We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel also a superb wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilston Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chilston Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel also a superb wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you wish for a wedding of your dreams, look no further than Chilston Park Hotel. Everything is taken care of to the finest detail. They give an excellent service along with delicious food served with fantastic wine. You are able to book the hotel for exclusive use for your wedding party. I guarantee you will have a day to remember for always.

If you would like a getaway break they offer a fantastic Sunday deal, Cream Tea, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast.

You must stay at this fantastic hotel either for a family wedding or a well deserved break from your busy world. Every hotel should offer customer service to the level Chilston Park Hotel give.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for this favourable review and kind words relating to the hotel. It is wonderful to read that your event was such an enjoyable one with many happy memories being created.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    222
    100
    52
    18
See reviews for
167
485
7
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed on business one night, and found the hotel to be excellent. Good value, nice location, al lovely clean and fresh room, comfortable bed, excellent dinner, and superb breakfast. No faults. Handpicked Hotels succeed once again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it is really pleasing to read that your time with us was so enjoyable. I hope that you choose to stay with us or indeed with in the Hand Picked Hotels collection again.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Chilston for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. We both have attended party's and sit down meals here before but not stayed over night. From checking in to checking out our stay was perfect. We stayed in the Camelot room which had plenty of character and a lovely four poster bed. It was warm and cosy. Our package included a bottle of champagne, dinner and breakfast. When we went down to the restaurant for dinner we were a little early to be seated at our table so we were made welcome in the lounge with its grand fireplace. Once at our table, our waiter was attentive and polite. We also could share a joke with him and he made us feel very comfortable. The food was amazing and was a good portion size. Cannot fault it at all and the chef gave it his own personal touch with chocolate piped into 'happy anniversary' which made us feel special. It was very quiet in our room and couldn't hear any outside noise from the grounds or the corridors. We both had a good nights sleep and breakfast was lovely. All in all it was a wonderful stay and almost felt like we were in a dream world, especially when we were in the room. We will definitely come back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Guest
I am delighted to read that your stay was such an enjoyable one, with so many areas standing out for praise. It is really pleasing to read that the little touches such as the decorated dessert plate went down so well.
Thank you for your review and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We love our short breaks in country house hotels, and this one did not disappoint. I was a little worried before arriving as some other reviews had mentioned small beds and slow service, but this was definitely not our experience.

We only ate in the main restaurant on our final night (out of 3) but would make this more often if we return in the future - a really lovely menu, and great quality food and wine.

If I were to be picky, I can only think of one thing that I would change, and that would be the background music playing in the public areas. Not quite "pan pipes" but instrumental versions of classic numbers that were nearly as bland! During our meal, it thankfully changed to a little low level Norah Jones, Katie Melhua, George Michael et al - nothing heavy that could possibly offend and much more in keeping. Obviously this is a personal choice, but I don't know anyone who appreciates wall to wall elevator musak...

All in all (musak notwithstanding), I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a short break in the Kent countryside.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Deco" and it was very comfortable with a 6ft bed. Odd place for the tv (on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dryllig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here at Chilston Park. I am pleased that your experience was an enjoyable one with many positive aspects being mentioned. However I am apologetic that some of our music selection did not meet your own personal tastes. We do our best to meet everyone’s musical tastes, but on occasion it is not possible to fore fill the expectations of our wide range of guests who visit the hotel. I really do hope that this did not detract to much from your overall enjoyment of the hotel and the services on offer.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed for one night and our package included a bottle of champagne in our room, dinner, bed and breakfast. We arrived on a wet, miserable afternoon but our stay more than made up for the weather. From the perfectly chilled champagne waiting for us to the very friendly and attentive staff at dinner we had a perfectly lovely night, only wished we could have stayed longer. Loved the elegant sunken, marble lounge for pre dinner drinks and the maitre'd. And the bathrobes, nice touch!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzygib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Is delighting to read that your experience was a good one with many positive aspects of service and surrounds standing out for mention.
I very much hope that you will chose to stay with us again in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

In the last two weeks we have visited the hotel twice. Once for a 2 night stay and once for lunch with our daughter. During our visit we stayed in an outside room with a lovely four poster bed and everything we needed. On the first day we had booked afternoon tea. The quality and service as usual was 100%. The food is well presented, appetizing and plentiful. The staff are very attentive but not intrusive. The following evening we dined in the restaurant. Again 100% in every way. Food is exquisite. Timing between courses just right. Service impecable. The breakfast on both mornings was just the same high quality as all the other meals. There was a large choice ranging from continental buffet to a cooked breakfast. This is not our first stay as we have returned many times due to the pleasantness and helpfulness of the staff at all times and the lovely surroundings and atmosphere.
It is so lovely to relax in the lounge and recharge our batteries. Always sad when we have to check out and can't wait to return as we cannot fault this fine establishment.

Room Tip: We have stayed inside ond outside and have always been happy with both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest
It is really pleasing to read that the team at Chilston Park has delivered so many memorable experiences to you and remains a favourite place for you to visit. It was also great to read that so many aspects of your most recent stay met your expectations, this is really positive feedback to receive.
Thank you for reviewing us and I hope to see you back at the hotel again in the near future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed on a Wednesday night during half term and the hotel was very quite and peaceful as there were no functions. We found all the staff outstanding in their attention to our comfort and all greeted us by our names which was a lovely touch. Our package included breakfast, pre dinner wine, canapes and a three course evening meal, all outstanding. The wine and canapes served in the relaxing music room by the fire a lovely touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 160Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your short stay with us here at Chilston Park. I am really please that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
7.8 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
8.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
16.0 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilston Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilston Park Hotel

Property: Chilston Park Hotel
Address: Boughton Road | Sandway, Lenham ME17 2BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chilston Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grade 1 listed Chilston Park offers one of the most exclusive hotels in Kent. Set back from tree-lined lanes, the manor house at Chilston Park Hotel in Kent is set in 22 acres of parkland and features a two AA rosette restaurant. One of the most best loved hotels in Kent, over the years Chilston Park has been a home to eminent politicians, writers, Lords and Viscounts. Today it is a classic British country house hotel with plenty of style and charm and one of the most perfect wedding or leisure destinations in Kent. But perhaps the most remarkable aspect of this 4 AA red star hotels in Kent are the antiques and history that surround it. The hotel has many interesting artefacts that date as far back as the 17th century manor house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Chilston Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilston Park Maidstone
Hotel Chilston Park
Chilston Park Hotel Lenham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing