We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another excellent stay”
Review of Appleby Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Appleby Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yet another excellent stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What can l say but thank you again to Michael and all his staff for looking after us again, it seems like nothing is to much trouble. Saturday night the restaurant was full which was nice to see but a shame for us as we were hungry, so l went to the bar and spoke to the staff and within seconds was all sorted and a table was found for us excellent thank you. We had been to Donington Park all day and were soaked through just mentioned to the young lady behind the bar and she offered to ask if we could put our clothes in the dryer, which l said not to worry about but what a really kind thought yet again thank you. Oh and the food was excellent as always :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendybee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello and thank you for another wonderful review of your most recent stay with us at the Appleby Inn Hotel.
As you have stated, nothing is too much trouble for our guests! Especially when customers come as pleasant and friendly as you and your husband.
Our restaurant is usually a busy place all week, weekends even more so! One advantage we have is that with our size the tables turn over constantly, with the assistance of a efficient, contentious team of staff to help guests get seated this ensures guests are not waiting too long for tables. Accompanied with consistently high standard of meals from a varied menu we believe we are on to a winning formula!
We are already looking forward to your next stay with us when you visit Donnington again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    35
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
37
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a large family wedding party. I only stayed for 1 night in room 6, a family room. The room is large and homely, maybe a tad dated but in a nice way, it isnt something I think needs changing. The room was spotless. There was a function on the night we stayed so it was a little noisy, but to be fair the staff advised of this on booking and when we asked if there was any way of the music turned down, it was just enough for us to get the kids to sleep while the party could carry on downstairs. The breakfast was lovely, and the whole hotel seems great. Most of my family stayed the night before aswell and all I have heard is positives about the wonderful food. All in all, a great little hotel, would definatly stay again. I have read some other reviews, 1 saying that this place is louder than heathrow airport runway? From my experience thats utter nonsense. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello and thank you for a wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us.
We are very glad both you and the rest of your party that attended the local wedding enjoyed your stay. I must say it was a pleasure to host you all and what a lovely, friendly group you all were. I was particularly pleased with the weather your received for the day! Blue skies and sun are the perfect accompaniment for a wedding!
Our family rooms are made to be spacious and homely to welcome you to the Appleby Inn Hotel, providing you with maximum comfort whilst away from home. Cleanliness is probably to most important aspect of any accommodation that is let, our housekeeping team do a fine job of ensuring the whole hotel is scrupulously cleaned daily.
Our catering is a big part of what we offer here at the Appleby Inn Hotel. Originally starting out in business as just a restaurant our food is what we have built our original reputation on. We are glad your party enjoyed their evening meal and you enjoyed your breakfast in the morning. All prepared by our kitchen team delicious home cooked food is a welcome addition to any hotel visit.
We apologise you received some disruption with the function on the evening, as you stated we aim to inform all guests of any issues that may disrupt their stay so that there is not any nasty surprises during their time with us that may affect their visit. As soon as I spoke to you and realised you needed to get the children to sleep I liaised with the DJ (whom we always use for such functions) we were happy to alter the sound to give you a greater degree of comfort whilst still allowing the party to continue in full swing!
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future should you be in the area again and again thank you for your custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We normally stay at travel lodge on the motorway services but fancied a change. Got the family room 14, noisy road location, trucks etc flying past all night. I'm sure the toilets where beneath us as doors banging and a whirring sound every 5 minutes. Boiling hot room but daren't open window due to road noise. The most annoying thing was a mystery as it sounded like running water sound or a mechanical fan? I kept getting up but couldn't locate where the noise was coming from but rest assured it went on all night. No quilts on the beds just sheets and wool blankets. Felt horrible. Come breakfast time my daughter doesn't like orange juice and they could not offer her one other drink only warm tap water. Breakfast ok. Scrambled egg tasted weird and coffee served in a tea dispenser. Most bizarre. Anyway I was advised before I moan on trip advisor I must moan to the hotel reception, I did and they couldn't care less. A cursory oh sorry about that now pay the £80 bill. I would have had a more pleasant sleep on heathrow airport runway. I have never paid so much for such a shocking nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katty12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello and thank you for what is always valued feedback regarding your recent stay at the Appleby Inn Hotel.
It is with deep disappointment we receive your comments regarding your stay in one of our family rooms. Room 14 is a frequently used bedroom along with most other rooms within our hotel. being one of three family rooms for 4 the occupancy level for the room is high. Should the room be consistently noisy we would not let it to families. Upon your comments we have had our dedicated maintenance team check all piping and extraction fans in both room 14 and surrounding fans. They have also made sure all door closers on any doors near to the room are a the correct setting so doors are not to slam shut, we apologise that one near the room was slightly loose causing the door the create a noise when it did shut, this has now been rectified and we apologise for such disruption. Our heating was on its usual timing setting for which regular guests have not expressed any displeasure towards, should guests deem the bedroom too hot they have the option of turning the radiators down with the valve on each end of the radiator. All beds do come with a fresh bedspread for their stay, during colder weeks we do add blankets as well, guests are quite welcome to discard these in the storage provided within the bedroom. As for the breakfast issues I have spoken to the waitress who served you on the day. She apologises if there seemed to be a misunderstanding with the request for an alternative drink, as a beverage outlet there are at a guess well over 30 drinks we could offer and it may be clearer for guests to request what they wish for rather than the waitress offering such a wide speech as to what we could offer from a varied stock. Rather than "advising you to moan to reception" she was merely directing you to a more senior member of staff who could deal with your comments as she was not in the position to do so. Your comments that breakfast was ok followed by criticism of the scrambled eggs and the coffee dispensers we use are a little contradictive and therefore make it difficult to reply to.
The receptionist on shift that day had informed the management team of your comments stating that you had brought the issues up whilst paying the bill rather than raising them before that process took place. The waitress that you had spoken to in the morning reported that your were looking to share your experience on trip advisor which prompted me to respond via trip advisor rather than a phone call to you.
Should any guests have any issues with noise or room quality we ask that they report it to reception immediately, our conscientious management team will endeavour to rectify any issues with the room and if there is still a problem we can re-house you in an alternative room, unfortunately if the issues are mentioned retrospectively the morning after then there is very little we can do to change that or resolve any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Not where we had booked to stay and not therefore what we were expecting. Very cold in the dining-room at breakfast time! The staff were very friendly and helpful, but just not our sort of place for a weekend away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJP1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hello and thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Appleby Inn Hotel.
It is with regret that we learn you did not see our establishment to suit your tastes. In terms of points raised in your brief review we find it a little difficult to address as the main issue seems to be the you were housed at the hotel due to your other accommodation not being able to check you in for your booking. My own understanding of the booking in question is that there was a few similar bookings that we in-took due to surrounding hotels not being able to fulfil their bookings due to unavoidable circumstances. With this is mind we are aware that we were not the chosen hotel for some guests and could therefore differ in their expectations or their requirements for their original stay and whilst we are very pleased we could come to the aid of some guests in providing alternative accommodation at such short notice we also accept that with a hasty relocation it may not be the ideal situation for some customers. We hope you do not incur such disruption when travelling in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We are a local Travel Agency in Nottingham and we organise group visits around the area and we take in a lunch. We decided to use the Appleby Inn for our recent Mystery Trip and can honestly say it was fabulous. The staff are very accommodating and the table organisation was easy and well presented.
The meal itself was beautiful everything was cooked to perfection and the portion size was fantastic for the rate we paid. The sweets were both different and tasty. There were 30 people on our trip and everyone has complimented the Appleby Inn. Dave our driver said it is one of the best group meals he has had as a coach driver and he has been in the business 40 years. Couldn't recommend The Appleby Inn enough and a big thank you to Michael for being so helpful!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for such a fantastic review! It was a pleasure hosting your agency for the group lunch on your Mystery Trip. We host large parties on a regular basis and feel very pleased to offer an efficient service coupled with varied menu choice all at affordable cost all in a spacious homely setting.
It was pleasing to hear such positive feedback from the guests on the day and provides us with a great feeling that the Appleby Inn Hotel helped contribute to your day out, we are certainly pleased to be Dave's number one venue with his many years visiting other venues!
We thank you for your feedback and would love to welcome back your travel agency back for meals with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on way to York. This was a good location for us as it was just off the motorway and easy for us to break up our journey. Our room was spacious and bed comfortable. We enjoyed our evening meal, there was a good reasonable priced menu. Breakfast was also enjoyable. Friendly staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank two-taffies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at the Appleby Inn Hotel. Our location is a big advantage to us as a business, easily accessible to major motorways and many nearby cities yet set in idyllic, peaceful countryside.
We aim to provide a warm friendly welcome for all guests to arrive to at the Appleby Inn Hotel, staff aim to make your stay as carefree as possible whilst enjoying, as you mentioned, spacious and comfortable surroundings.
Our restaurant offers a welcome amenity for guests, the chance to enjoy home cooked delicious food at affordable prices gives guests a great option for dining during their stay. Breakfast from our varied breakfast menu delivered to your table ensures a good start to your day, we are glad you found this the case.
We will gladly welcome you back to the Appleby Inn Hotel should you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Have stayed here before and been fine fine but last night we were in room 1. The noise from the kitchen extractor plus the heating was appalling, worst nights sleep ever. I did complain to the receptionist but he really couldn't have cared less. It's a pity because the function was excellent, the food great and the breakfast was also good. Spoiled a good night.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slong2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hello and thank you for your review of your stay with us at the Appleby Inn Hotel. It is with great regret we read of your disappointment regarding your stay with us, our aim is to leave all guests departing with a smile after a relaxing stopover in a homely atmosphere we apologise if you felt this was not the case.
In regards to your comment regarding our Kitchen extractor we can, and did, assure you that the Extractor ceases at 10.00 along with the closer of our kitchens, although there are few other fans located at the rear of the hotel they should not provide substantial noise to disturb you for the room you was in, neither should the kitchen extractor when it is in use. Since your comments we have had our maintenance team inspect all fans and extractors to ensure they are running efficiently and quietly, we have also checked neighbouring rooms bathroom extract fans to see if this may have been the source of noise as Room 1 is quite a commonly used and requested room. I am reluctant to go into detail regarding the heating as your comment is quite vague and I am unsure as to what your issue with the heating was, all rooms do have a thermostat on the radiators so guests can alter the settings to adjust the heating to suit.
As the gentleman on shift received your comments as comments whilst departing and of quite a concise nature he was of the opinion that you were unreceptive to a conversion regarding the matter and made the comments as a leaving statement, he assures me that he was keen to resolve any issues that had arisen but also needed to discuss the issues with you in greater detail and liaise with the maintenance team to do so.
We apologise that any noise may have affected your stay with us and upon inspection there doesn’t seem to any further issues with noise, we have used the room since and have had positive feedback so we would again apologise and see this as an isolated incident but again are regretful that you did not enjoy this visit to us. I would also urge you to elaborate on positive experiences as well as negative, although guests are free to express their views on experiences they wish I am disappointed that an isolated incident has clouded such a well received evening dinner function, as you stated briefly you had a pleasant evening along with positive past stays in the hotel. We host the function yearly and are honoured to do so, we have booked next years date with great pleasure and look forward to delivering another quality meal, we hope this experience does not alter your view of us here at the Appleby Inn and assure you of a warm welcome should you return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby Magna
0.2 mi away
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Appleby Magna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
6.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Hotel
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Ho...
#1 of 2 in Ashby-de-la-Zouch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Bulls Head
The Bulls Head
#1 of 1 in Hartshorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.3 mi away
Champneys Springs Health Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appleby Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Inn Hotel

Property: Appleby Inn Hotel
Address: 11 Atherstone Road | Appleby Parva, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Appleby Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby Magna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Appleby Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Appleby Inn Hotel is a family owned and run Hotel, Bar & Restaurant located on the A444 half a mile from junction 11 of the M42 within close distance of both Birmingham and East Midland airports, and is also easily accessible to the M6 and M1 motorways. The Hotel is also ideally situated close to most local midland towns and cities, perfect for both commuters and tourists. Set within rural Derbyshire the Hotel borders on the four counties of Leicestershire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Derbyshire. The Hotel has a fine reputation for its welcoming, homely atmosphere, fine restaurant food and exceptional value for money.Nearby tourist attractions include Twycross Zoo, The Battle of Bosworth fields, Donnington Park, Drayton Manor Park and the Sir John Moore Foundation is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Appleby Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appleby Inn Hotel Appleby Magna, Leicestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing