We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a management shambles”
Review of The Harrow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Harrow Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Reviewed 15 March 2006

We stayed here only because the Lime Tree nearby was full. The place looked very inviting when we arrived and the bar area is cosy, as you would expect. The female manager however, was a nightmare, definitely in the wrong job!
We arrived at reception and could here someone in the back, we waited, we waited and then looked into the office. My husband spoke into the room to ask if this is where we checked in. After a large sigh she appeared and gave us our key - we had to ask where our room was. Anyway could go on for a while about that! Later we found that our key was just slung behind the reception desk with the others with no one in sight, dont leave anything expensive in your room as the main doors to reception are left open.
I agree with the last review about the smoking and reception smelt strongly of smoke.
The pub itself is not geared up for the late arrival or weekend guests who want a night in the bar with a large plate of warming winter fayre. You have to go into the dining area.
No snacks from the bar at all over a weekend? Whats that all about! The young staff in the bar were great and got us a bowl of soup and a bun each.
The breakfasts are great and the 'new lad' was very helpful, perhaps he is the new manager - one can live in hope.

All in all this place was clean, although the bathroom in our room wasnt exactly sparkling. It just needs some tender loving care and this could be a crakcer of a cosy inn - with weekend bar food!

However, Laterooms got us a cracking deal - the breakfast was worth it as was the location for us as we were visiting friends in Maidstone.

NB/ you have to actually go from the accomodation to the bar via the outside of the building.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ANDREA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2005

The Harrow Hill Hotel is a shabby and poorly run hotel. Months ahead we reserved the family room advertised and pictured as 3 single beds with headboards. When we arrive at the hotel at 4:30 the room we reserved had been given to someone else. We were given a room with 2 singles and a roll away,which was not suitable for an adult. Although we were very tired we decided to take an early dinner so the roll away could be made up as the General Manager said would be done . When we arrived back after 3 hours it was still not made. I informed the General Manager how unacceptable the room with the roll away was for the 3 adults and asked if I needed to make the bed. There was no apology or offer to compensate us for not having the room we reserved . Finally the bed was made and the GM was most unpleasant and tried to avoid us during the remainder of our 2 day stay.
The room had cob webs and the beds were most uncomfortable.
There was a young gentleman that was very nice an helpful. Breakfast was fine and dinner was also good.
The registration desk is not manned. Even though we called posted numbers on the registration desk phone we had to spend 15 min. when we arrived trying to find someone to check us in . The problem here is the mamangement who stays in the bar smoking most of the time.

24  Thank TEF2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank YDx81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank _lehrbehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steno61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
11.1 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#15 of 17 in Maidstone
386 reviews
12.3 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,993 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
8.8 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#10 of 17 in Maidstone
230 reviews
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 17 in Maidstone
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrow Inn

Address: Hubbards Hill Warren Street | Maidstone, Lenham, Maidstone ME17 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Lenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range: £57 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harrow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Harrow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrow Hotel Maidstone
The Harrow Inn Lenham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing