We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last reviewed this hotel June 2012 Its still a good Holiday Inn Express but!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Stayed here Sat 14th Dec, check in was great as always. We were given a standard non smoking room no. 142 on the ground floor that absolutely stank of smoke! Its not that anyone had been smoking in it, its because the intake for the air-con must be somewhere near where the front doors are and where all the smokers always congregate! Why lots of holiday inns allow smoking right beside the front doors beats me I must say. Its horrid having to walk into the hotel passed all the smokers puffing away.

If you're a non smoker ask for a room as far away as possible from the entrance to the hotel.

Apart from that complaint this hotel is good one its clean with great staff but a place with a characterless Bar and Restaurant. Nothing much mote to say really, it's what I would expect for this class of hotel. Eat your meals across the road at the pub adjoining the Premiere Inn!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Phil1957,

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. We certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced

We were disappointed to read that you had a inconvenient experience when you stayed at our hotel. We are pleased that our staff was able to off set this displeasure with great service.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,
Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago hotel nice staff friendly, beds not comfortable, breakfast was average. The beans where freezing cold sausage wasn't the best and scrambled egg was cold, but you do have other choices of Danish pastries plenty of coffee yogurts cereals

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Pamela P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you found our staff friendly and breakfast up to par with your expectations. I apologize if your stay was negatively affected by the condition of your bed. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Ideal location if visiting Manston Airport.
Comfortable room, tea and coffee available in room.
Nice bar but no restaurant which means going out to get a meal.
Breakfast buffet is OK but could be better, scambled egg not nice.
Good parking.

Room Tip: Smuggler Retreat a short walk away for pub type evening meal. For kids - Macdonalds opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_Goold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We like to make our business clients feel at home. I look forward to seeing you again. D Otteson Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We are regulars here - we have family in the area. Always the room is clean, well maintained and (if you ask for a room at the back) quiet. Staff unfailingly polite and helpful. Superb value for money. We will be back again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear PB32
We really appreciate your feed back and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit
David GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I'll start by saying that I stayed as part of a group of 5 at this hotel in September 2013.
We had a few issues whilst we were there, but they were dealt with well and I'd put this hotel at 3.5 stars.

ARRIVAL
The hotel was well located for a wedding down the road at Quex House. It had ample parking, was situated right opposite a pub and a McDonalds and despite the quite dreary outside of the building, the inside reception area was modern and welcoming.
The staff were friendly and helpful. However, we had been told we could arrive an hour earlier to change for the nearby wedding. When we arrived we were told we could, but it was a £20 early check-in fee. Considering a whole night room rate was £45, I thought £20 for an hour was pretty extortionate!

There is a barrier to get in and out of the car park. Apparently you need a token to get out - only when we went to find out about this, after no-one answering our calls at the barrier buzzer, the reception was empty?

ROOM
The room was exactly what you'd expect and hope. A good, comfortable bed. A television, storage space, kettle and a bathroom with shower only. I was pleased with the room - it was modern, warm, inviting and although basic, exactly what you'd want and need for £45 a night.

We had a pretty good nights sleep, although it was cut short by the cleaners deciding to hoover outside our door at 7:30 - 7:45. This was annoying and very unwelcome! I like the hotel to be kept clean, but there is a time and a place.

BREAKFAST
The breakfast is help yourself with sausages, beans, toast, pastries and juices/coffee/tea available. Overall, it was basic and not your 'premium local sausages', but it really hit the spot in the morning. I thought this was a bit highlight, because it's unusual and easy for the hotel. Full marks to them!

ISSUES
The issues mentioned above were raised with the hotel manager and I have to say, I was extremely pleased with how they were dealt with.
I've informed the barrier is going to be removed and the other matters dealt with.

I've got some real positives about this hotel. It's clean, warm and comfortable. And lets face it, that's what you want from a hotel. There are just a few issues to iron out and this becomes a really competitive local hotel.

Would I stay again? In a word: yes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

1.5 to go
We have room to improve before your next visit
David O GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming reception staff. Excellent service throughout. Good quality room with all facilities. Excellent breakfast. Faultless. Strongly recommend. Booked online very good rate. Cheaper than nearest similar ie. Travel Lodge and Premier Inn which we have also used before. BUT Holiday Inn Express much better value for money

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Terry
Thank you for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure to be of service.
D Otteson G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here overnight as we were going to a party nearby. So easy to find, just off A299/A253, Lovely Art Deco building. Check in was very efficient and nice smiley friendly staff. They told us all we needed to know, room location, where the breakfast would be served etc. Light spacious and airy reception/bar/lobby area.

Room very nice, roomy and clean. Crisp sheets and towels. Only grumbles were the basin was cracked which didnt look nice and there was rust/grime around the shower area. Plenty of pillows of varying firmness.

I didnt have breakfast but my partner did. He was disappointed as much of the breakfast items had 'run out' - no croissants and scrambled egg and only a tea plate to put his breakfast.

Excellent value overall. We paid only £46 with the advanced booking saver.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review. As you are only in a few miles away in Maidstone we look forward to seeing you again.
David Otteson Gen Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
4.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
334 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
3.4 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Address: Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate > Minster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Price Range: £43 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Kent's Award winning Hotel. Serving Thanet with 105 contemporary en-suite bedrooms, 3 conference suites and Bar and Restaurant. Located on the site of the Prospect Inn featured in many WWII films. The Place to "Meet, Eat and Sleep" in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Hotel Ramsgate
Holiday Inn Ramsgate
Ramsgate Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing