We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, apart from the shower” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harrow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Harrow Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
London, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great, apart from the shower”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Five of us stayed at the Harrow Inn for one night whilst on a walk along the North Downs Way. The couple in the double room were lucky enough to be upgraded without charge to a room with a jacuzzi. The rest of us in the triple room were not as lucky. Room ok, slightly dated in parts, but perfectly comfortable. Bed nice. Sadly, the shower seriously let the room down. It had so little power.

Evening meal at the pub was nice. Breakfast again was good.

Overall a nice stay, at a reasonable price. The whole experience just let down by a terrible shower in the triple room (room 12).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    34
    13
    6
    17
See reviews for
25
36
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury on Thames, Middlesex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Off the beaten track - absolutely fine if you have a car. Family room was huge - 2 single beds and a double. Plenty of wardrobe space and drawers. Decor definately dated, bathroom suite could do with updating. Breakfasts cooked to order. Enough choice for evening meals. Staff pleasant and helpful. Value for money whilst visiting Leeds Castle and Canterbury. Would stay again if visiting again.

Room Tip: Family room 11 on first floor - Huge. Double room 10 on ground floor OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had booked just one night to stay after we first crossed the Channel but ended up staying four more nights using it as a base for Kent -- Canterbury, Leeds Castle etc -- and two trips to London taking the direct train from Lenham village rather than driving into the city with the hassle of parking and congestion. The Harrow is in a beautiful and peaceful location but you do need a car or at least to pay for a taxi (£5) to/from the station in Lenham. It's only 1 1/2 miles but you probably wouldn't want to walk down (or more significantly up!) the narrow country lane beautiful though it is unless you're something of a hiker and there is no public transport past the front door of the inn. On our second day the friendly barman offered us a lift in his own car for free.
After we'd rented a British hire car we got to know the area well. There's a lot there if you're into historic towns and sights and the prices were reasonable --at least compared to other tourist areas in Great Britain. One tip: the signpost for the Harrow on the main A20 from London is clear and you just turn left off the main road and follow round for a mile. Coming from the Dover/Canterbury/Folkestone direction you need to watch more closely (especially when it's getting dark) or follow your GPS.
We had a large room with a very large bedroom although if it weren't for the very large flatscreen TV it would be anybody's guess if the place was furnished traditionally last year, 20 or 100 years ago! I don't think they do fashionable or trendy at the Harrow and may not even know what the words mean but it was clean, comfortable, friendly with very decent straightforward food which suited us just fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 90292LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Pubic hairs in the bath, cracked sink, dirty bedlinen, diabolial breakfast (charged as extra) at less than half the price we could have ignored a lot but it's all priced for luxury. Have never reviewed before but wouldn't want anyone to have to put up with this. Utterly neglected, depressing and uninspiring place - no effort or imagination for years. When they last changed the chip fat (that breakfast was clearly cooked in) I dread to think.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lenham hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We had our wedding at the Harrow in December 2011 and I cannout say enough about Tony, Colin and Kate. They were made the whole experience so personal and were so conciencious fitting everything around our choices and budget. Tony was on hand the whole time to discuss ideas and organise everything and even helped setting everything up and taking it all down again the day after. Kate cooked the most delicious food, both for our sit down meal and the evening buffet, AMAZING! Colin made an excellent unofficial MC! On the day, everyone worked so hard and made our day so special, and we can't thank them enough for making it so personal and such a perfect day. We really appreciated the personal, family feel the staff give the place, and the building itself it so full of charm and character! Thank you Tony, Colin, Kate and the others that helped on the day for all the effort and hard work you put in, and how friendly and welcoming you all are. All the guests have commented on what a great day and evening they had, how lovely and friendly you all were and on the delicious food! (The boys enjoyed trying the garlic beer at the end of the night too!) Yes, the building is old, and slightly shabby, but it is charming and friendly and offers a personalised touch that we have all but lost in this day and age.

Room Tip: One has a four poster bed and one has a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KylaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed here with friends and had a really nice stay until the last evening ! food was good and service was good and hotel overall was very clean! However on the last evening the manager of the Hotel was chatting to me and friends and made some very derogatory comments about gay people and that he does not like them and does not agree with the way they live their life ! which was very dissapointing as there was a gay person in our group which he had not relaised and also a parent with a gay son in the group! Yes be entitled to your own opinion but as a business owner dealing with the public be craefyl of airing such hateful views in public! it shows ignornace and a uneducated view on modern day life ! Any gay people thinking of visiting this hotel !! Dont!!!! spen your money elsewhere !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrowInn, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
As the owner I must apologise and wish to apologise unreservedly for the totally unacceptable remarks you referred to and which inevitably detracted from your otherwise pleasant stay at the Harrow. For the sake of clarity the individual responsible was neither the owner nor the manager but in no circumstances should any member of our staff conduct themselves as you described and again I can only say sorry that a member of our staff expressed such opinions. I must also say that I am also very disappointed indeed to find out that they hold such opinions which both personally and as a matter of business policy we believe to be thoroughly objectionable. Generally our staff are exceptionally well regarded for the friendly hospitality which they offer and this derogation from the norms of acceptable conduct is a matter which will be taken very seriously as is the fact that this instance is contrary to the warm welcome which the Harrow is renowned for presenting.
ALL guests are very welcome at the Harrow full stop. We appreciate and enjoy the opportunity to extend hospitality to all travellers and understand that they are the lifeblood of a country inn and at the Harrow the traditional welcome is the continuation of centuries of hospitality. Please be in no doubt that there will be no repetition of this very disappointing and unprecedented lapse and we look forward to welcoming travellers of every background and persuasion in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed at the Harrow Inn last weekend and were very disappointed in our room (No 3). As we walked into the room there was an awful smell (which possibly came from the drains), and the whole room was in dire need of a good clean. There was a cobweb hanging from the ceiling in the bedroom, the drawers were dusty and even included somebody else's empty Smirnoff bottle. The plug in the wash basin didn't work, and the sink and bath were both very dirty and in need of bleaching. There was also no blind in the bathroom. The quilt and bed sheets were too small for the two single beds that were pushed together, so you couldn't tuck the sheet under the matress, and the quilt wasn't big enough to wrap over you. This could be a lovely room as it has an old fireplace in it, but it is sadly lacking cleanliness, appropriate bedding and decoration. There was hardly any choice at breakfast - the full English was swimming in oil, and the toast was cheap white bread which had just been shown the toaster. They say you get what you pay for, but at £70 per room per night, it wasn't exactly a cheap deal!! We would never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Take a tent...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jw547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
0.0 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
0.0 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrow Inn

Property: The Harrow Inn
Address: Hubbards Hill Warren Street | Maidstone, Lenham ME17 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harrow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Harrow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrow Hotel Maidstone
The Harrow Inn Lenham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing