We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Grade 1 listed building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chilston Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I choose to stay at this Country House Hotel for 1 night, as a much needed break. I was looking for a country hotel, one where I could enjoy the hotel grounds, as well as relax and enjoy some quality accommodation. Chilston Park Hotel did not let me down!

This is a beautiful building; photos do not do justice for this place. You have to visit.

I am pleased I chose a room in the Main house (there are Mews also). It really feels like you are in the original building, from times long gone. The pictures on the walls, the grand staircase, the lovely furnishings, the antiques and artefacts...it all makes this hotel feel like your home from 17th century.

Afternoon Tea in the Lounge was delicious, and relaxing.

Dinner was very good. I can recommend dinner here, even if you are not staying. Breakfast too was good, with plenty of choice.

Reception staff are very helpful and friendly. On check in, we were escorted to our room.

Our room was very lovely. Quite spacious for a twin room. A gorgeous touch was Larry the Lamb (teddy bear) on one bed - you can buy Larry, or one of his brothers or sisters from reception. A very adorable touch!

It was nice to see a (fire) map on the walls of the hotel, which gave you more understanding of the size of the hotel. Each room seems to be different in size, which sets this hotel aside from the "chain hotels"! Plenty of character in this hotel.

There are several private dining rooms, which all looked very appealing. There appears to be plenty of function/wedding room options too.

We took a walk around the immediate grounds of the hotel, with plenty of outdoor seating to while away a relaxing day. The grounds are well manicured.

This short stay did not let me down. I would definitely stay here again. And would use other Handpickedhotels.co.uk again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank High-Flier-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you your very kind words regarding your stay with us. I am really pleased to read that the team looked after you so well and there were lots of very positive experiences for you during your stay. I am glad that we managed to provide the setting for a relaxing short break.
The team and I do hope that we able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 986 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Scenic drive up to an even more amazing view of the hotel and grounds. Greeted by porter and taken into reception. We were several hours early so room wasn't ready. Registered in and sat in the garden with a pimms. There was a wedding party in the conservatory which looked very nice. We had a huge room with four poster bed. Tea,coffee and ironing board. Still & sparkling water by the bed. A soft cute Larry the Lamb was the do not disturb sign. Large bathroom. The rooms have names. We were in Rajah ( elephant decor). Our room was in the main house but there are rooms also in a beautiful courtyard. We had dinner in the hotel with friends. The food was exceptionally good so was the choice of breakfast. Good selection of wines. Staff friendly and efficient. We stayed two very relaxing nights. Will definitely stay here again when next we visit with our friends who recommended it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest
I am really pleased to read that your stay with us was relaxing one that proved to be most enjoyable. Thank you for the kind words relating to the performance of the team and several aspects of the facilities offered throughout the hotel. The team and I very much look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A couple of months ago I experienced some poor service during afternoon tea at the Chilston Park Hotel, however as soon as the hotel found out about this they contacted me & kindly offered for me to come back for a complimentary visit.

I must say second time round it was like being at a different hotel; the service this time was excellent. We were ascorted from the car park, shown to our table and seen to straight away. All the waitresses were very friendly and attentive, and the food was lovely.

We had such a pleasent visit this time round, and I would happily recommend the afternoon tea here. I would recommend asking to be seated in the lounge area when booking, rather than the restaurant area. We felt it had a much more relaxed & comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Steph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you your kind words, I am really pleased to read that your return visit to us was such an enjoyable one. As mentioned during our discussions at the time I did feel that your experience was very much a one off and am glad that this has been proven to be the case with the high level of service and guest care delivered to you on this occasion.
Once again thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and I hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife & I got married at Chilston Park last month and we had the most amazing wedding day and wouldn't change a single thing about it.

We chose the coach house package with the ceremony in the orangery which made a lovely change of scenery for everyone on the day. The staff made the day seamless. A massive thank you to Vicky (our co-ordinator) for being so thorough in the build up to the wedding and Becky and Kerrin for being there on the day and making all the plans run smoothly and making us feel so comfortable. Nothing was too much or un thought of before we could think of it.

It was the coach house area which ticked all of our boxes; the character of the stables, the size suited our numbers, the hog roast in the evening! and the fact everyone can stay over in around the courtyard was fantastic and so relaxing for all our guests.

The bride spent the night before in the Queen Anne room with her bridesmaids which is a beautiful huge room and apparently has a massively comfortable bed!! They had the most relaxing morning of the wedding with the makeup artist, hairdresser and florist all coming to the room.

Feedback form guests has been great - they were particularly pleased with the standard of their rooms.

Just a few other notes:
Canapes after the ceremony were great - especially the prawn tempura.
Breakfast the next morning was in the main hotel - huge amount of choice from the buffet.
breakfast the next morning - lots of choice. relaxed.

We stayed in the Tudor Suite the night of the wedding which was huge and made us feel very special.

We look forward to re visiting Chilston in the future many times as it will hold truly great memories for us all.

Room Tip: Tudor Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clifford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest
I am really delighted to read that your wedding day here at Chilston Park was such a success and proved to be a really special day for you and your guests. Thank you so much for the kind words relating to the team at the hotel, it’s great to read that once again they have excelled themselves with the levels of guest care offered. We all hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a beautiful venue for a wedding! Inside and out this was truly spectacular. We were particularly impressed with the room we stayed in overnight which was separate from the main building in a lovely courtyard (sorry cannot remember the name!), really luxurious and so comfortable. Food was great, staff were very helpful and friendly, we'd love to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for this review I am delighted that your stay with us was so enjoyable and you had a good time celebrating the bride and grooms special day. Hope that we see you again here at Chilston Park.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed two nights here for a NYE wedding and it was amazing. For anyone considering a wedding venue, it was perfect (I think that's all they do), but here I'll just talk about it from a hotel perspective. I stayed in two rooms in two nights because they had different wedding parties on consecutive nights. First night I was in the stable block, which is just across a small courtyard from the main building. The room was small but charming and had everything you needed, including a comfortable bed and a teddy bear. The next night I was in one of the main rooms in the beautiful manor house, and it was amazing - huge, grand, four poster bed, beautiful old bathroom, lovely views across the gardens to the river. I really hadn't expected it to be so lovely. I felt like I was on the set of a costume drama. The only shame was as I was there for a wedding I was barely going to be in it. I'm not saying it was opulent luxury, but it was very special. Overall the manor house was beautiful (not actually as big and grand as Downton, just to be clear!) but a historic building carefully modernised. The staff were all great too, very accommodating to my very particular friend's million requests, and we had a great wedding.

Room Tip: If possible in the main house, they all seemed amazing - and there are special ones for the bride &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fikoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest
I am delighted that your visit to Chilston Park was such an enjoyable one and that a good time was had by all during the wedding celebrations. The house really does have that period feel about it in places and I am really pleased that it proved to be the perfect setting for the events of the day. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful afternoon,fantastic staff couldnt have done anymore for the wedding party.The only niggle was the carrots could have been peeled and potato portion could have been a little larger
but that is just me being picky.Everything else was perfect.I think our party is planning to come back for a Christmas party night as we had so much fun yesterday.Thank you for making our friends wedding day so lovely.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest
Great to read that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and I hope that we do see you again for the festive celebrations.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
7.8 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,328 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
6.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
728 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 17 in Maidstone
1,661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilston Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilston Park Hotel

Address: Boughton Road | Sandway, Lenham, Maidstone ME17 2BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Lenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range: £84 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chilston Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grade 1 listed Chilston Park offers one of the most exclusive hotels in Kent. Set back from tree-lined lanes, the manor house at Chilston Park Hotel in Kent is set in 22 acres of parkland and features a two AA rosette restaurant. One of the most best loved hotels in Kent, over the years Chilston Park has been a home to eminent politicians, writers, Lords and Viscounts. Today it is a classic British country house hotel with plenty of style and charm and one of the most perfect wedding or leisure destinations in Kent. But perhaps the most remarkable aspect of this 4 AA red star hotels in Kent are the antiques and history that surround it. The hotel has many interesting artefacts that date as far back as the 17th century manor house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Chilston Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilston Park Maidstone
Hotel Chilston Park
Chilston Park Hotel Lenham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing