We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A quiet, no frills basic hotel more equipped for business than families on holiday. Perfectly kept, very clean with very helpful land friendly staff that made the stay a pleasure. Twin rooms with sofa bed are available which made for a better nights sleep on the safari package with my two sons. Food was hit and miss - the right menu choice a pleasure to eat; the wrong one a very big let down. Choose food that has to be cooked fresh and can't be kept warm for hours or reheated badly. Take your own entertainment

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mailk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted the hotel cleanliness was to your satisfaction. I am sorry that you found some choices of food disapointing and I trust this was rectified once made aware to the manager on duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    181
    119
    35
    28
See reviews for
126
124
25
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Purchased a voucher for two nights with breakfast and safari passes. The room was a good size for us, had a huge double bed and a single for my son, it was perfectly decorated and very clean, as was the bathroom. The shower was very powerful I loved it. Breakfast on both days was very nice with lots to choose from and the staff were always friendly. We had a very pleasant stay and will definitely be visiting again. Thank u to all who work there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very positive review about BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Whilst working in the area I used this hotel for some months and found it great value for money. The Management are open to deals and it is really refreshing that they want guests and are interested in feedback. The hotel is well situated off the A42 and has a large car park. No charge. The Restaurant is open until 21-00 so excellent for business travellers who always arrive late. Rooms are above average size with good TV's that work together with a work station although not provided with a large number of power points so needed these days with phones, tablets and computers. The bed is great with no lumps and a good night is guaranteed. Most rooms have baths and the water is always hot. Although there are few amenities it ticks the boxes for business. The Restaurant has a limited menu but quality reasonably good although the menu needs to change a little more regularly. Specials too would be a good idea as you can get bored with this limited offer. The wine offering is better suited to a bar than a restaurant as the types on offer are basic at best. Overall very good for the price and the welcome was worthy of the stay in itself. Such a pleasure to see an hotel trying to please its clientele.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volklf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review for the BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel. Due to guests feedback we have decided to bring back the specials board for our evening meals. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay over the last few months and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

poor breakfast, fat food only,cooked to porder (so plan some extra time for breakfast) no healthy options, rooms are ok, clean (well, carpets may need some refresh), internet access in hotel room included in room price, friendly staff, overall I would go back;

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Marek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. I am sorry that you felt our breakfasts are poor but it is with customer feedback we received, that we decided to do waiter service and we have received nothing but praise about the improvement. There are times when the hotel is full and we have groups in the hotel that we do have to put the buffet out for the first hour to be able to accomodate their needs. As i have stated in my direct reponses to you we have a full range of foods available and if there is something you particularly would like please do not hesitate to speak with the team member on duty who would be more than happy to assist your needs. I will act upon your feedback regarding the carpet and i would like to thank you for your kind comments about our friendly team.
Once again I apologise for not meeting the required standards and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Over the years I've stayed in a few Best Western hotels and I'm usually quite happy with them.
A college had stayed here and highly recommended staying here whilst working in nearby Swadlincote. When I found I'd been booked in here I thought that’s good it should be a good stay.
My room was fairly good reasonable TV comfy bed and en-Suit nice powerful shower and all in all hotel wise the accommodation was good. The room had the usual drinks facilities and was well presented.
I tried to purchase a soft drink late on to take to bed and was presented with some silly red tape too having to present a card to be scanned instead of paying cash all seemed rather odd.
The disappointment really was when we had evening meal and Breakfast, My food was over cooked and the one part of the meal I’d asked for well done a steak was under cooked.
Breakfast wasn’t that great either and despite staff present that morning it was self service all the way. Not a fan of Bain marie cooked breakfasts especially eggs held in limbo that go hard and don’t look that appealing. I remember these were also in quite excessive oil too.
It was a shame really because I expect better from Best Western and have usually had better from all the others I’ve stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for writing a review about the hotel. It is with feed back like this that we are able to deliver to the standards we aspire too. I am sorry that i am unable to give you feedback but after investigation i have not been able to find any reports from any team members regarding your issues while you was on site and the review was written 3 months after your stay. I would be more than happy to discuss if you wish to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a two-night stay in this lovely spot with my wife and little daughter. Members of staff were excellent! How good they are would most probably make up 80% of your experience (at least that is how it works with us). All of them very helpful, caring ....you couldn't wish more. The hotel was clean well maintained. The room was excellent, as well. We have already started to think of planning another weekend getaway to this beautiful place.

Thank you for your best service! We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VladimirK K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hello and thank you for the glowing report. We do take pride in our cleanliness and customer service. We hope to see you back very soon when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This place is nothing special and part of the beauty of it is that it knows this. It is perfectly functional and doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't. The hotel enjoys a reasonable cleanliness and perfectly friendly, if not particularly capable staff. The beds are very poor quality; very soft and squashy, which forces you both into a trough in the middle. The bath is like trying to bath in a frying pan. The "restaurant" is a few tables in the foyer next to the reception desk. Finally, our booking was predicated on the offer of free wi-fi, which wasn't working when we stayed. The staff were unable to explain the fault and it was not rectified before we left, which was annoying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201212201212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations which was beyond our control. I believe you have already received a response from Best Western.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby Magna
7.5 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,147 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park
9.0 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Tamworth Central
7.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#8 of 11 in Tamworth
390 reviews
6.6 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Appleby Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Appleby Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Address: M42/Junction 11 - A444 Atherstone Road, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England (Formerly Aspect Hotel Tamworth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Appleby Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Appleby Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, just off Junction 11 of the M42 is perfectly located on the outskirts of Tamworth, midway between Birmingham and Nottingham, and 10 miles/14km from Drayton Manor. The NEC is just 14 miles away.Do business with a choice of 5 flexible meeting rooms with all the latest equipment and complimentary wireless internet access and free parking.The Appleby Park Hotel is located amongst some of the best fun filled attractions in the country including Drayton Manor Theme Park, Twycross Zoo and Conkers. Family and interconnecting rooms are available making us the ideal choice for your family break.Relaxed and informal, The Park Restaurant offers tempting dishes cooked to perfection with light meals and snacks served in the lounge bar throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Appleby Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tamworth
Tamworth Ramada
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel Appleby Magna, Leicestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing