We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient hotel for journey stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Wales
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel for journey stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Stayed at this hotel for an overnight stay having booked on-line last minute through hotels.com.. Very convenient location, found very easily off main highway. Plenty of parking spaces, and polite reception staff made booking in easy smooth process.

We had smoking rooms, and although a slight smell of smoke in corridor, room was freshened and clean with all the amenities tv, hairdryer, reading lights etc.required. Bathroom was good size with shower and good lighting. Holiday inn have a policy to help out if you have forgotten a toiletry item, one of our party needed a toothbrush and so a call to reception and a new travel type one was supplied. Good holiday inn service.

Breakfast was good, with a wide choice of cereals, fruit, pastries, breads, etc., although was slightly disappointed that only scambled egg and bacon available as cooked items,and that no beans,mushrooms, sausage etc., so no full english. Liked that the tables and chairs were well placed with good spacing, so the dining area although busy and plenty of guests never felt cramped.

The hotel is ideal for a journey stopover or as a base for visiting Margate, Broadstairs and Ramsgate areas.
Will have no hesitation in booking to stay here again when next in area.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mxcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    203
    106
    28
    22
See reviews for
139
190
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
sidcup
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed at the Holiday inn for a wedding ner by. It was a nice place to stay and an interesting building which has been done up to a very good standard by Holiday Inn. If you are having breakfast, make sure you get there early as the area that food is put out is not very big for the amount of people staying in the hotel. Apart from that the rooms were clean and pleasant, the stay was comfortable

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

We have just stayed 2 nights at this hotel and found it very comfortable with friendly and accommodating staff. The rooms are quite small but it was very well-priced and we only use a hotel for overnight accommodation. The breakfast was also very good. My only gripe was that the room was rather stuffy, despite having the window open and aircon on, but it was unseasonably warm for September!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ishouldcocouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom_hungston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Folks,

Normally I don't get impressed with the service too easily as I'm a fussy git. lol :-)
When I checked in the hotel on 17th September 2010 it was very quick and easy check in. We got settled in our room and found that the phone line wasn't working so upon request the hotel staff promptly sent the maintenance engineer within 2minutes and he suggested that its not an quick fix and will take at least an hour to fix it. so the lovely staff at the reception changed our room which was great.

The hotel is in the middle of no where but if you have a car you can always drive to near by towns, so we did and we went to Margate and we werent impressed, Margate needs a face lift a big time. as I do believe that Margate has the potential and I hope Govt. will do something for the people of Margate. Also another thing to visit is Shell Grotto in Margate, Its a must see if you are in the area. It is very beautiful place to visit.

so on Saturday morning we had our breakfast and it was very quiet so we had the whole breakfast area to ourself :-) very clean and tidy breakfast area I have to say. on the way back from breakfast I asked the hotel staff (it was a young lad who goes to university near High Wycombe and a young girl in black skirt) about the places to visit around the area and they have given plenty of information about the places to visit, best restaurants around the area and the most useful information Re: pubs and clubs which are in broadstairs town centre. I didnt' get chance to speak to this two staff members to say thank you for everything you've done during our stay.

On sunday morning the breakfast area was in chaos as the hotel was fully booked and everybody decided to have breakfast at 9am :-) and the fun begins, there weren't enough staff to clear tables, replanish things like bread slices, coffee mugs, drink glass, etc. but the staff members were doing their best they can to sort out things. In particular the two staff memebers I have mentioned earlier ( the young lad and the young girl in black skirt) were doing most of the running around and cleaning. so I would recommend to go to breakfast table early in the morning when hotel is fully booked. But don't let this put you off. Its like this everywhere you go. and specially for the price this hotel offers and the staff member's happy and helpful attitude towards the customers, you can't complain.

And finally there wasn't any croissants left and once again upon request the lovely staff members made us freshly baked croissants specially for us and delivered it to our table. Now where can you get a great service like that.

In a nutshell I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone and staff members couldn't be more helpful. They ware lovely people and if I'm ever in the area I'll definitely pop in to say hello and have a drink at the bar. :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom_hungston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

Stopped here for one night prior to flying from Manston Airport (rather amusingly titled "Kent International"). The hotel was basic but came up to scratch. The breakfast was good, although dinner the previous evening had been somewhat, er, plain. There's the village of Minster about half a mile due south, so you do have alternatives for dining.
The hotel's location wouldn't win an award for Outstanding Natural Beauty either, but at least it's semi-rural. And for a quick link to the airport it's brilliant. Five minutes and you're there. The WiFi hook up is £6 a day.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigraz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We booked this Holiday Inn last minute as a stop off point to break our journey up & due to having an early Crossing the following day thought it would make our trip easier as travelling with a 6month old baby. We was very pleased with accomodation, room/bathroom was very clean & staff were very friendly & happy to help. We checked in late & checked out early so we never sampled the breakfast on offer but we had bar food on arrival evening which was nice. We would definately use this Hotel again if travelling by ferry again as very handy & was not too expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horsey_hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback.
This is very useful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Don't ever choose Holiday Inn or any other IHG hotel as their management have no compassion. We had to cancel our booking due to a family member becoming seriously ill but a refund was not granted even though the reason for cancelling was totally outside our control. The Chief Operating Officer, Andrew Coslett, didn't even reply to my letter of complaint, not even to offer best wishes. When I chased up the letter myself, I was brushed off with no sympathy or compassion.
I will never, ever, choose an IHG property again and I urge fellow travellers to think twice before booking with this group.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank watgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
3.5 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Property: Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Address: Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate > Minster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Kent's Award winning Hotel. Serving Thanet with 105 contemporary en-suite bedrooms, 3 conference suites and Bar and Restaurant. Located on the site of the Prospect Inn featured in many WWII films. The Place to "Meet, Eat and Sleep" in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Hotel Ramsgate
Holiday Inn Ramsgate
Ramsgate Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing