We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£205
Fully refundable before Fri, 1 Mar
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£185
Breakfast included
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,327)
Filter reviews
1,327 results
Traveller rating
768
299
152
75
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
768
299
152
75
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea lovely grounds main building extensive grounds wedding breakfast four poster bed handpicked hotels country house hotel scones kent countryside wedding reception enjoyable stay overnight stay evening meal birthday treat short break poached eggs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,327 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2023 via mobile

Attended for a family members wedding!

I recently went to Chilston Park for a wedding and was blown away with the whole day!

From the food to service the day was incredible, we arrived and was greeted at the door by the wedding manager Lewis, he was very personable and knowledgeable about the building and clearly cares about his job.

Throughout the day the bar staff were very efficient and brilliant at providing the perfect service. The irish guy Matt was great at providing drinks efficiently and holding an interesting conversation. The other lad on the bar whose name I think was nathan was good too. Great bar service all round.

The evening was brilliantly organised by Matt and everything ran so smoothly. the buffet food was presented amazingly and tasty.

I can’t wait to return and experience the fine dining restaurant!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Flyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Flyn F,

Thank you for your recent feedback on the wedding you attended at Chilston Park Hotel. It is great to read about the fantastic experience you had. I can assure you that your feedback will be given to the team and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Many Thanks
Paul Pierce MIH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2023

We are regulars to Chilston Park Hotel, but for personal reasons have not visited in a while! We returned on Sunday for their Jazz Lunch and we were not disappointed! We were warmly greeted by Guy on Reception and shown to the beautiful Culpepper Dining Room. Lunch was absolutely delicious and very good value. We had : soup, roast beef/fish, sticky toffee pudding/cheese. All the staff, led so very well by Lewis, were charming and helpful. The beautiful vocalist just added to a fabulous lunch. A beautiful voice and a great selection of music. The last song - Time To Say Goodbye - made the hairs on our neck stand up! A wonderful Jazz lunch - thankyou Chilston, we shall be booking for the next one!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank K9676TCjans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

K9676TCjans,

Thank you for your recent review of our Jazz Lunch. We love putting on different experiences for our guests and our Jazz Sunday lunch is becoming more and more popular. I can assure you your feedback will be passed on to the team and we thank you for your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks
Paul Pierce MIH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2023

Brilliant place, nice restaurant.
Stayed in Cromwell room which was amazing. Felt like we went back in time as the hotel kept the all the features from the past. I loved the bathroom.
Staff are nice and helpful.
Keep up the good work.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank J9471QQdeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

J9471QQdeans,

Thank you for your recent review of your getaway at Chilston Park Hotel.
We have 53 different themed rooms that you can explore and rest in. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks
Paul Pierce MIH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2023

Chilston park is in a lovely setting and so easy to get to. We have stayed there before and liked it, and the dining room is graceful.

This time we asked if we could use a birthday present voucher for champagne tea for two, and have, instead, Sunday lunch for three, paying the difference.

The menu was fine, three choices for each of three courses, including traditional roast beef. We all decided to skip starters and have main course and pudding, with wine by the glass. The wine was fine. Two of us chose beef which was, sadly, tough and difficult to cut even when we asked for steak knives. The main course didn't arrive until half an hour after we ordered it and we weren't even given bread promptly to fill the gap (although butter arrived mysteriously alone).

We then ordered desserts and coffee. Coffee arrived but no desserts, and after 20 minutes we asked what had happened. That brought us an apology that the pudding two of us had ordered wasn't available that day at all. So we all said we'd keep the coffee, have another pot and asked for the "Petit Fours" which were printed with the coffee on the menu. The second pot of coffee then arrived with chocolates and fudge.

Sadly the waiting staff were not watching the tables, which added to the delay when we needed help. Just main course and coffee took two hours. As we left, amends were made by staff, who were most apologetic, and waived any further payment. We thank Chilston Park for their goodwill, but shall not be returning unless we hear reports of much better service training.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Dear Judy B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience for Sunday Lunch. It is disappointing to read that on this occasion we fell short of your expectations. The team and I here at Chilston thrive on delivering excellent service and food and it is of an upmost importance to us to do this.

I know Rachel our Duty Manager has spoken with you directly. Please accept my sincere apologies and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks
Paul Pierce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2023 via mobile

Chilston Park is such an incredible venue. Not only because of how it looks but also how attentive the staff are. We have been planning our wedding for years and the staff have been so helpful along the way. We took as many opportunities as we could to visit Chilston Park by attending the majority of the wedding open days which we were always welcomed to.
Jane was our wedding coordinator and she has been amazing. She was always quick to reply to emails or answer any questions, and there were a lot. Every little detail was gone other with a fine tooth comb to make sure that everything was as we wished. When it came to the wedding day, the staff surpassed our high expectations. There were so many small but thoughtful gestures which just made us feel so special. Lewis was our wedding day coordinator and he was incredible. He made sure that the day ran exactly as it should have and made sure we had everything we needed. The staff are a true testament to Chilston Park and we wouldn’t have gotten married anywhere else. We won’t be able to be strangers and will be returning as much as we possibly can.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jakejmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Dear Jakejmay,

Congratulations to you both and I am so happy that the team and I were able to deliver your perfect day. The pictures looked amazing.

The team and I work so hard on making sure the service is faultless and I am so happy that this has been recognised by you and your guests.

I am so happy to see that Jane and Lewis have been mentioned and I will make sure they receive such positive feedback along with the rest of the team.

Please do not be strangers, come back as many times as you wish. You are always very welcome and we look forward to seeing you again.

Many Thanks
Paul Pierce MIH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews