We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Ashbourne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashbourne Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2010

What a pleasure to stay at Ashbourne Hotel. The room was spacious, beautifully decorated, modern, light and airy with everything you could need. The bathroom was equally a pleasure - spotless, nice toiletries, fluffy towels. The whole experience was excellent - just sorry we were too late for a meal. The bar staff were very friendly and served a decent pint (always a bonus). Can't praise everyone highly enough, having run a guest house in the past we found this to be second to none. Hotel well positioned for visiting Grimsby, Cleethorpes and surrounding area. Well done to all staff at The Ashbourne Hotel, from the minute of arrival to departure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2010

We went to the Ashbourne for one of their special events - Kings of Swing Cabaret and Dinner. The meal, five courses, was superb. Beautifully presented, courteous service and at £34.95, amazing value for money even without the very professional entertainment by Gary Grace. If anything spoiled it a little, it was the piped music which was unsuitable for that night and at 9pm was suddenly loud, over riding dinner conversation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Myself and my husband have just spent the evening at the wonderful Ashbourne hotel.
We have stayed before so chose to return as we had enjoyed it so much previously, and was we in for a treat.

The hotel has had a huge face lift, keeping all the original character to the building but giving it a contempory twist with lavish Brocade finishing touches.
We stayed in the new building where the rooms are contempory with very lush deep reds, greys, chocolate browns and the the highest bed I have ever slept on, it felt very luxurious. Soft cotton sheets and what seemed to be down quilts, we slept like babies.
The room itself had a large tv mounted in a very tasteful wall mount facing the bed, desk with over head lighting and a directional lamp which was ideal for applying make up. There is an Ipod docking station with remote, hair dryer with defuser and kettle with an array of goodies. There was also bottled spring and still water on a seperate table and chairs. Lovely feature lamp and contempory spot lighting giving the room a cosy feel. The ensuite was a fabulous walk in wet room with a huge shower head that was interchangeable, a towel warmer that was filled with thick white towels and lovely granite tops with a bowl style sink.

We arrived around 4pm so sat in the lovely courtyard with a drink and relaxed listening to the Cafe del mar piped music, it was reletively quiet at this time so the lovely gentleman on reception gave me a guided tour on the new part of the hotel. The main function room is beautiful. Bare oak beams (that you can smell as you enter the room), lavish wall paper and matching curtains, giant brocade mirros and vases fulled with white roses and a chandelier centre stage that is breathtaking, doors opening out to a private courtyard with outdoor sofas, table and chairs, mood lighting, carefully picked greenery and even a retractable canopy. We chose to eat in this room later that evening and also took part in the sunday night quiz. because we liked it so much.
Then theres the bar and bistro area, again with the same colour scheme and lavishnous thats carried through the whole hotel, there is a real attention to detail, I sound like I'm selling it but it really is beautiful. The bistro and bar looks out onto the courtyard that was there before however it is now filled with the same outdoor sofa, table and chairs, huge modern water feature that gives a relaxing sound to your afternoon drink, again, carefully planting of grasses, agapathas, lavender and similar look beautuful against the grey slate, painted low walls and blue lighing. Its like a dermote make over!
I will just finish off with the food, and it's certainly last but not least! It was a very varied menu that would suit any palate (and pocket!), local game, steak, curry's, fish etc, the menu went over 3 pages with Special's too, my husband chose cremed mushrooms to start, where as I chose the Pate, both were delicious, then Lamb shank, that you could have eated with a spoon it was so tender and I had the Game and whiskey pie. The portions were huge and it was so good, we struggled to make room for pudding (but we had a good go!!) We finished with Raspberry Brulee and my predictable husband had the Ice cream. We took ourselves off to bed that night very happy people. We didn't have wine but I did look at the list and it was very varied and well priced.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Ashbourne and will definatley be returning sooner rather than later.
I think it will suit any age group because it has such a lovely feel, the staff are fantastic, a mixture of young and old but all seemed happy and were really chatty. The girl that did the quiz, who also served us for breakfast,(which I forgot to mention was a feast of local produce and even had smoked Grimsby haddock and poached egg on the menu, my dad would have been in his element), was so lovely, she even complemented us on our poor score from the quiz, bless her.
All in all a wonderful, special place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanny_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed here to attend a friend wedding and found it to be lovely the rooms where large, clean and comfortable. our only camplaint would be that its in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSteede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

This Hotel has everything clean comfortable rooms, wonderful food, friendly helpful staff and peace and quiet, they are especially helpful when you are a female traveling alone and make you feel extremely secure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My youngest daughter had her wedding reception here on 1 August 2009, and throughout the whole period of planning, preparation and the event itself, the staff, especially Rob Andrew, our liaison, was very concerned to make her day exactly what she wanted. They were willing to go the extra mile for us, and it was well worth our travelling the extra mile to get there! The chef was lovely, and also willing to help with menu changes we required. The rooms were superb, and the only small criticism would be that since it was wet, there was not much room to move out of the function area while the tables were moved for the evening without being in the way of the waiting staff for the bar. Even so, they were extremely considerate and patient with us. The rooms are very comfortable and I would recommend this hotel and the restaurant wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haggis253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

The Ashbourne is a beautiful hotel in the village of North Killingholme which is a picturesque village in North East Lincs. I stayed here as I was visiting family. The hotel is so quaint and the rooms are very modern (if a little small). I found the staff unimposing and friendly. The food here is excellent, the bar meals are very nice and the breakfast is super. The bar (recently renovated) is top class and not over priced at all. It’s a lovely place to meet people and have a drink and also perfect is you are traveling alone. The bar is small in size which gives it a friendly feel. The courtyard at the back of the hotel is beautiful and it’s lovely to sit outside at any time of year because of the heat lamps. I was sad to leave the Ashbourne and I’m looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britbird81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Killingholme
20.2 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
8.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
317 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Humberside Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbourne Hotel

Address: Vicarage Lane, North Killingholme DN40 3JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > North Killingholme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Killingholme
Price Range: £75 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashbourne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem amidst the major routes. Standing proud in North Killingholme. The Ashbourne Hotel sits peacefully opposite the village green and church, yet offers the busy traveller easy access to major routes such as the A180, M18, M1 and Humberside International Airport. Beginning life as a traditional Lincolnshire farmhouse, the Ashbourne Hotel has now been transformed, through exquisitely executed extensions and refurbishment, into a beautifully presented hotel, featuring an elegant, enclosed courtyard and surrounding lawn. Traditional mix with state-of-the-art services. Discovered down a delightful, winding country lane, the hotel reveals a mix of sympathetically restored traditional features with exciting contemporary innovations. Attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel; from the careful replication of long-established brickwork to ensuring fast Internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashbourne Hotel North Killingholme, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing