We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel - in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Ashbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbourne Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I used this hotel whilst travelling with work and what a lovely surprise. It is only a 10 minute driver from Immingham docks and it is very well appointed. The rooms where great. Very spacious with a large double bed, tv, coffee facilities. The restaurant served good food and good English ales too :)

Not much in the area so you would need a car, but for the business traveller this is an excellent hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay at the Ashbourne Hotel, it great to know you find us conveniently situated and enjoyed our rooms, food and found our facilities to be all that you needed

thank you

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Ashbourne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the Ashbourne hotel in december as we held our work night there and we were extremely pleased with everything. The staff were very helpful on arrival to when we left the next morning. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were amazing, we stayed in the four poster room and it was lovely. the party night that we attended was also very good and the food was excellent. All of the other guests who attended with us were also very pleased.

We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The four poster room is lovely and a nice treat. but also the new block is meant to be nice as well.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACMC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Very many thanks for your kind comments on your Christmas Party, I will pass on your comments to staff I know they work very hard over the Christmas Period and it genuinely gives them a lift when we receive reviews like yours

Very many thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Booked for valentines day 1 night including a 3 course meal it was perfect was recommended from a wedding fayre and so glad we took them up on there offer highly recommended. So friendly and welcoming upgraded to an executive room for an extra £10 well worth it

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank vs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

It's great to read that you enjoyed your Valentines break with us, and that you found it to be value for money

Thank you for the review

very best regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Ashbourne last Saturday 8th February on the dinner bed and breakfast deal. We got married here last year and so thought we would go back for a 'date night' and the deal seemed such good value we decided it was worth staying the night. On arrival we checked in and made our way into the bar. They were quite busy with a 40th birthday but getting served was no problem. We sat with our drinks and after a few minutes Rob, the assistant manager and wedding organiser, spotted us and came over for a chat. After a couple of drinks we made our way up to the room. We upgraded to the executive room and as always were not disappointed. When we made our way down for dinner we found the function room had a large birthday party going on and there was also a large party, as well as a number of smaller ones, in the bistro but this didn't deter from the amazing service we have come to expect at the Ashbourne. We were told that the package we had booked included either a set 3 course meal or £25 per person from the main menu. Fantastic value considering it was only £99 for the dinner bed and breakfast and a bottle of wine!! I ate off the set menu and as always the food was magnificent and potion size not reduced, in fact I struggled with my main it was that big!! My husband had the fillet steak from the main menu. It was cooked exactly as he ordered and he remarked it was one of the best he has ever had. After a couple more drinks we retired for the night. The next morning we went down for breakfast to find Rob still there (does this man ever go home?!!). The waitress took our order for cooked food and told us to help ourselves to the continental choices. When our food was ready Rob served us. This small touch made us feel really special. Again the breakfat was cooked to perfection. On checking out we paid our bill and we're so surprised at how much we had got for our money. As always the Ashbourne gave us 5* quality without the price tag. The service here is what makes it so special for us. We had our wedding 8 months ago, some places wouldn't bother making us feel so special now they've had our money out of us but not the Ashbourne. Every time we visit it is still the same. So no doubt we will see you again very soon Rob, Andrew and all of the staff. We will look forward to it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gemandjoejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

many, many thanks for taking the time to give us such a thorough review, it's great to see you return and feel that you have been looked just as well as you remembered from your previous experience, I will pass on your comments to Rob and the rest of the team

many thanks

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here a few times and i cannot make any negitive comments, staff always friendly and a warm welcome every time i visit. If you blink driving past you would not see the hotel, a little gem hinden in a village near an Ind area. Food is good with a nice varity if there for a few days. Of all the hotels i have stayed in (some very expensive) this overall scores very high, well done to all and look forward to seing you again soon. :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H-Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for the review of your visits to the Ashbourne Hotel, it's really pleasing to know that you can not find anything negative to say about the hotel and that you have enjoyed each of your visits, and especially that you find the staff warm and welcoming, I will pass on your comments to each of the staff

thank you

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had a fab night out with a group of colleagues for our christmas celebrations. Staff were all friendly and did an excellent job. Meal was exceptionally good and would recommend this hotel to anybody. We've been here every year for the past 10+ years and never had a bad experience. Look forward to book for this year.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

It's great to read that you still enjoy each visit to the Ashbourne Hotel, and obviously we look forward to seeing you again next time

very best wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Not overly happy with our Sat eve meal, food ok, but not value for money, and staff not the cheeriest! No atmosphere in the restaurant and a very rowdy function. Staff could be more accommodating in making sure function guests do not disturb restaurant guests. We felt that the MD did not deal very well with our concerns with the meal, or give us much of a feeling of wanting to return. Shame as its a nice place and the food could be great if the dishes are a little more thought out, and the best ingredients used (not the scrag end of the sirloin!) Not sure we'll be in a hurry to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank amy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you taking the time to pass on your comments about your experience at the Ashbourne Hotel, we do understand when functions get a bit loud it can disturb other guest and we do our utmost to ensure that diners in the bistro are not disturbed.

That said it is great that following our telephone conversation, you are willing to give us another try and I am certain that you will be pleased that you did so.

Once again many thanks for your review

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Killingholme
20.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
13.4 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
11.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
296 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Hotel

Address: Vicarage Lane, North Killingholme DN40 3JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > North Killingholme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Killingholme
Price Range: £92 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem amidst the major routes. Standing proud in North Killingholme. The Ashbourne Hotel sits peacefully opposite the village green and church, yet offers the busy traveller easy access to major routes such as the A180, M18, M1 and Humberside International Airport. Beginning life as a traditional Lincolnshire farmhouse, the Ashbourne Hotel has now been transformed, through exquisitely executed extensions and refurbishment, into a beautifully presented hotel, featuring an elegant, enclosed courtyard and surrounding lawn. Traditional mix with state-of-the-art services. Discovered down a delightful, winding country lane, the hotel reveals a mix of sympathetically restored traditional features with exciting contemporary innovations. Attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel; from the careful replication of long-established brickwork to ensuring fast Internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Ashbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne Hotel North Killingholme, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing