We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made Us Sick”
Review of The Harrow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Harrow Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Hotel was pretty expensive but looked OK, we where booking late so we went for this place. Seemed OK on first arrival, the place was deserted but the chap on reception seemed friendly enough but just couldnt speak a lot of English.
We had a drink in the deserted bar and just got stared at by the foreign chaps daughter (assumed so as she couldnt speak very good English either!).
Got to the rooms and they where freezing cold and smelt musty, asked several times if they could put the heating on but this never happened and I assumed the heating was broken.
The bathrooms where pretty dated and damp. Beds where freezing cold and obviously damp.
Only 4 channels on the dated and old fashioned televisions but most of the time only Channel 4 barely worked! Wi-Fi is offered but doesent work at all..
The Harrow Inn is in the middle of NOWHERE so you have to drive miles through single track roads to get anywhere with a sign of life.
We didnt see any other guests or anyone using the facilities all week long. I assume this is why all the beds where damp as they never get used.
4 of us stayed here for 5 nights, 3 rooms, 2 singles and 1 double room bed only (breakfast is £8) and got charged £750
Now we all have identical sore throats and chesty coughs........this place has some serious mould problems and is well over priced for what is provided.....avoid it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pompeycookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrowInn, Owner at The Harrow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

We are inevitably disappointed on the very rare occasions that any guest expresses dissatisfaction regarding their stay at the Harrow whatever the rationale. With regard to the problem with the WiFi we are sorry that a technical problem affected the service in one area of the building. We appreciate how important a good quality Internet connection is to many of our guests which is why a top quality signal throughout the building is provided 24/7 – and unusually for this area is offered for free to all guests included in the cost. Unfortunately at this particular time there was a problem and it took 48 hours to identify it and replace the faulty router. The other observations are more difficult to recognise and could have been addressed if raised at the time. After this review appeared the staff double checked and could find no mould in any of the rooms used by this group nor has any been reported or drawn to our attention by more recent guests. Some of the other observations appear to reflect unrealistic expectations regarding the nature and location of the premises. The Harrow is always clearly and accurately described as a historic country inn located in beautiful countryside officially designated as an “Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty” by the relevant government department. Appropriately the décor is traditional rather than trendy and those seeking crowds and a vigorous nightlife will not find that our country inn meets their preferences. Not being a large modern corporate hotel we have busy and quiet periods but we would suggest that guests wishing to meet fellow guests don’t leave before breakfast and return after dinner every day during their stay. With regard to navigation those who tend to have difficulties in this regard are welcome to make contact so we can assist with directions if necessary but in fact it is very easy to find the Harrow – approaching along the main A20 from London it is signposted on a turnoff to the left and after precisely 1.25 miles the Harrow is on the right. That said many guests do enjoy exploring the ancient country lanes in the area as well as other distinctive features. “Middle of nowhere” may be in the eye of the beholder but the relevant facts are that the immediate locale is the hamlet of Warren St which is 1½ miles from the mediaeval market town of Lenham and approximately 8 miles from Maidstone (population 140,000) and Ashford (population 115,000) which is also a stop on the Eurostar route from Paris to London. We are also close to some internationally renowned places of interest such as Leeds Castle. Obviously guests pay the price at which they freely choose to book --presumably after comparing competing alternatives on the Internet. Necessarily we are aware of the need to be competitive and can only suggest that if people are not happy with the price being offered they continue searching for one which does meet their requirements. Looking at the figures quoted in the review four men paid £37.50 per person per night including 17½ percent VAT, free parking and free WiFi to occupy one double and two single rooms which we believe compares very well with alternatives but we never forget that ultimately the choice is with the guest at the time of booking. No one on our staff claims any medical expertise (and we were aware of none amongst this group) so wouldn’t assume to diagnose the source of their cold. For people who spend nearly all their waking hours together --both working and socially—it doesn’t seem very surprising that a cold caught by one might be passed on to the others in the group. None of the staff or the other guests who spent more time at the Harrow experienced any ailments that week. Our televisions receive all the standard British terrestrial channels. Sometimes people accidentally change the settings on the remotes. We do try to check but if anyone ever finds that they are missing channels please don’t hesitate to ask our staff for assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

Lovely B&B with own parking, a restaurant, bar, great breakfast, wonderful staff, comfortable rooms. Great value, not overpriced. Free usage of internet if you have your laptop with you. Just ask the landlord. Ideally located in a quiet, rural area, but close enough to the main road to and from Dover, for the often much-needed break to the UK from the continent, or vice versa. Also lovely to retreat for a short vacation. Only 25 min drive away from the lively center of Maidstone, and even closer to Ashford, in case you need to be around people.
We were the only guests on the particular night that we stayed, so I can't say anything about noisy rooms or anything like that.
Can recommed to everyone and will surely stay here again when we go to visit our family in the South West of England.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

What can i say,
The service was out of this world, the room was huge as we had a double 4 poster bed, loved the little exras that were in the room, ie: soap, shampoo, shower and bath gel, tea,coffee,sugar ext even the little biscutes.
Colin was brilliant, couldn't do enough,
Our meal was again out of this world, well done shef.
The Harrow is set back off the main road in a quite location which made it peaceful.
It was very clean and didn't smell at all.
I'm very funny when it comes to staying in a place that i havn't cleaned, but i couldn't find any thing wrong at all.
The bed was made up with brilliant white towels layed out.
We will be back soon, as this was just what we needed as we lead a very busy life.
Thanks to you all at the Harrow.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golder11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I took my wife away for a a surprise romantic weekend away and made the perfect choice in choosing the Harrow Inn. The service from all staff was helpfull, chearfull and nothing was to much trouble. Everything was spotlessly clean, the room we had was the four poster room this was huge with plenty of supplies (towels , soaps etc.). We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaraunt - WOW is about all I can say, probably the best steak I have ever eaten and the home-made apple crumble was to die for.
Thank you very much for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canveycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Stayed two nights at the Harrow - its under new management and the food was great. Excellent personal service from Colin the waiter and barman. Dave the manager can't do enough for you. Real ale in the bar too! The rooms were a real surprise our party had 7 rooms booked and they were all clean and tidy and had lots of complementary products and loads of towels. Best of all though was the size of the rooms though. I had a massive room with a real good size bathroom. It was really nicely done and had a lovely four poster bed. Really I can't praise this place enough it really is good! My wife loved it and you don't het any fussier than her!!! It is in a really peaceful location too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majorchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

The Harrow has undergone many changes in management over the last 10 years, but I think they've finally got it right. We had a great family meal here in February. Classic pub food, reasonably priced and the landlord couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minniemouseNijmegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We booked this hotel through Booking.com and had no idea of the area or hotel. When we arrived we was welcomed by the owner Givanni and his Wife and Colin. We ate in the Resturant and had the special it was the BEST Steak I have ever tasted, and the sauce was beautiful. My husband and I had one of the Best nights we have had in a very long time. The secret was when the Chef's had finished in the Kitchen, they both came out and sang Marco and Givanni what a voice especially Givanni, Marco had a great voice too. We was entertained for the rest of the evening and it was fantastic. I have travelled a lot in the past but felt I had to write a revue as I wanted to share this with anyone that is thinking about booking either a room in the hotel or just popping in for a drink but you must try the Resturant its worth making the effort and travelling too. Keep the great work up at the HARROW HILL HOTEL.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
11.1 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#15 of 17 in Maidstone
384 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dog & Bear Hotel
Dog & Bear Hotel
#2 of 3 in Lenham
331 reviews
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 17 in Maidstone
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
592 reviews
8.8 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#10 of 17 in Maidstone
230 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrow Inn

Address: Hubbards Hill Warren Street | Maidstone, Lenham, Maidstone ME17 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Lenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range: £56 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harrow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Harrow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harrow Hotel Maidstone
The Harrow Inn Lenham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing