We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night stay”
Review of Appleby Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appleby Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here 1 night,

My room was comfy clean and had all the facilty's
We ate our evening meal in the hotel and it was excellent also great value too. The staf were excellent polite helpful and friendly if your a single traveller the don't mind a natter at the bar whilst they are getting on with their work, I was with a colleague but we did enjoy a little banter with staff.
I do remember that I got a decent nights sleep here'
Breakfast:
The service I really like, Cooked fresh to order along with a choice of cereals Yoghurts etc.
I much prefer the breakfast delivered to the table and the gent who served us was spot on.

Defo stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hello and thank you for your review regarding your stay at the Appleby Inn Hotel.
All of the team here at the Appleby receive your comments with great pride, one of our main aims is to make guests feel at home and give everybody a warm welcome during their stay with us.
We have table served breakfast for all of our time as a hotel and believe it gives you that extra touch of comfort, a fresh home cooked breakfast of your choice delivered to you by our friendly waiting on staff is the perfect start to a day!
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Appleby Inn Hotel should you wish to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Appleby Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in September in a spacious family room on the ground floor. This place is very accessible just off the motorway but secluded enough to give a great rural feel. Check in was quick and staff where very welcoming. The room itself was located on the ground floor with outside access, the beds comfortable and the room very spacious for three adults with all facilities you could need. TV was a little on the small side and hard to view from the far end of the room although on holidays the TV is not a big priority. Plenty of parking to be had which made our room even more accessible with our luggage. The restaurant had an ample menu and the food was very nice pub food. Service in the restaurant was very good, prompt and with a smile most of the time. The Inn was in a good location for what we wanted which was access to the villages around from Netherseal to Overseal and into Ashby for our very own version of "Who do you think you are..." Would recommend this to any other relatives uncovering their roots.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ossie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hello and thank you for your review of your stay with us here at the Appleby Inn Hotel.
We are glad we could play a part in your visit to England and are pleased you enjoyed your time in the wonderful surrounding area.
We welcome many guests from many countries and it is always a pleasure to interact with our guests and see if we can be of assistance in any way during their time with us.
Our family rooms are very spacious and provide maximum comfort for larger travelling parties, upon you review we have upgraded the TV in our larger bedrooms, thank you for your feedback. Free of charge parking and accessible parking is a welcome amenity we offer our guests. we have recently resurfaced our car park to maintain our high standards.
Our restaurant, as we often mention, offers high quality meals at affordable prices along with friendly, helpful efficient service to complete your experience.
We take great pleasure that you would happily recommend us, it was a pleasure hosting you and we thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time room was very clean .and we will be back up for my birthday for a night with out the kids thanks so much .we look at the menu for the food it was good price . We was happy with the breakfast had a full English and one for my daughter to she loved it and so did I .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for such a positive review of your time with us here at the Appleby Inn.
Cleanliness is a major priority of ours and continuous feedback of a spotlessly clean hotel and restaurant is a glowing compliment to our housekeeping staff who pride themselves on presenting a welcoming homely bedroom for guests.
A choice of cooked breakfasts, fruits, cereals to suit all our guests delivered fresh to your table is what awaits all our guests in the morning of their stay, we are glad you and your daughter enjoyed your Full English breakfasts.
Immediate plans to return to the Appleby Inn Hotel speaks volumes for us as a company and we already look forward to hosting you for what we aim to make a Happy Birthday for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just got back from an overnight stay at the Appleby Inn and was very happy with our experience. Had adjoining rooms for the wie, two boys and me, which were nice and quiet. Had meals at the hotel in the night which were great, staff couldn't do enough for you and were happy in their work. Been to other hotels in the past where staff appear to resent you being there. This one though was a joy. Book out in the morning wasn't until twelve but we extended for an hour as the wife was there to do a run and we needed the shower after. We also had Sunday lunch as we were there, wonderful carvery which the young chef had cooked and presented. This was excellent but we were the only people there! They really do need to advertise this place better as it is just off the motorway, although you wouldn't know it and the food and staff are superb. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyboyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hello and thank you for your review of your stay with us here at the Appleby Inn Hotel.
Your comments are received with great pleasure. We aim to provide maximum comfort whilst away from home at a competitive price and we are glad that we could accommodate you and your family in this manner.
Our enthusiastic, friendly team of staff reflect us brilliant as a company. We are a proudly independent family run hotel and restaurant and pride ourselves on the personal touch we provide. Creating such a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere is a credit to all the staff and the owner and also reflects in their approach.
Late check outs at no extra costs when we can facilitate are welcome amenities to guests for varying reasons. We try to be accommodating and as helpful we can be to reflect the nature of your stay. I am sure a shower and a good meal was certainly what your wife required after her run!
Our restaurant is another vital arm of our business. We have built a fine reputation for high quality meals at affordable prices. A restaurant of this kind at your pleasure whilst staying with us gives you a welcome option in dining.
On the weekend you came to visit us our occupancy was not as high as usual, our main occupancy comes Monday to Friday and then a weekend will be dependent on private hire functions held with ourselves or even locally when we offer preferred accommodation for many local businesses and tourist attractions.
We are very pleased you were so satisfied with your stay and if you return to the area and require accommodation we would be more than happy to welcome you back to the Appleby Inn Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Another fantastic weekend stay here. They had a big birthday party on Friday and a wedding Saturday but that made difference to us no wait in restaurant for food or drinks, and all up to usual standard excellent.
Carnt wait to go back next year (if not before)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendybee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Hello and thank you for another complimentary review of your stay at the Appleby Inn Hotel.
We always aim to make you aware of any circumstances within our establishment that might affect your stay with us, as you stated the functions did not make a difference to your accommodation but we feel that you must be made aware that they will be present.
We look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit the nearby Donnington race track! It is always a pleasure to host such friendly guests as yourselves!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A regular base when I'm in this area, usually two to four nights a month, so all the staff (and there are quite a few of them) get to know you. The welcome is always very good and friendly. Rooms are perfectly clean and adequate for a couple of nights at a time. Pub-type menu is loaded with all the traditional favourites, and portions are huge for the prices they charge. Always well cooked, nicely served and tasty. You know to expect, and you get it. Always a large number of locals, (from very young children through to pensioners) using it for food, which speaks volumes of course. I've already booked here for my next three visits, so that speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PM02-08-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello and thank you for another review.
We are very pleased you continue to enjoy your stays with us at the Appleby Inn Hotel.
Consistency is one of our major aims, along with high standards and value for money. Our restaurant is a big part of what we offer, fresh cooked homemade food at affordable prices. We are fiercely proud of our repeat local trade and also our not so local repeat trade such as yourself!
We as staff receive your comments with great warmth. We aim to make guests feel as homely as possible and take a great interest in making customers time with us as pleasant and positive as we can.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us for your projected stays and many more beyond them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

we booked 3 rooms , double for ourselves , twin room , and family room with 3 single beds, , requested room on ground floor for one night as was booked out for the other, no ground floor available when we arrive , to be told no one had been told , even though I had spoken to them on the phone ............... no family room with 3 single beds , had to put up a z bed, instead,
the ground floor room was for my daughter who walks with crutches and finds walking very difficult {i mentioned that also on the phone }. shower in room 20 didn't work properly , hardly any water , breakfast was good if u came down early , any later u had a long wait , bacon was hard as it had been cooked ages before and left p.s remove the blankets ............ quilts much easier pp.s was told ground floor room was taken by another disabled person ........ amazing as our car was the only one parked in the disabled bay with a blue badge !!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksonanddobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello and thank you for your feedback and comments.
It is with deep regret that we receive your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We aim to leave all guests with an air of satisfaction in relation to their stay and we are very disappointed that this was not the case.
During your check in, which I dealt with personally, you raised you point stated regarding our ground floor bedroom. We are very receptive with guest requests and wants to the point where if a guest can not be accommodated in the way they require we are reluctant to take the booking. We feel if we are unable to meet certain guest criteria after they have stated as such we would prefer to advise them that maybe it is not suitable to stay with us. After correspondence with every member of staff who would deal with phone calls in relation to bedroom bookings non could recall such a conversation as stated in your review and upon check in in regards to the ground floor bedroom now was a special request made during booking via a third party booking agent in which they do ask if there are any special hotel guest requests. As someone who has personally suffered with physical injuries and mobility issues in the past I deeply sympathise with the situation you found yourselves in on check in and quickly ensured that you were in the closest room available to cut down unnecessary travel. I also asked if the booking was ok for you with your daughter being accommodated in a first floor room for the two nights rather than just the one to which you stated that although it not being ideal it is manageable and as I saw it the issue closed, if not I would have strived to help you make alternate arrangements especially with the sensitivity of the issue.
We apologise if there was an issue with shower pressure, we urge guests to let us know of any issues during their stay so that our dedicated maintenance team can resolve any facility failures or hindrances, we would have gladly resolved the issue during your two days with us given notice.
Your booking of a triple room was another issue. The room you booked did certainly accommodate three people but consisting of double bed and a single bed. This is stated both on the booking website for our third party website under guest and room details and on the printed confirmations both yourselves and the Hotel receive. Upon your check in I confirmed room type with you to which you advised me your required a room with three separate beds, a room which is different to the one you booked and confirmed online. With this is mind we quickly moved on of our portable beds which are of excellent standard and are used when our occupancy is extremely high upon the acceptance of guests, to make sure your room was consisting of 3 separate beds. Such a room usually comes at greater cost but considering the misunderstandings and issues encountered we wavered any extra charge. Again I check with you to see if this was to your acceptance when you again declared everything ok. I had numerous exchanges with your party during your stay during which I was not informed of any discontent, if so I would interacted with you to see if there was anything within my power I could do to resolve such discontent.
We do use blankets instead of thicker winter quilts occasionally during summer months to try and dress bedrooms in accordance with outside temperatures.
We serve freshly cooked breakfast or a choice of fruits yoghurts and cereals to supplement differing guest preferences. This weekend in particular was very busy and guests are dealt with as soon as they possibly can by an assigned morning team of staff, during the weekend we drew various compliments from guests in regards to their morning service and meal.
With our ground floor bedroom being around the back of the hotel most guests stopping in said room, regardless of mobility, park at the rear of the hotel for ease of access to the room as the disabled bays are for ease of access to the front of the hotel. Although we have no disabled bays at the rear of the car park we offer guests to take up two spaces should they have mobility issues. The guests stopping in the ground floor room had requested the said room upon booking and we honoured the booking. The first evening the room was already in use. Please be assured if I could have housed you in the said room, I most definitely would have.
I hope this answers any points raised and urge you in future to discuss any issues you have during your stay with the hope of them being resolved. I again offer my regret and apologies that you did not enjoy your time with us during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby Magna
0.2 mi away
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Appleby Magna
487 reviews
3.3 mi away
Champneys Springs Health Resort
4.7 mi away
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Congerstone
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Smithy Studio Bed & Breakfast
Smithy Studio Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ashby-de-la-Zouch
69 reviews
3.7 mi away
YHA National Forest
YHA National Forest
#1 of 4 in Swadlincote
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Inn Hotel

Address: 11 Atherstone Road | Appleby Parva, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Appleby Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby Magna
Price Range: £52 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appleby Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Appleby Inn Hotel is a family owned and run Hotel, Bar & Restaurant located on the A444 half a mile from junction 11 of the M42 within close distance of both Birmingham and East Midland airports, and is also easily accessible to the M6 and M1 motorways. The Hotel is also ideally situated close to most local midland towns and cities, perfect for both commuters and tourists. Set within rural Derbyshire the Hotel borders on the four counties of Leicestershire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Derbyshire. The Hotel has a fine reputation for its welcoming, homely atmosphere, fine restaurant food and exceptional value for money.Nearby tourist attractions include Twycross Zoo, The Battle of Bosworth fields, Donnington Park, Drayton Manor Park and the Sir John Moore Foundation is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Appleby Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appleby Inn Hotel Appleby Magna, Leicestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing