We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chilston Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence
Esssex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This year marks the ten anniversary of a large family gathering at Chilston for Boxing Day Lunch & overnight stay. This year as in recent years we ate in the Library which was attractively decorated. The food was was very good from a small but well varied menu. The roast beef got particularly good reviews. The service (Becky) was excellent and attentive but not overwhelming. The evening service (sorry no name) was also very good. The room was spacious and comfortable and the staff had no problem organising a breakfast earlier than requested due to Southern Rails inability to run any trains from Lenham.
Overall an excellent event will be back for number eleven

Room Tip: If you like a large and spacious twin try Safari or those prefering a medieval twist a large double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddy_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Chilston Park. It is wonderful to read that your annual pilgrimage to the hotel was an enjoyable one with so many positive experiences being noted. I will certainly ensure that Becky is made aware of your lovely comments regarding the service provided. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back later in the year for number eleven!
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    226
    102
    52
    19
See reviews for
170
495
7
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Despite there being various Christmas Parties and a Wedding we received the usual first class service. As ever the food was some of the best to be found in the area. Great choices at Dinner. Breakfast to die for ! Nothing too much trouble so well deserves it's plaudits.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yojo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest
I am delighted to read that our normal levels of guest care and service were delivered to you during your recent stay with us here at Chilston Park. It is especially pleasing to read that although the hotel was busy at the time the team looked after you so well and the food quality met your expectations.
I hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My room was described as Executive in the Manor building , but it wasn't . No separate shower , no Mini Bar , and the room had pretty average decor and furniture.

The staff however were friendly and tried very hard. Room service breakfast was fine ( but no butter with the toast to be picky).

Given you have to try hard to find this place which is a good distance from the M20 it is not really an overnight executive stopover in my book.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ahomer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your expectations were not met on this occasion. A full listing of the facilities on offer within our room types can be found on our website. Unfortunately none of the items noted within your review are provided within this room type, they can however be found within our feature rooms and suites which would seem to be more suited to your expectations. Please accept my apologies for the oversight on our part when delivering your room service breakfast, I will certainly ensure that more focus is applied in this area. I am pleased that you found the team to be friendly during your stay; this is certainly a positive we can be pleased with.
Once again thank you for your review.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Attended a wedding in November. What a beautiful Hotel set in lovely grounds!
From start to finish the whole day was fantastic! Food, Bedrooms and the staff couldn't do enough for us!
Will be back to stay again in the near future!!
Was really nice to have the whole hotel for the wedding to ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoydSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest
It is wonderful to read that the wedding celebrations you attended were so enjoyable. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team who I am sure will be thrilled to receive such positive comments. It is great to read that you will be looking to return to the hotel again in the future and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We experienced a warm welcome on a damp winter evening by hotel reception staff, and enjoyed a leisurely round of drinks in the warm and welcoming lounge where the quality of service and attention to detail was commendable.
A superb dinner in the beautifully lit and appointed dining room by a real log fire was enhanced by the friendly, informed but unobtrusive attention of the restaurant manager. Our meal was unhurried and superbly cooked and presented.
Coffee and after dinner drinks in the lounge completed a memorable evening and a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bairstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us and thank you for the positive feedback. We do hope that you choose to visit us again and thank you for taking a moment to review us.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you wish for a wedding of your dreams, look no further than Chilston Park Hotel. Everything is taken care of to the finest detail. They give an excellent service along with delicious food served with fantastic wine. You are able to book the hotel for exclusive use for your wedding party. I guarantee you will have a day to remember for always.

If you would like a getaway break they offer a fantastic Sunday deal, Cream Tea, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast.

You must stay at this fantastic hotel either for a family wedding or a well deserved break from your busy world. Every hotel should offer customer service to the level Chilston Park Hotel give.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for this favourable review and kind words relating to the hotel. It is wonderful to read that your event was such an enjoyable one with many happy memories being created.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed on business one night, and found the hotel to be excellent. Good value, nice location, al lovely clean and fresh room, comfortable bed, excellent dinner, and superb breakfast. No faults. Handpicked Hotels succeed once again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it is really pleasing to read that your time with us was so enjoyable. I hope that you choose to stay with us or indeed with in the Hand Picked Hotels collection again.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
7.8 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
8.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
16.0 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilston Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilston Park Hotel

Property: Chilston Park Hotel
Address: Boughton Road | Sandway, Lenham ME17 2BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chilston Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grade 1 listed Chilston Park offers one of the most exclusive hotels in Kent. Set back from tree-lined lanes, the manor house at Chilston Park Hotel in Kent is set in 22 acres of parkland and features a two AA rosette restaurant. One of the most best loved hotels in Kent, over the years Chilston Park has been a home to eminent politicians, writers, Lords and Viscounts. Today it is a classic British country house hotel with plenty of style and charm and one of the most perfect wedding or leisure destinations in Kent. But perhaps the most remarkable aspect of this 4 AA red star hotels in Kent are the antiques and history that surround it. The hotel has many interesting artefacts that date as far back as the 17th century manor house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chilston Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilston Park Maidstone
Hotel Chilston Park
Chilston Park Hotel Lenham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing