We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Ashbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashbourne Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel for work for the last 2 years. Comfortable rooms, good food and helpful staff. The breakfast is really good and if you're off early they'll make you a pack up.

Food - Some items are expensive but the portions are big. Very tasty!

Rooms - Stayed in 3 of the 4 buildings and they are all comfortable and clean. The rooms in the main building can be noisy (if the person next to you is) but apart from that very good.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nige1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for placing a review of your recent stay at the Ashbourne Hotel, and I am certain you are aware you can always request a certain room or you preferred area of the hotel on making your reservation and we will do all that we can to assist,

Thank you

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    76
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
124
110
13
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

To be honest our expectations for this hotel were not high. We had booked as it is in the village where 550 squadron were stationed in WWII, the squadron my grandfather flew with. I can't say just how pleasantly surprised we were by this lovely hotel. The staff are friendly and efficient and so keen to help. We ate in the restaurant on 2 evenings and the food was wonderful with the exception of the mussels. The fillet steak was exceptionally good. Our room was finished to a high standard and my husband was thrilled to have a TV in the bathroom ( even though he didn't use it!). The hotel has ample parking and a really lovely courtyard garden. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.
The biggest surprise for us though was the other guests- we had by coincidence booked on the same weekend as the 550 squadron annual reunion! What a super bunch of people! They invited us to join their commemorative events and so we were able to attend the service in the church and at the memorial and also to enjoy 2 fly pasts of the Lancaster bomber. It was an emotional and special experience.

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 414 which was an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the review of your visit last weekend, it's great to know you enjoyed your stay and you got a chance to meet with some of the guests at the 550 Squadron reunion, and join some of their celebrations,

best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just completed our stay at the Ashbourne Hotel near Hull, Grimsby, and Immingham UK. My husband, teenage son and I shared a "family" room and found the service and facility excellent for this remote area. We are from the US and have travelled in Europe quite a bit. Our meals were well prepared and the breakfast (included w/ room) was a special treat. The staff were very nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NV_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to place a review about your recent stay, I will pass on you comments to all of the staff

Thank you

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here whilst attending a training course through work. So glad my work booked me in here! Lovely rural setting. The hotel is decorated with great taste. Rooms are very spacious with modern bathrooms inc rain shower. Docking station/hair dryer etc. I suggested disposable shower caps in bathroom as rain shower is huge and this was supplied almost immediately! Anything you need, they will get it for you! Restaurant is also tastefully decorated with excellent selection of well presented food. Breakfast room is bright with chill out music and good selection of food options. Small bar area which is comfy and a gorgeous courtyard with seats, patio heaters and lovely gardens. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I felt very comfortable and relaxed whilst staying away from home.

Room Tip: My room was a quiet room on the left in a block of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skywitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Very many thanks for the review of your time at the Ashbourne during your training course, it's always great to read that a guest has enjoyed their stay with us, I have passed on your comments to all of the staff

best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

what a great wedding venue nothing was to much trouble for the staff they made my daughter and her new husband feel extremely special everything run like clockwork and the day was just fantastic the food was excellent and very well presented The rooms spotless and comfortable and the location is idyllic

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
It's great to read that your daughter and son in law enjoyed their day, many thanks for your feedback, I will make sure all of the staff are aware

very many thanks

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just held our wedding at the Ashbourne on 31st May 2014!!! what an amazing day it was, everything was perfect! The staff are brillant, nothing is to much trouble for them especailly Rob and Ollie who looked after myself, my husband and all our guests from lunch time untill after midnight! we really cannot thank you enough, i can not reccommend this hotel enough either the food is 1st class everyone has commented on how lovely it was! the rooms were clean, spacious and modern and the breakfast the next morning was also brillant!

Overall! BRILLANT DAY! AMAZING STAFF, BEAUTIFUL HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssl19037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Very many thanks for your great review I will make sure Rob, Ollie and the rest of the team are aware of you comments, we are all really pleased that you enjoyed your day

very best wishes

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spent three nights here, upon arrival was upgraded to an executive room free of charge. Room was perfect couldn't find a single fault.

Breakfast was lovely, although you only got one small Lincolnshire sausage which was a bit disappointing as they should celebrate their local produce. My other half also ordered smoked haddock only to be told there wasn't any so he was a bit disappointed :( Other than that a good selection of cereals and juices plus a cooked breakfast.

Staff were very friendly and everywhere was spotless.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberleyanddarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Ashbourne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Many thanks for your recent review, great to read you enjoyed your stay with us, as you mentioned we do only put one sausage on the breakfast however, we are always happy to offer more on request.

Thank you

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Killingholme
20.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
8.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
13.3 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grimsby
406 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
284 reviews
6.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Hotel

Property: Ashbourne Hotel
Address: Vicarage Lane, North Killingholme DN40 3JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > North Killingholme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Killingholme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem amidst the major routes. Standing proud in North Killingholme. The Ashbourne Hotel sits peacefully opposite the village green and church, yet offers the busy traveller easy access to major routes such as the A180, M18, M1 and Humberside International Airport. Beginning life as a traditional Lincolnshire farmhouse, the Ashbourne Hotel has now been transformed, through exquisitely executed extensions and refurbishment, into a beautifully presented hotel, featuring an elegant, enclosed courtyard and surrounding lawn. Traditional mix with state-of-the-art services. Discovered down a delightful, winding country lane, the hotel reveals a mix of sympathetically restored traditional features with exciting contemporary innovations. Attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel; from the careful replication of long-established brickwork to ensuring fast Internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ashbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne Hotel North Killingholme, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing