We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£205
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
£205
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
£184
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,331 results
Traveller rating
772
299
152
75
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
772
299
152
75
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea lovely grounds main building extensive grounds wedding breakfast four poster bed handpicked hotels country house hotel scones kent countryside wedding reception enjoyable stay overnight stay evening meal birthday treat short break poached eggs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,331 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2023

Chilston park is in a lovely setting and so easy to get to. We have stayed there before and liked it, and the dining room is graceful.

This time we asked if we could use a birthday present voucher for champagne tea for two, and have, instead, Sunday lunch for three, paying the difference.

The menu was fine, three choices for each of three courses, including traditional roast beef. We all decided to skip starters and have main course and pudding, with wine by the glass. The wine was fine. Two of us chose beef which was, sadly, tough and difficult to cut even when we asked for steak knives. The main course didn't arrive until half an hour after we ordered it and we weren't even given bread promptly to fill the gap (although butter arrived mysteriously alone).

We then ordered desserts and coffee. Coffee arrived but no desserts, and after 20 minutes we asked what had happened. That brought us an apology that the pudding two of us had ordered wasn't available that day at all. So we all said we'd keep the coffee, have another pot and asked for the "Petit Fours" which were printed with the coffee on the menu. The second pot of coffee then arrived with chocolates and fudge.

Sadly the waiting staff were not watching the tables, which added to the delay when we needed help. Just main course and coffee took two hours. As we left, amends were made by staff, who were most apologetic, and waived any further payment. We thank Chilston Park for their goodwill, but shall not be returning unless we hear reports of much better service training.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Dear Judy B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience for Sunday Lunch. It is disappointing to read that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. The team and I here at Chilston thrive on delivering excellent service and food and it is of an upmost importance to us to do this.

I know Rachel our Duty Manager has spoken with you directly. Please accept my sincere apologies and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks
Paul Pierce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

Chilston Park is such an incredible venue. Not only because of how it looks but also how attentive the staff are. We have been planning our wedding for years and the staff have been so helpful along the way. We took as many opportunities as we could to visit Chilston Park by attending the majority of the wedding open days which we were always welcomed to.
Jane was our wedding coordinator and she has been amazing. She was always quick to reply to emails or answer any questions, and there were a lot. Every little detail was gone other with a fine tooth comb to make sure that everything was as we wished. When it came to the wedding day, the staff surpassed our high expectations. There were so many small but thoughtful gestures which just made us feel so special. Lewis was our wedding day coordinator and he was incredible. He made sure that the day ran exactly as it should have and made sure we had everything we needed. The staff are a true testament to Chilston Park and we wouldn’t have gotten married anywhere else. We won’t be able to be strangers and will be returning as much as we possibly can.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jakejmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Dear Jakejmay,

Congratulations to you both and I am so happy that the team and I were able to deliver your perfect day. The pictures looked amazing.

The team and I work so hard on making sure the service is faultless and I am so happy that this has been recognised by you and your guests.

I am so happy to see that Jane and Lewis have been mentioned and I will make sure they receive such positive feedback along with the rest of the team.

Please do not be strangers, come back as many times as you wish. You are always very welcome and we look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks
Paul Pierce MIH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2023

We had an absolutely amazing Wedding day and can’t thank the team at Chilston Park enough for all their hard work in making our special day perfect in every way. We have both said that we wouldn’t have changed a thing.

Everything was above and beyond our expectations right from our first meeting to book our Wedding through to the end of our Wedding day and overnight stay. Our guests were absolutely thrilled with their rooms and we all plan to return again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Dear Sally C,

Many Congratulations to you both again! We wish you all the best for many years to come and we look forward to welcoming you back.

I have passed your feedback on to the team who were delighted to receive such great reviews from you and your guests.

The team focus on the detail and it is great to see that this has been noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks
Paul Pierce MIH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2023

This is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in, the staff and everything is top class, held my sons wedding there is was the most magnificent day possible thanks to all the staff at this hotel..

Room tip: This hotel is of the highest standard and deserves a mention.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 811dannyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Dear 811dannyj,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to note that this is the best hotel you have stayed at.

We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your sons wedding and we hope that you can all return in the future for Afternoon Tea, Lunch or an Overnight Stay.

I have passed your feedback on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many Thanks
Paul Pierce MIH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2023

We had our wedding at Chilston and it was the most special day! Deb and her team went above and beyond to ensure the wedding was spectacular! Thank you for an unforgettable day! I will cherish the memories forever.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mrstatum92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2023

Dear Mrstatum92,

Thank you for your feedback. Congratulations again from all of the team and I here at Chilston Park.

I am delighted that you had the most special wedding day. Deb and the team are fantastic and I am happy that this was seen by you and your guests.

Chilston is here for you to create many more memories for years to come. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Many Thanks
Paul Pierce MIH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews