We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here many times, it's good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Good clean hotel with great staff but a place with a characterless Bar and Restaurant. Nothing much mote to say really, it's what I would expect for this class of hotel. Eat your meals across the road at the pub adjoining the Premiere Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

Not bad by any means but not great either. Our room was nice with a slightly small for two but comfy bed. The bathroom was nice but only had a shower and has blue led lighting for finding your way in during the night and ordinary lighting for normal use. Our bathroom had hair all over the floor so we mentioned it to the reception staff who said they had no other rooms available. I explained that I'd do it myself if they had a dustpan and brush, it was no big deal just didnt like seeing somebody else's hair on the bathroom floor, after the reception guy umming and arring and not really knowing what to do I suggested if he could just find me a dustpan and brush I would happily clean it myself, one of the girls on reception said she would pop in and do it for us, job done. Breakfast a letdown, deep fried tasteless sausages, beans that were crying out to be saved and one toast machine. No fresh coffee just one of those powdered instant machines and a choice of yoghurts, croissants and cereals. Very average but there is Premier Inn across the road and for around £8 you can have an all you can eat full English with fresh coffee etc......the staff were helpful and friendly and overall the hotel was pleasant enough for our onenight stay.

Room Tip: Groundfloor room that backs onto field was quiet, we had room 14 which was fine. Beware a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Thank you for your feed back. This has been discussed with the entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We visited this hotel and spent 2 nights there . The bedrooms were adequate and clean and the room we had faced onto fields , so it was very quiet and peaceful.
The only thing that let the hotel down was the breakfast !
I realise breakfast is "included" in the price , which at first seems to be a good deal !
However the choice of breakfast was very limited and the cooked food overcooked and inedible .
The cooked food consists of sausages scrambled eggs and beans . The sausages tasted like they were cooked the day before then re-heated and served , and the scrambled eggs were so overcooked you could probably build a wall with them ! The beans ? Well ! you can't really go wrong with beans .
Why no bacon and fried eggs ? all of the guests said they would prefer bacon !? ! Ditch the awful scrambled eggs and cook the sausages as they are needed !
There were croissants and pastries which were delicious , but again disappointing because the choice of topping was honey or marmalade , jam would've been nice and made up for the lack of the cooked breakfast !
If you are staying here then don't bother with breakfast ! I am reliably informed that the Smugglers pub across the road serve a good breakfast ! It may be worth the extra price to get a good tasty breakfast !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DisappointedBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am very upset to read your comments about breakfast and promise I will act on these today.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just spent one night here. Room was very clean, basic but everything one needs for an overnight stay, we paid £68 which we thought reasonable. Reception staff were cheerful and helpful - we were advised when checking in that breakfast would be very busy the next day so we decided to not bother with it. Very quiet room at the back. Pleased that some hotels do still allocate rooms for smokers. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you for your feed back. This is of great help to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I could not fault this at all. We paid £68.00 for one night with breakfast. The room was very clean and well presented, from the outside we thought it looked very shabby, but the inside was very clean and well decorated. The next morning there was lots of food and drinks despite the hotel appearing to be full. The evening we did go across to the diner across from the hotel, this was cheap and cheerful and very packed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

I hope you stay longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

All things are relative, and, at a discounted price it is hard to find fault with this good quality budget hotel.
Easy parking, pleasant welcoming staff, clean, and at the time of our visit, a quiet good night's sleep.
As others have mentioned, the warm breakfast selection is a bit sad but there are plenty of decent alternatives on offer.
If you are truly desperate for a full English then go across the road to the Premier Inn, £8.25 for all you can eat!
The Smugglers Retreat attached to the Premier Inn is also handy for an evening meal, good value before 18.30.
At the right price we would choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Room at rear proved very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iggi_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

I look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Holiday Inn Express Ramsgate whilst visiting English Heritage sites in the local area.

On arrival we were booked in quickly by a very friendly member of staff and allocated our room at the back on the second floor as requested at the time of booking. The room itself was clean and comfortable with a view of the local graveyard (a nice quiet night ahead we hoped). The air conditioning was noisy but we did not intend to use it overnight. The room smelt fine but the corridors smelt of stale tobacco.

We booked a table for our evening meal at the Premier Inn just over the road. The Holiday Inn Express is on a large roundabout quite a stroll from Minster and therefore not many choices for an evening meal unless you want to drive further afield.
After a nice quiet night we had breakfast about 8.30 which was a good time as there were not many people about. (This may have been due to the fact that the clocks had gone forward!) The selection was quite adequate, especially considering it was complimentary. The only downside was the hot selection. It may have been out for sometime but was very dry and overcooked.

Overall, considering we only paid just under £36 for the two of us, our stay was very good and the only downsides were the smell of stale tobacco in the corridors, the noisy air conditioning and the overcooked and dry hot selection at breakfast. If in the area, we would consider staying again if we got a similar deal.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
4.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
326 reviews
4.7 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Address: Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate > Minster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Price Range: £43 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Kent's Award winning Hotel. Serving Thanet with 105 contemporary en-suite bedrooms, 3 conference suites and Bar and Restaurant. Located on the site of the Prospect Inn featured in many WWII films. The Place to "Meet, Eat and Sleep" in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Hotel Ramsgate
Holiday Inn Ramsgate
Ramsgate Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing