We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“okay...ish” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“okay...ish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

pro's:
1) it was very coveniently located for twycross zoo and the following days trip to Conkers (which is an excellent place for familys to visit)
2) food at dinner time was excellent and the service very good, no idea about breakfast as we didnt have it.
3) the room was basic but surprisingly comfortable and clean (see cons below)
4) small but pleasant ground to wander/sit in

cons:
1) the corridor carpet on the first floor (top floor) was extremely dirty which give a really poor first impression of the hotel
2) im not the tallest person in the world but even i had to crouch to get under the shower head
3) the restaurant was strangely located right near to the hotel entrance. Lots of movement of people as you try to eat. We felt a bit like the animals at twycross we had seen that day!!

All in all not the worst place we have ever stayed in but needs some TLC

Room Tip: if you go in summer expect the rooms to be hot, make sure you get a room where the window actually o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnfp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applebypark, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Our Hotel has an open plan dining area. We are conscious of this and are aware that some patrons may feel uncomfortable with the entrance so close to parts of the dining area. Due to this we are always happy to accommodate in relocation patrons to a more comfortable seating position if raised to a member of staff. The management have inspected all carpets throughout the hotel, our housekeeping team are very vigilant and act on any issues found throughout the hotel. I can assure you that all high traffic carpets are steam cleaned on a monthly basis and heavy stains are acted on when found. Unfortunately we have never had comments passed to us regarding the height of our showerheads; we will however look into the height of them. I would once again like to thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    174
    106
    33
    28
See reviews for
119
115
23
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed here recently for 2 nights with the family whilst in the area, reception ok, public area ok , rooms clean and functional but the corridors on the second floor carpets are absolutely filthy from end to end , I've never seen anything like it they are covered in dirt and spills I can't imagine how they got like this or how the management have not noticed, do they only visit the ground floor ? .Breakfast was good if you like a full fry up but poor if you like fruit. Beds were also very soft and rooms are warm at this time of year. Would hesitate to stay again . Nearly forgot the wifi was painfully slow - would try and stay some where else next time

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCricketers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applebypark, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
The management have inspected all carpets throughout the hotel, our housekeeping team are very vigilant and act on any issues found throughout the hotel. I can assure you that all high traffic carpets are steam cleaned on a monthly basis and heavy stains are acted on when found.
Our breakfast menu includes a selection of cooked items along with comprehensive selection of cereals, fresh fruits, pastries and yogurts. We are sorry we were unable to satisfy your requirements with our menu and if we were made aware of any special requirements we are always happy to try and accommodate to patrons requests. I would once again like to thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights as part of living social deal with entry to Twycross zoo.
Hotel was accessible from the motorway and close to the amenities we were visiting.The room was clean, big enough for three. The cooked items from the breakfast were lovely. Restaurant and waiting staff very friendly. Free wifi and excellent bonus in our technological age. It is an average hotel on the side of the motorway.

However, a few negatives. I have already emailed the hotel with these.

The biggest problem we encountered was the fire alarm that went off twice on Wednesday morning of this week at 5am and 7 am due to a guest not closing their door properly when taking a shower. I am expecting the hotel say this is beyond their control and was the fault of the guest that did not close their bathroom door properly. However I do believe that fire system is so sensitive they need to provide proper warning to guests.

There are notes in the bathroom however informing guests when they check in would be an extra step in ensuring this doesn't happen again. A sign was put up in the morning apologising for the inconvenience caused were visible doesn't really help make up for the grumpy (due to lack of and disturbed sleep) 8 year old son I had the next day when we were visiting the zoo on what was supposed to be a nice family break.

I realise fire alarms are for safety and I'm glad they are working but I do feel there are further preventative measures they should take can prevent this from happening again.

Also dirty glasses not removed from room and contradictory messages at check in regarding our voucher.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KED110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed as part of Living Social deal with entrance to West Midlands Safari Park included. The hotel is 45min drive from WMSP. It is located at a motorway services, and there are no restuarants nearby other than the hotel or services.

We had 2 interconncecting rooms, however you could not access the 2nd room if they had shut the interconnecting door as there was no handle on it, this was an issue as our children were in the 2nd room, it meant we had to leave the doors open the whole time.

The rooms were clean and tidy, the hotel was too.

However the staff were very rude, especially at breakfast. Sunday breakfast isn't until 8am, but we were not advised of this. We turned up 7.50pm and were abruptly told to wait by reception. The waitress took our rooms numbers at this point. Once breakfast was opened, the waitress sat all the other groups before us despite us being first.

When I went to get coffee, the waitress refused to allow me any as I had apparently not given her my room number. I pointed out that she had taken it, and she huffed and walked away. This then happened a third time when she questioned our 5 year old daughter and refused to allow her to have any cereal, making her cry.

I have emailed the hotel to complain but had no response. I emailed Best Western directly but again no response other than they are looking into it. I stayed 4weeks ago.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Layla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. I would be delighted for you to post the response I gave you by email on 7th August even though you stated you had an enjoyable stay.

If I can be of any more assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Staff were efficient and friendly. Room was a good size and clean. Hotel is situated away from the road so quiet.
Breakfast was basic but ok. Overall exactly what you would expect from a motorway hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairey_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend for the first time, 2 adults & 1 child, as part of a National Holidays coach trip to Drayton Manor & Twycross Zoo (ideally located for both of these) and would definitely recommend it.

The hotel is very well presented and on entering the hotel we were given a warm welcome and directed to our room. It was a much larger than expected triple room with two beds, sofa bed, dressing table with tea and coffee facilities, large table with TV and additional smaller table. The room also had a Freeview TV with channels for children, free Wi-Fi, and a small safe provided.

Our room was modern and well decorated with bright paintwork and simple artwork. More importantly it was exceptionally clean: the bed linen looked and smelled fresh, the carpet was clean and the room had no nasty/musty smell. In the bathroom the combined bath and shower was spotless and there were plenty of towels / toiletries provided including spare toilet rolls etc. Do ensure that you use the bath mat provided however as I found that the floor is extremely slippery without it.

The corridor carpets are quite grubby but taking into account the footfall, the cleanliness of the rest of the hotel and the stay price, this was easily overlooked.

At 7 p.m. we went for our evening meal; starter, main and dessert were all delicious with fresh tasting ingredients and the staff were extremely attentive and helpful, two members of staff in particular provided extremely high levels of customer service, going above and beyond to ensure that individual needs / dietary requirements were met.

A young man greeted and welcomed us to our table, before serving us dinner. He was very polite and informed us that alternative choices were available for children (something we were unaware of from the menu we received on check-in, maybe this could be made a bit clearer at check-in, not everyone is familiar with staying in hotels?) This made meal time a whole lot easier for our child who is a very fussy eater and didn't want carvery, and saved a trip to the nearby McDonalds.

A young girl also greeted us politely and made conversation about our day, while serving she was extremely attentive and ensured children were managing with their plates and that they weren’t too hot for them to hold. When waiting on tables she made sure we were happy with everything.

After dinner we went back to our room to watch TV and the bedside lights made the room nice and cosy. I slept on the sofa bed which turned out to be quite comfortable once I got settled; perfectly adequate for short stays and the beds were comfortable according to family members. There were no problems with noise during our stay, I found corridors to be quiet and had a good night’s sleep.

We were told breakfast was anytime from 8 a.m. so made our way downstairs at 7.55am to find a delicious looking buffet arriving.There was a good selection of both hot and cold food and drinks; I had a cooked breakfast which was superb, particularly the lovely sausages! The food and crockery were restocked regularly too so there was ample to go round and filling up early meant we spent less on food at the zoo.

The staff moving around the hotel were also very friendly, smiling and saying hello, and helpful holding doors open, offering help with luggage etc.

Although I did later become aware fans were available at reception, my suggestion for improvement would be to consider air conditioning rooms as our room was very warm even with the window open and other reviews seem to agree with this.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Appleby Park and would definitely book up again if visiting the area or recommend it to anyone visiting attractions such as Drayton Manor and Twycross.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spooky_Nd_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello and thank you for writing an in depth review of our hotel. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed their over night stay with us. It is with feedback like yours that we are able to deliver a superior standard for all our guests in the future. We look forward to your return when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel was basic but ok. Breakfast was good. Service was erratic but it's ok as a stopover. We took the deal including tickets to West Midland Safari Park. However what they fail to mention is that it's 72km away! With 2 young children there was no way we were going to do a 100 mile round trip each day and the hotel refused to swap the tickets for the zoo. So in the end we went to Drayton Manor which is only 10 mins away

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freccle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed regarding the distance to West Midland Safari Park. This has proved a very popular offer with most of our guests and the feedback has been second to non. I am sorry if this caused inconvenience. I am delighted you did visit another attraction while staying at our hotel and hope this was to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby Magna
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Hotel
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Ho...
#1 of 2 in Ashby-de-la-Zouch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,023 reviews
9.0 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#2 of 11 in Tamworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hermitage Park Hotel
Hermitage Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coalville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
16.2 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel
Address: M42/Junction 11 - A444 Atherstone Road, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England (Formerly Aspect Hotel Tamworth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Appleby Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, just off Junction 11 of the M42 is perfectly located on the outskirts of Tamworth, midway between Birmingham and Nottingham, and 10 miles/14km from Drayton Manor. The NEC is just 14 miles away.Do business with a choice of 5 flexible meeting rooms with all the latest equipment and complimentary wireless internet access and free parking.The Appleby Park Hotel is located amongst some of the best fun filled attractions in the country including Drayton Manor Theme Park, Twycross Zoo and Conkers. Family and interconnecting rooms are available making us the ideal choice for your family break.Relaxed and informal, The Park Restaurant offers tempting dishes cooked to perfection with light meals and snacks served in the lounge bar throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tamworth
Tamworth Ramada
BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel Appleby Magna, Leicestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing