We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costly camping!”
Review of Kelling Heath

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weybourne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kelling Heath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Kelling Heath is a very attractive site, and is very well laid out for campers and tourers alike, with large pitches providing plenty of space.
Our only negative of the touring area were the bad manners of other campers (about thirty people sharing one row of pitches who seemed to think they were at Glastonbury, not North Norfolk), which of course can not reflect upon the proprietors.

The toilet and shower facilities were in good order and clean.

The site itself is beautiful and set in a stunning location. The on site shop is well stocked and reasonably priced.

Overall, this was an fairly enjoyable experience. Our only real complaints are similar to what other reviewers have mentioned:
Expensive pitch prices (we decided to leave early due to bad weather, and stayed in a travelodge for the final night of our holiday, which cost less than one night camping!)
Forge and terrace poorly staffed (waited over 15 minutes to be serve at the bar on two occasions, despite being next! Staff completely unrepentant!)
Other leisure facilities prohibitively priced

All in all, I would say we're unlikely to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank antpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Kelling Heath
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a very well laid out site that has all the facilities one has come to expect from a modern site.
On our short stay we found the toilets and showers clean and perfectly functional. it was a busy weekend (Easter) but there were no issues with using any of the amenities.

the site shop is well stocked with local produce at reasonable prices and the staff friendly and helpful.

The only real fly in the ointment is the overall cost of staying and the fact that there is additional cost to a lot of the facilities. We use touring sites for a break every month, and this is by far the most expensive. If the cost included the swimming pool and other areas then perhaps it would be more justifiable but unfortunately this is not the case.

It's a local site to us and there is plenty to do with all the walks, cycle tracks and the wonderful railway so the chances are we will return but, if other sites can have similar facilities at a considerably more reasonable prices then why can't Kelling?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed in one of the luxury holiday homes (large caravan) called Nightjar. We have been holidaying here for many years and have never been dissapointed. The caravans are replaced every 3 years so you know you will not be staying in a tired, overused property. The new Nightjars have been improved so that there are now 2 showers as well as 2 toilets and washbasins - brilliant when 2 couples are sharing as we do. The beds were really comfortable and everything you need is available. Staff can't be more helpful and when our kettle would not work we made a call to reception and we had a new one brought to us before we had managed to boil a saucepan of water for our cuppa! The whole site is an AONB of glorious woods and heathland. Plenty of space to walk, ride bikes etc. or simply relax and watch the world go by and recharge your batteries. There is also onsite indoor swimming pool, gym and restaurants etc. We will hopefully be continuing our yearly visits for many more years to come.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both Holiday Homes and Lodges - all are immaculate and roomy.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAPPYLASS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It has taken a while to get round to writing this review, but the experience was so good that I have no trouble remembering it.
As a family we were camping in 2 tents, and found the touring/camping area nicely laid out with plenty of room for everyone.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, and we felt very welcomed.
The Village Square with tables and benches laid out was a wonderful place to sit around on a summer evening, listening to the groups and bands perform, whilst enjoying a pint. The bonus was that during our stay there was a beer festival going on.
Loos and showers were fine, with plenty of hot water, and we're kept nice and clean.
If you are a steam train fan it even has it's own Halt on the local Heritage Line.
Although it is a long drive to get there we will certainly be visiting again..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peterg999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Beautiful scenery, nice and quiet, lovely amenities, accommodation. Shop/bar etc on site.
We arrived on the Monday and left on Friday,didnt use the car. We walked/biked or went on the steam train.
Absolutely wonderful escape. Will be going back that's for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 4 nights in a Turn Holiday home with the in-law's. We all had a lovely time. The accommodation was great. It had everything you could need and the beds were really comfortable.

The site is stunning and so peaceful but I think it would be a different story in high season. There are lots of walks which take you through the heath and woodlands. We hired a bike for a day and we had plenty of different routes to take.

We ate 4 times in the restaurant and I cannot agree with any of the negative comments others have made. All the meals we had were very good and service was attentive. They really play on local ingredients. Vegetarians are well catered foor too.

We hope return again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Even though We only live in Norwich Kelling Heath really was an escape. A great place to kick back and relax. Being a nature lover, It was lovely to see the red squirrels. The trails were a great way to see the rest of the park, we even saw muntjac deer!
In the evening we headed over to the bar for an evening meal which was lovely! The staff were very attentive and polite we didn't have to ask for anything, It had a really had a great atmosphere.
On Sunday there was a farmers a market with lots of local produce such a ales, chilli sauces and Savory treats! we popped into the shop and there was a wide variety of local products and gifts, there was even a chocolate tasting! all the staff were very bubbly and chatty. We then went over to the bar for a Sunday roast, again brilliant service, and hats off to the chef!
The only disappointment to our stay was having to leave....
I will be recommending to everyone! See you again very soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissMay1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weybourne
1.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
632 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
742 reviews
22.2 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 3 in Holt
228 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,341 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelling Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelling Heath

Address: Sandy Hill Lane, Weybourne NR25 7HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Weybourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Weybourne
Hotel Class:5 star — Kelling Heath 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelling Heath Holiday Park is set amongst 270 acres of woodland and rare open heathland; in in an area of outstanding natural beauty close to Weybourne which is situated on the North Norfolk coast. A wonderful environment in which you can relax and enjoy a wide range of activities with your family and friends. Hire Woodland Lodges, luxury caravan holiday homes or bring your own touring caravan or tent. A range of facilities and environmental activities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kelling Heath Hotel Weybourne
Kelling Heath Norfolk/Weybourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing