We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights 12 to the 17 August 2014 room 228 Premier inn was fully booked, so we thought we would try another chain. Not disappointed. nice room quiet location at back of Hotel. very clean took a while to get used to the soap dispensers , Breakfast included in price, Same every day, sausage egg and beans , help yourself also lots of cereal fruit toast cheese jams even apples and oranges . we had peppermint or green tea ( usually have normal tea ) really enjoyed our stay and would stay again, Price wise I think comparable with others. (cheaper than the caravan we booked last year. ) Staff very helpfull and polite and the wifi actually works , things to do Vist Whitstable very nice, Sandwich, and a must is the war time tunnels in Ramsgate ( book before going as tours get filled up very quickly ) and the spitfire museum and of course Canterbury. No evening meals available at Hotel we went across road to smugglers long wait and didnt seem that many in there. harversters in Beltinge and Ramsgate very good .

Room Tip: ours was at the rear not a good view but as we only came in at night and closed curtains no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher_gunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
christopher_gunn
I hope that now you have found us you will become a convert.
Best wishes
David
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    203
    106
    28
    22
See reviews for
139
190
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice now whilst visiting family.
Really good location, nice and quiet, easy to find from the road.
The rooms are really spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped, really can't fault the rooms at all!!
Breakfast included in the room rate is really good value, it would be nice if breakfast was a bit better though!
Quite low quality food but plenty of it (help yourself buffet). The tea bags are also very low quality, very grey looking tea!!
Free wifi across the hotel but you need a password which is displayed on the checking in desk, this changes everyday so when you get up the next morning your wifi won't work!! It would be a better idea to change the password at check out time!!
Overall a good hotel, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foolchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Foolchild
hank you bothy for taking the time to visit us and for your very nice review.
Best wishes
David
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This hotel has lots of positives. It is very conveniently situated, being just off the road to Ramsgate, and has lots of free parking. The receptionist was very welcoming and efficient. We had a large room, rather spartan but with everything that you could need for an overnight stop. My only criticism is that the double bed was rather narrow, with a cheap mattress which really wasn’t very comfortable. The ensuite was well designed but, if you don’t like industrial style shower gel, I suggest that you bring your own soap. The free wifi connection was consistently reliable. Breakfast was OK; gloopy scrambled egg, tasteless sausages, but very nice bread and, whatever you may think of the overall quality, there was certainly plenty of it. It’s easy to find somewhere to eat in the evening. We drove into Minster and ate cheaply at The Bell which has good parking. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express, and would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Dear KWD 11
Thank you for this lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again.
David GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We considered booking to stay here for our next break, but were deterred by the fact that prices are substantially more expensive than our last stay in April this year (when we paid £44 a night).

Breakfast is canteen-ish - but generally adequate (do wish they knew how to cook scrambled egg!) and as others have mentioned, VERY crowded sometimes. We stayed in a basement room and found our room clammy and it felt damp.

I was concerned that after we parked our hire car, large commercial vans also parked in the same part of the car park, one was parked very close to our car, and we later noticed a scratch on it (which we got charged for). They should arrange separate parking for commercial vehicles

.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Maggie M
Thank you for leaving feedback.
You are quite correct. Hotel room rates do vary through out the year in east Kent. I believe this to be the case in most areas. Summer is defiantly our high season. And as you say at this time of year we are very buisy.
Best Wishes
David GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express, nice rooms - clean, well appointed but still a nasty price to pay for movies and especially WiFi. Come on IHG - this should now be free across the estate.

Then we come to breakfast - what a catastrophe!! The place was in a state of total devastation. Untrained staff wandering aimlessly around the place, untrained and unaware of what was going on around them - they didn't even smile. The coffee machine was overflowing the buffet had no content, croissant, eggs, sausage, bread, jam, - anything!!!! Juice glasses were hot coffee cold service hopeless. Never mind the next day would be better?? Err no! Still the same staff - no improvement from the previous day. This needs simple, basic organisation. Control the buffet, control the customers and liaise with the kitchen. The rest of the untrained masses - clear tables - finished, end of. No staff can't have a break during service, no they can't have a fang, do what you are paid to do and do it to the best of your ability. At present the entire hotel is being let down by third rate incompetent breakfasts staff. Housekeeping - you are fantastic!!!

Room Tip: All room are good - excellent in fact - just go early for breakfast because Armageddon starts after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timthetrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Timthetrainer
thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I can only apologise. Nearly 300 people descended on the breakfast room at the same time. I hope we see you again and wish you well.
David GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very friendly hotel staff. Room adequate for an H I Express but the sofa bed wasn't clean and had marks on it. Air con very loud and had to shut it off but as it was so hot, had to open the window which allowed the bugs in! Breakfast time was a real experience as it looked like all the guests had decided to have breakfast at the same time. We had to wait for ages for the items (which weren't many) to get replenished! Nice location though, with Ramsgate & Margate only minutes away. Nice bonus was that there's also a nice museum literally a couple of minutes away dedicated to the Hawker Hurricane and Spitfire!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PradBit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear PradBit,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and the friendliness of our staff. We would like to apologize you were not well satisfied with the room accommodations you received and the challenges you had in our breakfast area. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night only and it was comfortable clean and modern.
The room was well fitted out tea coffe machine, flat screen tv clean bathroom comfy bed (a bit small) but overall pleasing.

Breakfast was good and enough choice (except no bacon on the menu :(.
In general a great place to stay whilst travelling.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Stephen J
Thank you for leaving a review.
I hope an next time you stay more than one night.
David GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
3.5 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Property: Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Address: Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate > Minster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Kent's Award winning Hotel. Serving Thanet with 105 contemporary en-suite bedrooms, 3 conference suites and Bar and Restaurant. Located on the site of the Prospect Inn featured in many WWII films. The Place to "Meet, Eat and Sleep" in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Hotel Ramsgate
Holiday Inn Ramsgate
Ramsgate Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing