We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time with grandchildren”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kelling Heath

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weybourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kelling Heath
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“First time with grandchildren”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We chose Kelling Heath for a two night break last week - our first time away with grandchildren aged 8 and nearly 11. It is not far from our Norwich home so we did not have to drive the motorhome through hours of 'Are we nearly there yet?' Unfortunately we picked two days of wet, stormy weather but despite this had a great time. Kelling Heath is well presented, good sized flat pitches, nowhere is far from the central 'Village' area where we were greeted by friendly staff at a modern reception area. It was too cold for us to go into the outdoor pool although some hardy children seemed to be having a good time! One major downside is that in order to go in the indoor spa pool area you have to pay A LOT of money for day passes - and as our 8 year old would probably have only tolerated 30 minutes before wanting to move on, we did not think it worth it. Maybe if you had teenagers and a longer visit it might be worth indulging for a full day. The evening restaurant bar and entertainment made up for this however, as we enjoyed the ambience, the beer and the excellent meal, while the kids played endlessly and energetically on the children's play area. My husband watched Dave Doughnut doing his magic stuff for the little kids (our two totally ignored him!) and thought him hilarious! We all enjoyed the great live music provided by 'All Stars' which began after nine, meaning that after we had suitably embarrassed our grandchildren by dancing together (at our age!), we all stayed up until gone eleven! The next morning we loved catching the North Norfolk Railway train (the Poppy Line) to Sheringham on the coast. Kelling Heath has its own Halt, a tiny platform with a terrific view of the coastline, where you have to 'hail' the train for it to stop! Sheringham is a super little town, sad about the torrential rain shortly after we arrived, but as we were browsing a sweet shop at the time we didn't mind too much being stuck there for a good twenty minutes! Walking on the beach, a pub lunch, and back on the steam train in 'Harry Potter coaches' to the beautiful market town of Holt for some high class grocery shopping, and then the final six minute ride back to Kelling. We arrived in strong gusty winds which made the uphill approach path through swaying woodland quite an adventure! More of the same in the Restaurant area in the evening, although we did cook for ourselves in the van that night, as the meal the evening before was good but not cheap, but this time with the Sheringham Shanty men singing sea songs of old! We did sleep well, despite the wind, unlike many of those under canvas and we left the next morning - just missing the 10 o clock curfew by 15 minutes.... a little early we felt for check out with kids on board. Frankly our short stay and awful weather meant we did not get our full value for the quite expensive pitch, but for families on a longer stay in decent weather the camp is certainly recommendable.

Room Tip: All the pitches are well positioned for the washrooms and central village area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhyllidaNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    111
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
256
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leics
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had a lovely family break here. What really impressed us was the friendly, efficient management of the site but without the list of rules you sometimes get with sites in England. Everyone respected the quiet time which added to the relaxed feel. Facilities were great plenty of loos and showers and entertainment if you wanted it. The walks round the heath and woods were lovely and getting the steam train to Sheringham from the station at the edge of the site is recommended. Sheringham lovely traditional seaside town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
braintree
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Mum Dad and 2 boys 10 & 6 and one small dog in a tent. very nice camp great for walks cycling, felt very safe. Toilets blocks very clean. had one meal in the resturant, not the cheapest for a campsite, but fantastic food, so well worth the money. Good outdoor swimming pool with life gaurds, but at peak times limited to 11/2 hours use. lots for the kids to do bat walks moth hunting, pond dipping etc. local bands play in bar and "village square" This camp site is very very dark at night so great for star gazing on a clear night.
If I had 1 critisim all the tents are in very regimental lines and not around a field where you can watch the kids play.
All in all a great campsite to which we will return

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonBraintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was my first camping experience. Our party was 4 adults, 3 kids and 2 dogs over two pitches. I was very impressed with the campsite and the facilities. The toilets and showers were very clean.

I enjoyed walking round early morning with the dog. The grounds are stunning and very tidy.

We went to Weybourne beach which is pebble and dog friendly but we also went to Cromer and there is an area on that beach where dogs are allowed on the lead and was a sandy beach which the kids enjoyed more. We were very lucky to have glorious sunshine and 30 degrees heat!

Didn't do too many local walks - we the heat we had it was just too hot for the kids and dogs but from driving around there looks to be plenty in the local area.

Kelling Heath was very relaxing and friendly and I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Very good campsite - large pitches for touring caravans. Masses to do on campsite and around area - only two downsides if you are in Red Squirrel area. Had to queue to wash up as only limited sinks and the water was not really hot enough. There are only three showers each for Men and women in this area - so queuing again! Red Squirrel seems to be the largest area but with the smallest shower and washing up block - I did ask when this block would be upgraded but not in the foreseeable future I was told. It didn't dampen our holiday but I think upgrading in the Red Squirrel area should be a priority - we caravan a lot in Europe and have never had to queue for a shower.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LAMLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Super camp site with lots going on for the kids - a great introduction to camping. We had a large pitch which was ample for our 8-man tent. Toilets/shower blocks were all excellent and there were always staff buzzing around keeping things tidy and clean. Plenty of facilities; shop, pub, cafe, adventure playground, organised activities etc. we didn't used the leisure facilities (indoor pool and spa) because they were quite expensive and the kids were happy to swim in the sea but there is also a cheaper indoor pool in nearby Sheringham. North Norfolk railway stops on site which was a highlight for our youngest who is train mad. The village centre had a good atmosphere - we ate there twice and listened to live music. Food was the usual pub fayre and slightly pricey but reasonable quality. Excellent location with easy access to Cromer, Sheringham and Holt - wonderful beaches nearby. Only lesson for next time would be to try and book activities in advance - we would have loved to go kayaking but they were fully booked even though we tried to book on our first morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

So much to say really. Just a great place for kids, both in terms of facilities and also location. Its a proper little chill out zone and the kids had a great time - we had a great time too knowing they were safe and secure on the site.
There is a great atmosphere that Kellingheath creates for its guests which means you end up talking to people you wouldnt normally talk to, particularly in the square over a beer.
Their desire to maintain the quality of the site can be seen in the way security is handled and in the way problems with accomodation etc are dealt with quickly.

If you want a holiday in England and have kids, please give this a try

Room Tip: the lodges are great and allow for good weather and bad. Very well equipped and very quiet as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weybourne
1.1 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.0 mi away
MerryHill Country Park
MerryHill Country Park
#1 of 1 in Honingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
7.0 mi away
White Horse Farm
White Horse Farm
#1 of 3 in Holt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelling Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelling Heath

Property: Kelling Heath
Address: Sandy Hill Lane, Weybourne NR25 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Weybourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Weybourne
Hotel Class:5 star — Kelling Heath 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelling Heath Holiday Park is set amongst 270 acres of woodland and rare open heathland; in in an area of outstanding natural beauty close to Weybourne which is situated on the North Norfolk coast. A wonderful environment in which you can relax and enjoy a wide range of activities with your family and friends. Hire Woodland Lodges, luxury caravan holiday homes or bring your own touring caravan or tent. A range of facilities and environmental activities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kelling Heath Hotel Weybourne
Kelling Heath Norfolk/Weybourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing