We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sue K
Gretna, United Kingdom

Historic, comfortable and elegant

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
Chilston Hotel is a small piece of paradise. Comfortable and ample rooms, deep baths and near power showers, with a touch of luxury in the toiletries. Bed comfortable, desk massive and plenty of mirrors and lights. All the staff from service to manager were extremely friendly, and knowledgeable about the history of the property. Set in a beautiful garden surround, really good place to relax. Food was exceptional yet again, and plentiful. Only niggle - no usb sockets to charge charger, but this is a minor point. Inspired to try other properties in this hotel group
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Check in and chill out
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Village church
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £81
  • Algotels
1.3 miles from Chilston Park Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 miles from Chilston Park Hotel
Front Patio
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
2.6 miles from Chilston Park Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£220
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £220
0.0 miles from Chilston Park Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Stable Courtyard Bedrooms with Castle in background
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £154
  • Hotels.com
4.0 miles from Chilston Park Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Other
£71
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
4.9 miles from Chilston Park Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.6 miles from Chilston Park Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.5 miles from Chilston Park Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
11.4 miles from Chilston Park Hotel
Free parking
Room service
View more hotels in Lenham
Reviews (1,339)
Filter reviews
1,339 results
Traveller rating
779
299
153
75
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
779
299
153
75
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea lovely grounds main building extensive grounds wedding breakfast four poster bed handpicked hotels country house hotel scones kent countryside wedding reception enjoyable stay overnight stay evening meal birthday treat short break poached eggs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,339 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds and is quintessentially English. I attend a short daytime event with two refreshment breaks. On the first occasion the coffee was not refreshed until a request was sent through and even then the rest of the jugs were not checked leaving the dairy free option unavailable. There was better service on the second break and the coffee was good both times.

I reported the ladies toilets as needing attention but an hour later they were even worse. (Photo follows). As a member of staff was actually using them the second time I found this way below the standards I’d been expect in even a lower star hotel.

On a positive a big thank you to Liam who retrieved my lost shopping from reception.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinsoncam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful experience from start to finish.

Very relaxing, lovely surroundings, just what you’d expect from a getaway hotel.

The food, my goodness, exceptional. Taste sensation, and I’ll be reminiscing about the mushroom starter and five way pork for months to come.

The service is great, and all the staff as you’d expect, friendly, attentive and will happily chat. Matt deserves a special shout out, he was tremendous and a credit to the hotel.

Breakfast is also top notch, cooked to perfection as expected after the amazing job they did with the dinner the night before.

The room was great, had a good nights sleep.. and again nothing to complain about, all the bits and bobs you’d expect.

I would definitely come back for a stay, and worth keeping an eye out for events held here, as it is a location used for many promotions and displays.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LivingTheDream2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at Chilston Park for an exclusive wedding. The place is amazing, everything from food, grounds, bedrooms and not forgetting their friendly and very professional staff. One special mention to Dan who welcomed and helped us the night we arrived. Thank you Dan for your service with a smile that made our stay extra special. We’ll definitely be back.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmafayeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2024

A fabulous relaxing hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, the food is excellent and the staff are friendly, helpful but also professional. They made us feel very welcome. The grounds are beautiful. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Debbie C,

Thank you for your recent review of Chilston Park following your recent visit and we are very happy that you would recommend us to others.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks
Paul Pierce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2024 via mobile

Just returned from a night away staying the Chilston Park Hotel, and what a place this is.

The grounds that welcome you show you the vast area that you can explore if that's your sort of thing. They are some of the best kept grounds I've seen with fields which also house sheep and horses, etc.

There is ample parking and a lovely view of the lake alongside the parking area.

The building is again one of the best maintained Manor houses I have visited, which keeps to traditional roots and decor.

We stayed in the Victoria room (which was a free upgrade), and what a beautiful room it was. (See attached pictures)

The biggest thing I was most impressed with was the staff.

The team we experienced was quite young. However, with their attitude and professionalism, they will all have a prosperous career within the hospitality industry.

Their attentiveness towards not just me and my wife but every other person with the encounters we witnessed, were friendly, professional, and courteous.

We will definitely visit again in the summer to experience the grounds a bit more in hopefully better weather.

The owners of this hotel should ensure they treat this team the best they can because you won't find many better people working in the hospitality industry

Thank you all so much for our experience

Room tip: The restaurant food is superb and unbelievable value for money
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank N1ckH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul Pierce, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear N1ckH,

Thank you for recently staying at Chilston Park and leaving a glowing review of your stay.

We focus on maintaining the building and grounds to the best we can and it is amazing when this is noticed. You have to come back in the summer and see some of the fantastic colours that come out. We are custodians of a fantastic building and we are here to maintain it to its highest standard.

We equally focus on our team and their development. Training is of the upmost importance to us and this is equally great to be noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks
Paul Pierce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews