We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house and very welcoming owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Baileygate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Castle Acre B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at Baileygate while cycling the Peddars Way. I was given a ground floor room at the back of the house and was able to keep my bike in their secluded, and very nice, garden.

Baileygate is very pretty much in the middle of Castle Acre and is an easy walk to the pub and other sights.

The room I had was large, it had a big sofa and there was plenty of tea and biscuits on hand which was just what I needed after a long day riding. The room also came with Sky TV which was handy as it was handy as I was able to catch the Tour de France highlights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed one night in a twin with my son walking the Peddars Way. Welcoming hosts Jim and Liz. Comfortable clean room with an excellent en suite. Room also had a separate private entrance which was handy with access directly to a path leading a few yards to the Castle. Big and fluffy heavy weight white towels, quality duvets with crisp white covers.Nice choice of teas in the room. Breakfast was delicious and substantial, with ample choices made the night before,from a good selection, and eaten at a long pine table in the high ceiling dining room adjacent to bedroom. Slight misunderstanding about whether food was available on Sunday evening at the Ostrich pub in the village, so we had to taxi into Swaffham to eat, but otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyingblueaviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at the Bailey Gate B&B to attend a family wedding, and we enjoyed the whole stay.

Booking the room was very quick and easy and Jim and Liz were fine to accomidate our changing arrival times.

The room had its own entrance with private parking space, which was very conveniently placed close to our door. The large double room was very comfortable and the sofa made for a very quick sitdown in front of the TV after our long journey. The en-suite had a large shower offering fresh towels and toiletries. Everywhere was very well presented.

The breakfast in the morning was outstanding, with a wide variety of options. Fresh fruit, cereals, tea coffee and fresh juice with the option of a full english breakfast to top it off.

Liz and Jim he owners were very accommodating and friendly and all-in-all it was a fabulious stay. We would happily recomend this B&B to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Just back from a one night stay and very pleasant it was too. A large room with choice of twin or large double. A sofa making it ideal for relaxing. Lovely modern en-suite with quality complimentary toiletries.
The room has its own entrance and overlooks a lovely garden. Very happy with the excellent choice at breakfast as I could have salmon & scrambled eggs which is great if you are watching the calories. The full english went down very well too!
Jim the owner was very accommodating and booked us a table at the local pub for an evening meal. As we travelled by motorbike Jim had a perfect hard standing off the road which was a bonus.
Happily return.

Room Tip: You can choose to have 2 singles or a large double bed on request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnydaysLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We needed to break our journey from Somerset to Norfolk and back, returning a family member home... we didn't want a motorway hotel and sought out a suitable b&b. We ended up with the Baileygate in Castle Acre and were delighted with the whole experience. Easy to book (very quick response to my email from Liz and easy to pay the deposit) and flexible about our late arrival time. The room is on the ground floor, just through the breakfast room. It also has its own entrance which would be great if you were staying for a few days and has a really lovely shower room (I guess fairly recently done) with Molton Brown toileteries and thick towels. The decor is neutral and pretty - not especially "boutique" but really fine and clean. The hospitality tray is well stocked (a welcome addition on arrival) and the bed was very comfortable with good bed linen and pillows. There is also a sofa in the room, making it a bit like a little studio, plus a TV and DVD player. Breakfast, ordered the night before, was cooked and served by Nigel and was excellent. The whole experience was just what we needed and we'll certainly consider going back, hoping to make better use of the location, for a short break. Have already recommended to family members.

Room Tip: Arrive in time to enjoy the location in Castle Acre and check out the local pubs or drive the short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have just returned after spending a very comforable night at Baileygate B&B. It was without exception the best B&B accomadation we have stayed in, at home or abroad. The rooms were large, clean, and everything that was provided was of the highest quality. Breakfast was fabulous ! Bacon sandwiches to be highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baileygate, Owner at Baileygate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

The beauty of running a B&B is sometimes you feel as though it less of a 'Guest House' and more of a 'Friend House' - and these 'guests' prove my point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Baileygate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baileygate Bed & Breakfast

Address: Marcon House Bailey Street | Castle Acre, Kings Lynn, Norfolk, Castle Acre, King's Lynn PE32 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Castle Acre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Acre
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baileygate Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marcon House was built in 1884 for the village doctor and we have lived here for over 20 years and have been in Castle Acre since 1983. It is a five bedroomed property and, now that our children have fled the nest, we can offer an en-suite bed and breakfast (B & B) service and Peddars Way accommodation. We have two rooms. Room 1 is en-suite ground floor accommodation (private entrance) with the option of a single, twin or double bed with Egyptian cotton sheets; Welcome Tray; sofa for watching the Freesat HD TV; complimentary WiFi; an en-suite shower room with luxurious towels and Molton Brown toiletries; sumptuous breakfast options include our own free range eggs (when the chickens are laying) and locally-sourced bacon and sausages. Room 2 is a first floor double bedroom with private bathroom; Welcome Tray, armchair for watching Freesat HD TV, free WiFi and the same breakfast options. Single Occupancy - £50 a night Double/Twin Occupancy - £70 a night There are good local pubs but guests are welcome to use the dining room if they prefer to bring back a take-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Baileygate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baileygate Bed & Breakfast Castle Acre, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing