not sure we'll be in a hurry to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you taking the time to pass on your comments about your experience at the Ashbourne Hotel, we do understand when functions get a bit loud it can disturb other guest and we do our utmost to ensure that diners in the bistro are not disturbed.

That said it is great that following our telephone conversation, you are willing to give us another try and I am certain that you will be pleased that you did so.

Once again many thanks for your review

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    72
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
121
109
13
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

As our birthdays and anniversary fall over the Christmas period we usually don't celebrate them but this year I saw an advert for the hotel, £99 which included room evening meal and full breakfast. I have to say it was amazing everything from the room to the food to the staff was pure luxury, we could not fault anything. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Ashbourne Hotel, I am pleased that you both enjoyed your evening and found it to be value for money, I have passed on your comments to the staff

many thanks

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We was unsure on what do to this NYE so decided to go back to The Ashbourne (where we got married in June) and what a fab decision it was!
£55.00 a ticket for a beautiful 5 course meal and Masquerade ball, which for NYE i felt was fantastic value for money.
It was in the Beautiful Oak room which had been decorated for xmas and looked stunning.
Around 90 people came and everyone made an effort to look glamorous (including the staff)
my highlight of the night was the desert (anisette of Ashbourne Deserts which included white chocolate pot, panacotta and chocolate brownie) The DJ was also excellent providing a variety of music for all age ranges of guests.
The only one tiny tiny point i would like to add is maybe the ladies toilet doors could do with a lick of paint to freshen them up as they are starting to look a bit marked and dirty.
But as always thank you Ashbourne for another great evening.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Very many thanks for posting a review of your New Years Celebration at the Ashbourne Hotel, it's always great to customers return and it's fantastic to read that you were not disappointed, I have passed on your comments to the team

very best regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was a fantastic evening of delicious food and entertainment. The other guests were all very friendly and the staff and management were excellent. I cant wait to see who is in store for 2014 but i hope it is sooner than December.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Very many thanks for giving the Ashbourne a review of the Robbie Williams tribute night it's great to read that you had such a good night, and yes we will be releasing our dates for 2014 shortly,

best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had our wedding at the Ashbourne Hotel in October 2013. The whole day was wonderful and everything that we could have wished for. Every little detail was taken care of and Rob was on hand and guided us both through the whole day. The whole team’s dedication to customer service is really amazing.
We really can not thank or recommend this venue enough. Friends have commented to us how good the food was and I must agree it really was first class. We had quite a number of guests with a range of different dietary requirements and all were catered with no fuss.

Thank you again to Rob for helping to make our day so special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
I would just like to say thank you for posting a review of your wedding at the Ashbourne Hotel, it's great to know that you enjoyed your day, I have passed on your comments to Rob and the rest of the Team

best regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Never stayed but would do having seen the hotel and rooms. The Christmas party night with a Tom Jones tribute act was great fun and I never thought I was a Tom Jones fan. The room was tastefully decorated as were the tables and around 90 people were in attendance. The food was served quickly and hot and was all of good quality with every one on the table happy with their choices. The hotel chose a quality act and disco and the bar service was quick and not too expensive for a hotel. We intend to book with friends again for this year 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Many thanks for your recent review of our Tom Jones tribute night, it's great to read your kind comments and that each of your party enjoyed both their meals and the evening in general, we look forward to seeing you again in 2014

very best regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had our wedding reception here in June 2012 and could not rate it high enough the hotel was perfect in every way rob and his team do an amazing job to look after me and my husband and all our guest like we were part of the family great value for money he rooms are lovely and clean the food is amazing highly recommend for weddings and other functions or for a lovely meal or night away x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyandjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your wedding at the Ashbourne Hotel, I have passed on your comments to Rob and the rest of the team

best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Killingholme
20.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
13.3 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
11.4 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
8.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 8 in Cleethorpes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Hotel

Property: Ashbourne Hotel
Address: Vicarage Lane, North Killingholme DN40 3JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > North Killingholme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Killingholme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem amidst the major routes. Standing proud in North Killingholme. The Ashbourne Hotel sits peacefully opposite the village green and church, yet offers the busy traveller easy access to major routes such as the A180, M18, M1 and Humberside International Airport. Beginning life as a traditional Lincolnshire farmhouse, the Ashbourne Hotel has now been transformed, through exquisitely executed extensions and refurbishment, into a beautifully presented hotel, featuring an elegant, enclosed courtyard and surrounding lawn. Traditional mix with state-of-the-art services. Discovered down a delightful, winding country lane, the hotel reveals a mix of sympathetically restored traditional features with exciting contemporary innovations. Attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel; from the careful replication of long-established brickwork to ensuring fast Internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ashbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne Hotel North Killingholme, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing