We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maltings Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandcliff Guest House(Cromer)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromer Country Club by Diamond Resorts(Cromer)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea Marge Hotel(Overstrand)
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
11
20
10
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
20
10
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprice bracketstayed two nightsthe pubdognorfolkhosts
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Maltings is a pleasant step back in time. My room was old fashioned but very clean, very comfortable, big and in good order. No shower, but piping hot water immediately available for the bath. The owners are friendly, looked after me well and there was a nice relaxed feeling about the place. The evening meal was good and I will certainly go back there again.
The 'main road' on which the hotel is to be found was not noticed at all. There is a good village corner shop (and mini café) just down the road for sandwiches etc for the daytrips, plus a pub with good beer (the Ship) and the pebbley beach is a short walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Ok so if you are looking for an impersonal generic modern run of the mill hotel don't stay here.
If you are looking for a charming quaint family run hotel with character then this is the place for you.
Ross and Andrew are charming owners who take the time to chat with their guests and get to know them. They are very much aware of the flaws of the hotel but the flaws give the place character. The rooms are spotless and the hotel smells like a hotel rather than the pungent smell of bleach that normally meets you when you go into a "modern" hotel.
My partner and I took the dog and the location was brilliant as was the reception we and she got. Dogs are permitted in the local pub as well as the maltings itself and there are plenty of beautiful walks to keep you busy.
The price of the rooms is fantastic for that area and great value for money and we will most definitely be going back

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thisisjcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I were delighted to find a hotel that defined so well what we enjoy about about holidaying in Norfolk, a place practically untouched by the dreary homogenisation of most hotels we've stayed in in recent years. Yes, if you're after you're average modern hotel stay, then maybe the Maltings isn't for you, but if you are after a quaint, family run business with buckets of heart; one that really speaks of its location, then this is the place. We'll definitely be staying again. Our dog loved it too!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulhykel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

What an unexpected surprise to find a hotel like this. Yes it I not clinical like many places I have stayed in and could do with some refurbishment but my stay was fun and the 2 brothers that own it very interesting to talk to and most helpful. Dogs made most welcome also and it is located within a short walk of the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

If I had to come up with two words to describe the Maltings, they would be 'terminally tired'. Given the potential of the location and the building itself, this place is a let-down. You just cannot advertise yourself as a hotel, and not even make a minimal effort to provide a reasonable standard of comfort for guests.The place has obviously not been rewired for decades; the fuse-board outside our bedroom looked antique - valves and all. The bathrooms were depressing, and that is being generous - no shower, nowhere to put even a toothbrush. Linen and towels were clean. Breakfast, apart from the delicious, locally-sourced bacon and sausages, was pretty basic - packet butter, marmalade, plastic toast, undrinkable coffee. At prices from £85 per night, and a co-proprietor whose background is in major hotel chains, there is just no excuse for any of this. They accept dogs, though, which is to be commended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InspectorFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews