We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the Stag two miles down the road for a proper pub” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ostrich Inn

The Ostrich Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ostrich Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Castle Acre B&B and Inns
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Try the Stag two miles down the road for a proper pub”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Ate here once and could not believe the prices charged for very average bar food.

This is a bistro/pub trying to be all things to all people and satisfying no one. Limited choice of guest beers none that are any good and they are very expensive.

Try the Stag in West Acre if you want a proper pint, they have Worth The Wait, On The Huh, Barn Ale, Quench on a regular basis ..... sure beats the Greene King IPA they dish up here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    41
    24
    20
    19
See reviews for
33
50
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Hi,

We recently ran a film production from our location base in Castle Acre.

A number of our actors stayed at the Ostrich during the shoot and I cannot recommend the place highly enough.

Superb pub, great food, kind staff.

A great place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FILM932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expat in India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The setting is extraordinary - on in a picture postcard village green, 5 minutes walk from a spectacular ruined castle in one direction, and a gorgeous restored monastery in the other. Rural England doesn't get better than this. The Ostrich Inn sprawls along the street, with a wonderful bar/dining area/snug filled with locals which could have inspired the Prancing Pony at Bree. Yes it is old and slightly run down - you can't select your pillow type or marvel at the plumbing - but the rooms are perfectly adequate, the staff hugely friendly, and they even knocked £10 off the room price when I arrived "because they had got it wrong". Food was homely rather than gourmet, and the wine list decent. Yes the food prices are a little high. But these are minor quibbles. The Ostrich lives up to its fabulous setting. It is everything a Village Inn is meant to be and I would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaquesatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east midlands - uk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Thought we would try this out for an evening meal. Wish we hadn't. I ordered salmon and the wife a salad. At time of ordering I thought it seemed expensive, but expected something good. Sat in the bar, which was scruffy. When it arrived I had a piece of salmon about 2 1/2 inches square, the wrong way up, on a small bed of 4 new potatoes cut in half, and about a dozen mange tout. I guess there was about £3 worth of food. That cost £16.95. Not impressed. My wife's salad consisted of 95% lettuce, and cost a tenner. To cap it all as soon as the food arrived so did the flies. Clearly a problem.
This place will not be getting my custom again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank datacell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castle Acre hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I've stayed at The Ostrich twice now, but never again. It's a handy stop off when in Norfolk, but it's really tatty around the edges.

Room 5 inparticular is in a poor state. Shoved underneath the stairs with a crude number 5 drawn on the door and cobwebs everywhere, the room itself is a decent size, but the shower room is falling apart and (thanks to its under stairs location) it's insanely loud last thing at night and first thing in the morning. On my previous stay, I was unluckly enough to be in a room with a broken radiator in the middle of winter - not ideal.

Likewise, although the breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked, the breakfast room was littered with other customers detritus, leading to dozens of flies buzzing around the half finished food.

As previous customers have remarked, it seems as if the location is enough to entice people to stay. Whether they'll return or not is another matter.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raghu K, Director of Sales at The Ostrich Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for taking time out to write the review, As you stated in your review we are the only local pubs in the locality, and we do not take this to our advantage, We always work on the customer feedback and improve on our service.

When ever a guest is checked in to the Room 5, we always tell that there would be noise as its very close to the Bar area,In your case as well I understand you have been informed about the same, As it is the rural village pub with rooms, Locals tend to stay late in the bar area .

With regards to breakfast tables not cleaned, We serve hot breakfast and the chef take care of the serving breakfast, Waitress comes in at 10:00 am to clear up the tables, but we will take this feed back in positive note and make sure the tables are cleared up then and there once the guest finishes the break fast.

We would like you to come back again, I' m sure you will enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I had eaten in the Ostrich about thirty years ago, I thought I would give it a try for accomodation for a few days break, Eighty pounds per night in a fairly run down establishment is somewhat over the top, even in rip-off Norfolk.
At that price it's not unreasonable to expect more than a very basic 'bed & breakfast', to be fair the beds were clean and comfortable, for a pub the bedroom was quiet and the inclusive breakfasts were good, but that's about all I can say in favour of the Ostrich.
There was no sign of any 'reception' area, all queries had to go through differing members of staff in the bar, there was NO information whatsoever in the bedrooms; nothing about breakfast times, restaurant opening times, internet access, local services, the only information was to tell you to 'phone 999 in case of a fire - but where from, no sign of a telephone !
There wasn't even a table/desk in the bedroom. Room service over the three days was somewhat spasmodic, they manage to make the beds, but don't clean the cups, empty the bins or clean the bathroom.
Ate in the bar one night, it was nice but about 50% overpriced, and the beer was at least eighty pence a pint over the 'going rate', and the bar tables were those things that you stick to if you stay in one spot too long!!
Nice location, nice building, reasonably pleasant staff, Get your prices right and try harder.

Room Tip: I was advised by other travellers that they had a noisy room, my room (4) was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1777NT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raghu K, Director of Sales at The Ostrich Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for your feedback, but i would like to gentle reminder you we are a rural Inn, and not a hotel, Normaly B&B and Inns doesn't have designated reception area's. I beg to differ with your comment on run down establishment. Its a 17th century inn, and we need to up keep a heritage of the place and hence avoid making it look like a ultra modern bistro establishment.

The price we charge is ecnomical compared to other establishments of similar nature, its comes with breakfast and quality bedding. It unfortunate that you consider this expensive.

You are more than welcome if you want to give us another try, and we will make sure you are not disappointed. Many thanks for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Castle Acre is a wonderful village to explore. We did not use the car for three days. So much to see within walking distance of the Inn. The meals were excellent. Staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast and the chef were the best. The coffee served in the bar is a must.
We arrived at the Ostrich Inn in the middle of a local crisis. Roads were dug up, low water pressure, no hot water, leaking toilet and the fridge in our room kaput!
It did not mar the enjoyment and we were given a free night for the inconvenience!
If you enjoy adventure give the Ostrich a try.

Room Tip: Room 6 is large quiet and quirky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Acre
3.7 mi away
Strattons Hotel
Strattons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Swaffham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
6.7 mi away
Greenbanks Country Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
8.2 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baileygate Bed & Breakfast
Baileygate Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Castle Acre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ostrich Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ostrich Inn

Property: The Ostrich Inn
Address: Stocks Green, Castle Acre, King's Lynn PE32 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Castle Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Acre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ostrich Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Ostrich Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ostrich Hotel King`s Lynn
The Ostrich Inn Castle Acre, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing