We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother !”
Review of The Harrow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Harrow Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This place is not in good condition. The room I had was a family room which needed a good clean. This hotel is dog friendly, I'm all for treating our canine friends to a family holiday but it is very unpleasant for the next guests if the carpet still has remnants of white dog hair.....disgusting. The pink bathroom needs updating and was a bit mancky.
I had an evening meal which was microwaved within an inch of it's life and woke at 5am the next morning with chronic stomach ache which culminated in diarrhoea. I know it was the food I had eaten there because I hadn't eaten anything else that day.
Breakfast was limited and a waste of time. It was lined up on the bar and consisted of 4 cereals, fruit juice and and not much else, not even a piece of fruit or some yogurt. We were asked if we wanted a full English, I didn't and opted for bacon and tomatoes. I was served a single small piece of bacon and half a tomato. The male member of staff who was working in the morning had some very odd views on a news feature which was being showed in the TV. I would of rather he kept them to himself as I found them extremely offensive, and actually left the remainder of my breakfast and checked out early.
I know this is a small hotel but it wasn't free to stay here and I should have known that a place which grades itself as 3* with no official grading was going to be of a low standard.
Don't waste your money here, there are better places to stay locally.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank PeacefulWarrior67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Arrived at 10:00pm (the only good point the latest booking in time was 11:00pm). I decided to have a treat and booked the room with a jacuzzi BUT when the jacuzzi started spiders and small particles of dirt came out of the jet holes. This was reported at breakfast but heard nothing more but wasn't a surprise as at breakfast our order was wrong. The room was clean otherwise but the furniture was mixed matched. Once we booked in we went to our room via a half blocked corridor with a roll of new carpet on climbing a set of stairs which was badly worn at the front of the step which is hazardous. Walking further we passed a fridge/freezer in another corridor. Then we found a fire exit being held open by a fire extinguisher. On the morning the owner was sweeping the car park where more areas of the hotel needed to be cleaned (patio, jacuzzi, reception area). SO THIS WAS A BAD EXPERIENCE FOR A HIGH COST OF £90 A NIGHT. THIS HOTEL IS NOT TO BE RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bob3147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Five of us stayed at the Harrow Inn for one night whilst on a walk along the North Downs Way. The couple in the double room were lucky enough to be upgraded without charge to a room with a jacuzzi. The rest of us in the triple room were not as lucky. Room ok, slightly dated in parts, but perfectly comfortable. Bed nice. Sadly, the shower seriously let the room down. It had so little power.

Evening meal at the pub was nice. Breakfast again was good.

Overall a nice stay, at a reasonable price. The whole experience just let down by a terrible shower in the triple room (room 12).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank infolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Off the beaten track - absolutely fine if you have a car. Family room was huge - 2 single beds and a double. Plenty of wardrobe space and drawers. Decor definately dated, bathroom suite could do with updating. Breakfasts cooked to order. Enough choice for evening meals. Staff pleasant and helpful. Value for money whilst visiting Leeds Castle and Canterbury. Would stay again if visiting again.

Room Tip: Family room 11 on first floor - Huge. Double room 10 on ground floor OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had booked just one night to stay after we first crossed the Channel but ended up staying four more nights using it as a base for Kent -- Canterbury, Leeds Castle etc -- and two trips to London taking the direct train from Lenham village rather than driving into the city with the hassle of parking and congestion. The Harrow is in a beautiful and peaceful location but you do need a car or at least to pay for a taxi (£5) to/from the station in Lenham. It's only 1 1/2 miles but you probably wouldn't want to walk down (or more significantly up!) the narrow country lane beautiful though it is unless you're something of a hiker and there is no public transport past the front door of the inn. On our second day the friendly barman offered us a lift in his own car for free.
After we'd rented a British hire car we got to know the area well. There's a lot there if you're into historic towns and sights and the prices were reasonable --at least compared to other tourist areas in Great Britain. One tip: the signpost for the Harrow on the main A20 from London is clear and you just turn left off the main road and follow round for a mile. Coming from the Dover/Canterbury/Folkestone direction you need to watch more closely (especially when it's getting dark) or follow your GPS.
We had a large room with a very large bedroom although if it weren't for the very large flatscreen TV it would be anybody's guess if the place was furnished traditionally last year, 20 or 100 years ago! I don't think they do fashionable or trendy at the Harrow and may not even know what the words mean but it was clean, comfortable, friendly with very decent straightforward food which suited us just fine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 90292LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Pubic hairs in the bath, cracked sink, dirty bedlinen, diabolial breakfast (charged as extra) at less than half the price we could have ignored a lot but it's all priced for luxury. Have never reviewed before but wouldn't want anyone to have to put up with this. Utterly neglected, depressing and uninspiring place - no effort or imagination for years. When they last changed the chip fat (that breakfast was clearly cooked in) I dread to think.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We had our wedding at the Harrow in December 2011 and I cannout say enough about Tony, Colin and Kate. They were made the whole experience so personal and were so conciencious fitting everything around our choices and budget. Tony was on hand the whole time to discuss ideas and organise everything and even helped setting everything up and taking it all down again the day after. Kate cooked the most delicious food, both for our sit down meal and the evening buffet, AMAZING! Colin made an excellent unofficial MC! On the day, everyone worked so hard and made our day so special, and we can't thank them enough for making it so personal and such a perfect day. We really appreciated the personal, family feel the staff give the place, and the building itself it so full of charm and character! Thank you Tony, Colin, Kate and the others that helped on the day for all the effort and hard work you put in, and how friendly and welcoming you all are. All the guests have commented on what a great day and evening they had, how lovely and friendly you all were and on the delicious food! (The boys enjoyed trying the garlic beer at the end of the night too!) Yes, the building is old, and slightly shabby, but it is charming and friendly and offers a personalised touch that we have all but lost in this day and age.

Room Tip: One has a four poster bed and one has a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KylaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
1.8 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
327 reviews
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 17 in Maidstone
189 reviews
11.1 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#15 of 17 in Maidstone
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
8.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
587 reviews
12.3 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrow Inn

Address: Hubbards Hill Warren Street | Maidstone, Lenham, Maidstone ME17 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Lenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range: £57 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harrow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Harrow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrow Hotel Maidstone
The Harrow Inn Lenham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing