We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - Kind of...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Compared to a lot of other Best Westerns in the UK - this one is pretty good. Good location off of the highway. Great lobby area, ok breakfast....i had free internet, don't know if that is normal or not, since they printed up a receipt that said 8 GBP - which i didnt pay. However, the internet was pretty fast and reliable. so I was happy.

Like most hotels in the UK - it is a bit older and nothing special. -but it is clean. I stayed in the main building and was traveling with work friends who stayed in the next building. They could not rest during the late afternoon because their rooms were like saunas (june 2014). No air, facing sun, extremely annoying. Both co-workers had to leave their room and hang out in the lobby because their rooms were so hot. In the evening, the water pipes banged every 10 minutes. One of the coworkers recorded it on his iphone and let reception and management listen to it. It was seriously loud. They apologized, but of course, made no effort to rectify the situation.
I was in the main building, so i didn't experience any of those things.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RZirkelbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel and for your comments. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We do provide free internet for all our guests here at the hotel. I am sorry that your friends rooms were hot. but as the hotel is U shaped some of the rooms will get the afternoon sun and that particular week the weather was really humid. We did bring an engineer onsite after a guest had made us aware of some noise from certain pipes in their bathroom and this was due to water pressure. Again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Never received such awful customer service in my life, admittedly the lady on reception who checked us in was lovely and helpful, but when we had to raise issues on the second day with another receptionist her attitude was disgusting she was rude and patronising, even requesting extra pillows was a chore for her.
The room ok basic nothing special, except our bed was broken and the toilet handle came off in my hand. Also beware if booking the west midland safari park break we booked this hotel expecting the safari park to be within the vicinity of the hotel but NO it's AN HOUR AND HALF drive away so don't get stung on that like we did.
I have since raised a few issues via email to the general manager, she couldn't answer a few concerns I raised, I called to speak to her direct she was meant to call me straight back and didn't bother, I get told that a duty manager is on site 24/7 yet when I asked on the 2nd day of my stay to speak to a manager I got told no manager was on site that evening. Customer service is appalling they do not give a S##T about you and they will just fob you off.
Not to mention whilst waiting in the breakfast area the second morning I overheard the receptionists on duty slagging off another customer of the hotel that had had issues the evening before, I was listening in shock!!! not very professional at all.
Overall a basic hotel, but heaven help you if you have any issues or a complaint after because the after care is even worse you will just get fobbed off, I would advise to travel the extra 5-10 minutes and stay in a hotel in tamworth. Safely say I will be not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Klh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback. It is with regret we have received your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I have investigated into your concerns and unfortunately you did state in an email to the Assistant Manager at the hotel after you had left, that you did not have the time to raise these isuues as you were late visiting friends. You also stated that you should have researched into the location and distance to West Midlands Safari Park from the hotel. I am sorry if you felt that the customer service was appalling but the team on duty during your stay, received nothing but praise from numerous guests. I again offer my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Well I didn't book the hotel direct, it was part of a two day trip with National Holidays, but what a brilliant hotel to have stayed in overnight, really clean and tidy, rooms where great and very spacious, service was excellent, really friendly staff, we had something to eat on the first night which was nice, and breakfast next morning which was once again really nice, overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toss90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for writing such positive feedback. I am delighted you found our hotel to the standards we aspire too. Our team take pride in customer service and i will pass on your kind comments to all the team here at BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deborah M, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A quiet, no frills basic hotel more equipped for business than families on holiday. Perfectly kept, very clean with very helpful land friendly staff that made the stay a pleasure. Twin rooms with sofa bed are available which made for a better nights sleep on the safari package with my two sons. Food was hit and miss - the right menu choice a pleasure to eat; the wrong one a very big let down. Choose food that has to be cooked fresh and can't be kept warm for hours or reheated badly. Take your own entertainment

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mailk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted the hotel cleanliness was to your satisfaction. I am sorry that you found some choices of food disapointing and I trust this was rectified once made aware to the manager on duty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Purchased a voucher for two nights with breakfast and safari passes. The room was a good size for us, had a huge double bed and a single for my son, it was perfectly decorated and very clean, as was the bathroom. The shower was very powerful I loved it. Breakfast on both days was very nice with lots to choose from and the staff were always friendly. We had a very pleasant stay and will definitely be visiting again. Thank u to all who work there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very positive review about BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Whilst working in the area I used this hotel for some months and found it great value for money. The Management are open to deals and it is really refreshing that they want guests and are interested in feedback. The hotel is well situated off the A42 and has a large car park. No charge. The Restaurant is open until 21-00 so excellent for business travellers who always arrive late. Rooms are above average size with good TV's that work together with a work station although not provided with a large number of power points so needed these days with phones, tablets and computers. The bed is great with no lumps and a good night is guaranteed. Most rooms have baths and the water is always hot. Although there are few amenities it ticks the boxes for business. The Restaurant has a limited menu but quality reasonably good although the menu needs to change a little more regularly. Specials too would be a good idea as you can get bored with this limited offer. The wine offering is better suited to a bar than a restaurant as the types on offer are basic at best. Overall very good for the price and the welcome was worthy of the stay in itself. Such a pleasure to see an hotel trying to please its clientele.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volklf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review for the BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel. Due to guests feedback we have decided to bring back the specials board for our evening meals. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay over the last few months and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby Magna
7.5 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,358 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
14.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
452 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hermitage Park Hotel
Hermitage Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Coalville
122 reviews
9.0 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Appleby Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Appleby Park Hotel

Address: M42/Junction 11 - A444 Atherstone Road, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England (Formerly Aspect Hotel Tamworth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Appleby Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Price Range: £47 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Appleby Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, just off Junction 11 of the M42 is perfectly located on the outskirts of Tamworth, midway between Birmingham and Nottingham, and 10 miles/14km from Drayton Manor. The NEC is just 14 miles away.Do business with a choice of 5 flexible meeting rooms with all the latest equipment and complimentary wireless internet access and free parking.The Appleby Park Hotel is located amongst some of the best fun filled attractions in the country including Drayton Manor Theme Park, Twycross Zoo and Conkers. Family and interconnecting rooms are available making us the ideal choice for your family break.Relaxed and informal, The Park Restaurant offers tempting dishes cooked to perfection with light meals and snacks served in the lounge bar throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Appleby Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tamworth
Tamworth Ramada
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel Appleby Magna, Leicestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing